ihavenophone

I’ve been eying those sexy iphone contraptions for what feels like YEARS now.  I have already shown uncharacteristic restraint by not buying one the second they were invented, so after all this time, I feel fully entitled to one today.  A girl can only wait so long before decisive action must be taken.  The time for decisive action is now.

Just a bit of background about me and cell phones: About three years ago I went through a little phase where every other day I was losing, or destroying, or drowning a cell phone in Diet Coke.  It was a sad and expensive period of my life.  Finally, after three phones and hundreds of dollars, I walked into the Sprint store and said, “Bring me your absolute cheapest phone.”  Well, as things things tend to go, the cheapest most totalitarian phone in the world has survived being in my care for three full years.  This phone can’t even take pictures for goodness sakes.  It’s practically a ROTARY cell phone.  For three years now I’ve been using a caveman phone, and I’ve finally had enough.  I want the foxy iphone, and I want it now.

As luck would have it, today is the day that Apple is releasing the next generation of iphones.  “Hooray!” I foolishly thought to myself this morning. “I’ll just zip over to the Walden Galleria and scoop up an iphone and spend the weekend checking my email from exotic locations and sending saucy, borderline inappropriate text messages to everyone I know.  What a wonderful age to be alive,” I thought,  “It’s like magic!”

So, I went skipping off to the mall (and I HATE the mall, so any type of skipping towards it is an indication of a particularly zesty mood).

Duuuude.  There were, like, half a MILLION people waiting in line.  I know I probably should have seen this coming, but back in the dawn of time, I bought a first generation video ipod on the day they were released, and I waltzed right in and got my pod.  No waiting.  No lines. Just pleasantness.

The long and the short of it is that I have no iphone.  No iphone at all.

Hrmph.

12 Responses to “ihavenophone”


  1. 1 Kathee July 11, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Kate, didn’t you hear, those iPhones are just trouble!

    Then again, you could be like me and just have a tracfone that doesn’t work in certain towns. My kids are actually EMBARASSED to be near me while I am using that phone. :)

  2. 2 Julia July 11, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Don’t feel too badly. I’ve hard that people who bought the new iPhones have had trouble activating them. Major FAIL.

  3. 3 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 11, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    They’re right. HUGE activation fail. You win. Wait a few months, and you’ll be able to buy one that works without waiting in line, and probably for at least $100 less.

    (But yes, your current phone does suck hard. Perhaps a stopgap is in order?)

  4. 4 Jennifer July 11, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Kate, I am shocked that they didn’t recognize you as the celebrity that you are and rush you to the front of the line. You must have gone in disguise. My phone doesn’t do pictures either. I got a new one and the reception SUCKED. It didn’t pick up ANYWHERE! So, I’m back to using my cave-phone. At least it works.

    Kathee, don’t feel bad, I have “that” phone too. Although it works decent in the towns that I am in the most.

  5. 5 Katebits July 11, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Jennifer, it’s true. I did go in disguise. I don’t like to use my celebrity unfairly. :P

    I don’t CARE if they don’t work! I want an iphone and I want one NOW! *stomping feet like a petulant child*

  6. 6 TheTick July 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I have a basic LG phone (free with activation!) with a massive crack in the outer screen…my wife has the same model, with an inner screen so messed up you can only see it at certain angles. I’m no Apple fan, but I would love a phone that can do texting and the web easier, like with a real keyboard.

  7. 7 Pookie July 11, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I’m so sorry, Katebits! Your iPhone is out there, waiting for you! I ordered mine online and it came like two seconds after I hit submit. And it was super-easy to set up online (it’s not a fancy new one). Have you considered skipping the mall portion of buying a phone?

  8. 8 Katebits July 11, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    All the new models need to be activated in store, Pookie. That’s why everything was so effed up today. Something went wrong with the activation process and everyone was sitting around in the apple store all day. I would HAPPILY order one online, but it can’t be done. BOO!

    Tick, I feel your pain. I think my current phone is going to die the second I buy the new one. I noticed this evening that the two sides are separating. It doesn’t have much life left in it! I NEED a new phone! :D

  9. 9 Shari July 11, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I remember when we didn’t have cell phones, just a dime. But most times, I was pretty wild and didn’t even have that dime! Funny thing is, I take my cell everywhere and the only people who call me are my husband and kids because the only life I have anymore is driving to NU or Hockey Outlet so I have no time for anyone outside of those people I live with! (Deep breath) Those Iphones are pretty sexy and I’ve always wanted one but I have a feeling sexy is the only thing that works with it. Ahhh, the wonder of advertising!
    But I still want one too!

  10. 10 Courtney S.F. July 12, 2008 at 12:05 am

    This morning when Bob and I were driving to the airport at 6:45 there was already a line a half a mile long around the AT&T store. This hardy seems worth it for a phone that doesn’t even work. I would have cried if I’d waited in that type of line and ended up with a phone that was anything less than fabulous.

  11. 11 Heather B. July 12, 2008 at 12:33 am

    What the heck kind of company insists that something be activated in store? Eh, cell phones! Not worth the trouble.

  12. 12 MikeP July 13, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Heather, one that wants to rake in as much dough as possible – fair enough, that’s their job. :)

    I don’t have a cell phone, haven’t for nearly a decade, and don’t feel the lack. I don’t find them freeing at all; quite the opposite.

    That being said, I considered breaking my rules for an iPhone. Until I saw the rates. Call me a skinflint, but I don’t even pay that much for my cable TV, which I use more – and I barely watch any TV. Call me old, but my share of RENT used to be not much more than that.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


