Thoughts On Free Agency, The Morning After

– Maybe I’m reading too many frustrated Sens blogs, but I thought that the word on Wade Redden was that he’s enormously talented, but kind of a fuck-up. I knew he’d be signed, I just thought it would be to a more demure contract. The Rangers really just went for it, didn’t they? Ain’t nothing “demure” going on on Broadway.

– I’m disappointed that Soupy went to the Blackhawks. The contract is goofy long and for goofy money, but he’ll fit in well there, and the Blackhawks are now poised to legitimately stop sucking…..which is fine, because I like the Blackhawks. The Blackhawks were one of those teams I watched a lot of last season after the Sabres game was over and I was flipping around on Center Ice. I think they’re sassy and fun. This feels like when you happily break up with a guy, but then find yourself unexpectedly jealous when he starts seeing someone else. I mean, no, I don’t want Soupy (not at that price), but I guess I don’t want anyone else to have him either. Why oh WHY didn’t he sign that contract in Minsk?!

– You know who I do kind of want? Jason Smith. I like the cut of that guy’s gib.

– Speaking of Jason Smith…it’s probably a good thing I’m not in charge of the Sabres, because if I were, we’d probably have an entire team of rugged “character” guys.

– Speaking of how I refuse to see reason when talking about how to build a successful team…free agency day is a stark reminder that, at least for now, I just like rooting for the Sabres. I would rather err on the side of “YAY! Patrick Lalime is hot and he’s NOT T-Bone! WOOOOO!!,” then “We should have nabbed Auld.” That’s just how I roll. Maybe in a few more years I’ll be more prone to lapses of crankiness. Perhaps I haven’t suffered enough yet.

– Hossa signed with Detroit for….one year? That’s totally weird.

– Dallas fans, please accept my most sincere condolences.  At times like this there is really not much to say except that I am just so so so so sorry about Sean Avery.  Maybe it’s true what they say, and you WON’T hate him when he’s on your team.  Maybe?

– Crunchy still hasn’t signed. I’ve decided that I’m going to press the “panic” button on Monday. You’ve been warned. The countdown begins……

8 Responses to “Thoughts On Free Agency, The Morning After”


  1. 1 Schnookie July 2, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I agree with you about being happy for your team, rather than miffed about the guys they didn’t sign. I’ve been through tons of UFA Days now, and I can’t remember one where I’ve seriously sat there afterwards thinking, “Dammit! We should have gotten that guy!” I mean, yeah, there are guys whose jibs you like the cut of, but I’m always kind of like, “Well, he’s not on my team now, so… no biggie!” You and I can be all “Tra la la, I love the guys on my team!” together, Katebits! :D

    Oh, and I feel like I should praise the Sabres on upping their hottitude with Lalime. FOXY!

  2. 2 Jennifer July 2, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Dallas fans, please accept my most sincere condolences. At times like this there is really not much to say except that I am just so so so so sorry about Sean Avery.

    Dallas fans also have my condolences, especially Patty. I don’t think Sean Avery’s own mother could NOT hate him.

    I’m glad they signed Lalime, he’s kinda hot. And Darcy didn’t waste a ton of money on a big name back-up. If he’s good enough to give Crunchy a breather now and then and not totally screw up, then I’m happy with him.

  3. 3 bbC July 2, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Hossa signed a one year deal because the Wings will need to lock up Zetterberg next season.

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 2, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    …it’s probably a good thing I’m not in charge of the Sabres, because if I were, we’d probably have an entire team of rugged “character” guys…

    And then, you would have the Minnesota Twins. And everyone knows they can’t play hockey worth a damn…

    (Also, this may be the first time that “New York Rangers” and “demure” have made an appearance together, ever. It’s almost as rare as “New York Rangers” and “Stanley Cup”…)

  5. 5 hannahnotmontana July 2, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    As much as I hate to say it, solely because he’s a Flyer, I also would love to see Jason Smith as a Sabre. Have you seen him with a playoff beard? Classy. And the word classy is never used in the same sentence as ‘Flyer’ or ‘Philly’.

  6. 6 Patty (in Dallas) July 2, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Dallas fans also have my condolences, especially Patty.

    Awww. Thanks. I guess it’s time I start learning to live with it.

    I agree with you about being happy for your team, rather than miffed about the guys they didn’t sign.

    Me, too. I’m the same way on Trade Deadline day. I almost always want everything to stay the same.

  7. 7 Shari July 2, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    I think we’ll be ok with Crunchy. I hope. Please Hockey Gods. Please.

  8. 8 blitzen July 3, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    The Redden signing – term and cost – floored just about every Sens fan I know, including his fans.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


