I’m Not Panicked?

I’m getting a little nervous about Ryan Miller, but just a little.  Frankly, I’m shocked at how unconcerned I feel.  I believe I have previously stated that I was going to press the “panic” button on Monday. Today is Wednesday.  I’ve wasted two perfectly good days of panicking.   Am I losing my edge?

I sincerely apologize to those of you who come here for all your “spazzy fan” needs.  I don’t know what’s come over me.  I mean, at this time last year I was still crying three times a day over Chris Drury, and now I can’t even work up a panic over Crunchy?  I’m waaay off my game.

Hee.

17 Responses to “I’m Not Panicked?”


  1. 1 Schnookie July 10, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Dude, Katebits, it’s almost like you don’t even care anymore. What’s happened to you? Crunchy’s not going to sign until you’re just barely clinging to the last shreds of your sanity, and frankly, that doesn’t look to be happening any time soon. For everyone else’s sakes, couldn’t you start panicking just a little?

  2. 2 Amanda July 10, 2008 at 12:07 am

    You’re not off your game, you’re realizing that the team will be fine. The Sabres WILL sign Crunchy, most likely to a deal 4-6 years long (based on recent contracts), and the Granola King will stay in Buffalo for years to come. You’ve stepped back from the ledge, and that’s good for everyone! The less fans who think the Sabres are diving into a pool of mediocrity-filled sludge the better.

  3. 3 Jaime July 10, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I personally think that more people need to “think the Sabres are diving into a pool of mediocrity-filled sludge so that I can get a mini pack back this year. Who knew that giving it up 3 years ago (because I was waaaay too preganant to fit in those seats)would mean never being able to get it back!

  4. 4 Jennifer July 10, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Katebits, while I truly enjoy the crazy posts filled with insanity and panick, I’m so proud that you have joined the group of a precious few who have decided to let the future of the Sabres rest in Darcy’s able hands. He is talking to Crunchy and I get the feeling that Crunchy WANTS to stay in Buffalo and it IS going to happen. Where else would he get his own flavor of ice cream???

  5. 5 Pookie July 10, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Oh, I’m sorry. I was looking for The Willful Caboose. I seemed to have wandered into the wrong room. Sorry, I’ll leave now.

    [To self]: What was that place?! It was so eerily calm. *shudder*

  6. 6 Anne July 10, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I think we’re just so used to people running screaming around during the offseason like the Arena is on fire, that we assume that if TSN isn’t declaring our ulimate downfall, things are going ok. Which, I suppose is true.

    He basically declared he’d tease us all this summer to keep us waiting. I’d push the panic button after his birthday which is like July 17th or something like that.

  7. 7 Amy July 10, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I sincerely apologize to those of you who come here for all your “spazzy fan” needs. I don’t know what’s come over me.

    Has TWC been taken over by your evil, yet calm, twin?

    He basically declared he’d tease us all this summer to keep us waiting.

    Such a tease, that Crunchy.

  8. 8 Shari July 10, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Ditto Amanda. We know he’s comming back to us. But still when we hear the news, we’ll all do a little silent sigh of releif, look at each other and say, “Yeah, We knew he was staying!”

  9. 9 Katebits July 10, 2008 at 10:01 am

    He basically declared he’d tease us all this summer to keep us waiting.

    THAT is a very good point. He really did warn us that he was going spend July celebrating his birthday.

    Thank you to all the fine ladies in support of my new found calm. I agree, it’s a lot better this way. But….it’s kind of harder to blog like this. When it comes to blogging, I’m a drama queen.

    Pookie, Schnookie, and Amy, :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::: Amy, I particularly love the idea that my evil twin is very calm. Hee.

  10. 10 Schnookie July 10, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Has TWC been taken over by your evil, yet calm, twin?

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! Nice! Evil Katebits totally has an Evil Spock goatee, but she’s also quite placid. Heh.

  11. 11 bbC July 10, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I have a feeling that Miller and his agent both want him to remain in Buffalo, so I don’t see why a deal shouldn’t be made. Ryan’s always been very honest (and blunt) to the fans when it comes to his interviews, and even though he will sometimes dance around this question when asked, I think he does want to be here and isn’t looking to run off via free agency. Although it seems wherever I read people have this feeling as if he wants too much money (Jerry Sullivan even suggested that he wants his contract to resemble Vanek’s….yeah ok) and/or he just doesn’t like it here and wants to go. It’s good to come on here and read that you’re not worried. :) My main instinct is that I’m not worried either, but when I read all the doom and gloom regarding this situation…it starts to corrupt me and it makes me worried as well. D:

  12. 12 Katebits July 10, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I have that same problem, bbC. My instinct is to feel confident he’ll sign, but then I read or listen to all the available “HE’S GOING TO LEAVE US AT THE FIRST OPPORTUNITY ADD HIM TO THE LIST OF SABRES THAT GOT AWAY WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE HE WANTS TOO MUCH MONEY ANYWAY THE SKY IS FAAAAAAAALLING” and I get kind of spooked.

  13. 13 Shari July 10, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Jerry Sullivan?? JERRY SULLIVAN?? There’s a guy who pushes my buttons!
    He’s just as bad if not worse than Bucky. Although these “writers” probably do know all the dirt that goes on in the locker room, Jerry very rarley has anything nice to say about our boys. Does he even like hockey?? Sorry bbc, not directing this at you, but Jerry just…grrrrrr…really annoys me!

  14. 14 Amy July 10, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Jerry Sullivan even suggested that he wants his contract to resemble Vanek’s….yeah ok

    The thing with Sully’s comments was that Sully was framing them as if he were Miller’s agent. Not that Miller himself/his agent was demanding Vanek money. Small semantic distinction, but one that lead to a heck of a lot of people freaking out for no good reason.

  15. 15 bbC July 11, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Oh believe me, I feel the same way about Jerry Sullivan. I think he’s a moron. Whenever he’s on WGR 550, he makes the guys on the show seem smart…which is a hard thing to do. They’re all idiots. Bucky is there just to stir the pot, and Sully’s comment about how Miller will want Vanek money just doesn’t even make sense. First off, goalie and forward are two completely different positions and therefore you cannot use a forward’s contract to resemble a goalie’s. The problem is that while sports reporters do have the “inside scoop”, they DO NOT know what’s going on behind closed doors and when negotiations are being made, yet they act like they do. They are just as clueless to the situation as the rest of us…but I don’t think they realize that.

  16. 16 JB July 11, 2008 at 9:45 am

    I think in more recent times that Marc-Andre Fleury set a precedent with his contract (7 year $35 million…)…. I am willing to bet that this is what Miller and is agent will be striving for. I am willing to lay it on the line and say he will get at least that if not more.


  1. 1 Friday Links « First Time Caller, Long Time Listener Trackback on July 11, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


