Okay, okay I get it….

….you guys hate it when I blab about sports as they relate to the viola. I simply don’t understand why you guys don’t find the viola fascinating, but fine. I can accept it. What I canNOT accept is that you don’t want to hear about the Olympics. I simply MUST find an angle that you like for the Olympics, because while I’m willing to shut my trap about my practice habits, there is NO CHANCE I’ll zip it about the Olympics. You can just FORGET IT. You WILL read about the Olympics, whether you like it OR NOT.

How about this angle?….

Look at how cute our archery team is:

Don’t even try and tell me you expected the archery team to be attractive.

Obviously, I don’t know the first little thing about archery, but I would’ve thought that you could be fat and old and still be a world class archer. I’m thinking, based on this picture, that archery requires physical fitness. Go figure.

Let’s continue. What other interesting Olympic junk can we find?

Please do not forget about the weirdie Olympic sports. Sometimes the weirdies are the most fun to watch.

Female weightlifter

Women’s weightlifting: This woman can lift you. She can, and she will.

Olympic trampoline

Trampoline: Butt clenchingly scary.

Rhythmic Gymnast ribbon

Rhythmic Gymnastics: Don’t forget about these crazy chicks and their ribbons.

See how much we’re learning? Isn’t this wonderful? Do you love the Olympics yet?

21 Responses to “Okay, okay I get it….”


  1. 1 M.J. August 4, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    As you know, *I* for one share your Olympic glee, Kate! and now I am sorta gushing over the fact that the archery team is co-ed. Wicked!

    Although, sidenote: I never understood why basketball was in the summer games. It’s a winter sport, like hockey, but unlike the NHL, the NBA doesn’t shut down and participate during the winter. It’s very confusing.

    Also, just so you know the extreme depths of my Olympic nerd-dom, I changed the ringtone on my phone to play the theme from “Chariots of Fire”. Yes, I am that sad.

  2. 2 Katebits August 4, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Oooh, I should investigate Olympic themed ringtones, MJ. That’s a good idea!

  3. 3 kevin August 4, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    blah, blah, blah, viola, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, no pictures of hot female swimmers or female soccer players, blah, blah, blah

    you lost me

    I really used to love the Olympics but now with the all the pros, the fall of the Iron Curtain, and my overall hatred of them dropping baseball but keeping around ball room dancing has got me heated.

  4. 4 Katebits August 4, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Kevin, I put that picture of the hot weightlifter in just for you. I was TOTALLY TRYING to appeal to my male readership! What do you people WANT from me?!

    Also, BALLROOM DANCING IS AN OLYMPIC SPORT?! DUDE, the Olympics COULD NOT BE BETTER! :D

  5. 5 Amy August 4, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    :::small voice:::

    I didn’t mind hearing about playing the viola, mainly because I have never played a musical instrument. I guess I just never thought about professional musicians chilling out and practicing scales and such.

    You know what else is an Olympic sport: BMX biking.

  6. 6 Chaz August 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    hmmmm…and here’s to you Mrs Robinson

    That’s all I could think about while looking at the 12 yr old archers.

  7. 7 Chaz August 4, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Oh and I like hearing about the Viola.

  8. 8 Becky August 4, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    The commercials – the Olympics probably have good commercials.

  9. 9 TheTick August 4, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Kevin, I thought the archery picture rated more of a ‘Yes, Yes, No, dudes’ type response

    /deadspun

    Since ballroom dancing is an olympic event, does that mean we can send Jerry Rice, Mark Cuban and Emmitt Smith over for a Dream Dance Team?

  10. 10 Katebits August 4, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Aw, Amy I didn’t mean to be such a brat about the viola posts! For the record, I am TOTALLY not attached to anyone liking my viola ramblings. I was just trying to be funny with my temper tantrum. I AM attached to you guys liking the Olympics though. :P

    Chaz, some of those archers are totally old! I looked them up. Maybe archery keeps you young and spry?

    Becky, the Olympics have VERY moving commercials.

    Tick, I think you’re being too picky with the archers. All of those women are “yeses” and don’t even lie….some of those dudes are pretty cute too. :P

  11. 11 Chaz August 4, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Ok, so the two in the middle might have hit puberty legal but the two bookends look like jail bait. =)

  12. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam August 4, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Archery most decidedly does not require physical fitness. As exhibit A, I submit to you that I was really good at archery in high school. And you know what I look like. Those archers must be into distance swimming on the side. Either that or they’re ridiculously young and their metabolisms haven’t actually settled down to normal speeds yet.

  13. 13 janz August 4, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I just hope they bring back the tug of war as an olympic event. Those were the days.

  14. 14 TheTick August 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Kate, I’d only pinch-hit for Thomas Vanek. ;)

  15. 15 Grrrreg August 5, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I looove the olympics. There are so many things to like about the olympics.

    Firstly, I’m French, and I love to hear the stadiums public anouncers struggle to speak french because it’s one of the official languages of the Olympics, and therefore, everything they say has to be translated in french.
    Then I love how my country wins most of its medals in relatively obscure sports, like fencing, judo, and cycling, and usually sucks in athletics, basketball, and most of the “high profile” sports.
    I love the ugly uniforms of some delegations during the opening ceremony.
    I love to be able to watch slalom canoe-kayak, table tennis, field hockey, or diving at random times of the day, and get absolutely passionate about it, and feel like I know everything about it.

    I can’t wait for it. And when it is over, august will almost be gone, and we’ll just have to focus on the upcoming nhl trainig camps.

  16. 16 Pookie August 5, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I was starting to get a little ho-hum about the Olympics (I mean, “Murder, She Wrote”? AWESOME!), but thanks to your posts (yes, even the viola ones) have me totally pumped. Schnookie’s already raining on my parade, pointing out that all the good events are the first week, but that’s cool!

  17. 17 Schnookie August 5, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I am VERY excited about the Olympics, too! Stop tarnishing my good name, Pookie! I just happen to be less into the track & field than I am the water sports, and the Summer Olympics always seem to lead off with the swimming, diving, and gymnastics, and then peter out with a whimper of track & field. So the first week is an orgy of awesomeness, and the second week is a bit more “meh”. But maybe I just end up with Olympic burnout after the supernova of awesomeness that is swimming, gymnastics, and diving.

  18. 19 Kathee August 5, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Well, even though I didn’t comment didn’t meant I hated the viola/olympic comparisons. I have no musical talents, so I think those were great parallels.

    But I still am NOT pumped up about watching any Olympic events. I might force my soccer-playing daughter to watch the soccer just to see how a REAL team plays, but other than that, I can take it or leave it.

    I guess I should have never quit playing the flute in 5th grade…. I’d probably be all OVER doing scales and watching the Olympic Badminton. ;)

  19. 20 danielleia August 5, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Kate, you and I will be Olympic BFFes. Along with anyone else as equally as obsessed.

  20. 21 Grrrreg August 5, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Count me in.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


