NHL Awards

I watched the NHL awards in their entirety last year and I vowed (VOWED) I would never ever do so again. I still occasionally lay awake at night, overcome with regret over those the two hours that I will never get back. I don’t really care for award shows to begin with, but award shows with athletes reciting the stilted script? Sweet baby Jesus, no. No, no, no, no.

So, it is with terrible regret that I realized that I kind of have to watch tonight. It’s a long shot, but it’s within the realm of possibility that Jason Pominville will win the Cuddliest Man in the NHL Award Lady Byng Trophy. He’ll definitely be there in a tuxedo, and he’ll almost certainly have a pretty lady on his arm. What kind of frivolous Sabres blogger would I be if I skipped this one?

Liveblog

-There are a bunch of random children gathered around the edge of the stage. Creepy.

-Ovie wins something. He’s nervous, but he gets less freaked out when he stops trying to read from his script, and just decides to speak from his gigantic, hockey loving heart.

-HOLY SHIT. Hasek’s speaking voice sounds EXACTLY like his karaoke voice!

-Please God, let the next award be Pommerdoodle’s award so I can go back to starring off into space.

-Yay! A glimpse of Pommerdoodle in the background when Vincent Lecavalier gets an award for being a do-gooder in his community. Vinny is pretty effing hot, you guys. Pommerdoodle seems unimpressed however.

-Jason Blake wins an award for being a nice guy overcoming cancer.

-Oh, for Pete’s sake, NHL Awards. Quit with the damn kids.

-Oh dear. I’m not sure Red Kelly should have been given an open mic. Hey wait! He’s trying to give away Pommerdoodle’s award!

-AWWWWW! Pommerdoodle looks so cute! He is DEFINITELY the cuddliest man in the NHL.

-PAVEL DATSYUK WIN POMMERDOODLE’S CUDDLY AWARD. PROCEEDS TO GIVE CUDDLY SPEECH.

-Okay, I’m out of here. The NHL Awards are over! (Note: They are not technically over.) WOOOOOO!!!

11 Responses to “NHL Awards”


  1. 1 Chaz June 12, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Well that sucked. At least Pommers looked decent. Time to find something else to watch.

  2. 2 Steph June 12, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I can’t believe how I could UNDERSTAND everything Hasek said! That’s never happened before!

  3. 3 Katebits June 12, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Steph, our local sports radio station has this HILARIOUS series of “Haseoke” clips. Someone impersonating Hasek singing karaoke horribly out of tune. Until tonight I had never heard his actual voice, but i still thought the karaoke was really funny. I felt like I was watching a Saturday Night Live sketch when he started talking.

    Chaz, I agree. That blew. But at least they got the Lady Byng out of the way early and we can all move on with our lives now.

  4. 4 Steph June 12, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I’ve heard the Afternoon Delight Haseoke, though that’s the only one (there’s a whole SERIES!?) – but he really DOES sound exactly like that! I frequently like to tell people it’s really him, and they always believe me.

  5. 5 Katebits June 12, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Steph, you can hear a bunch here.

  6. 6 Shari June 12, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    When they showed the veteren clip, not one clip of our beloved Teppo!
    What the hell? I realize he’s not as good as some but come on!
    Like my sons yearbook, that award show was just a big ol popularity contest! A good laugh every year/

  7. 7 Amy June 12, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    WGR says that Pommers finished 731 votes behind Datsyuk and 8 behind St. Louis. It was an honor for Pommers just to be nominated.

  8. 8 Schnookie June 12, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Katebits, this is perhaps the finest liveblog in the history of blogging! Well done!

    And poor Pommers! He was ROBBED!!!

  9. 9 Shari June 13, 2008 at 12:23 am

    We’ll make our own award for Jason. :p

  10. 10 Jennifer June 13, 2008 at 8:04 am

    That was the most horrible awards ceremony I have EVER tried to watch, but I managed to stay tuned until “candy corn head” took Pomers award and then I had the relief of being able to watch something that didn’t try to put me in a coma.

    Those kids were creepy. I’m glad they didn’t save the Lady Byng and no, they should not have given Red Kelly an open mic. That was almost painful!

  11. 11 Jaime June 13, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Listening to Haseoke is hilarious! When he was still here with the Sabres, he did a weekly radio talk show that I would listen to religiously. My favorite question he got was, “What is your favorite fast food restaurant?” The answer, Mighty Taco. He sounded hilariously funny saying Mighty Taco that it’s still one of my favorite non-hockey Hasek moments.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


