5 Things I’ve Learned Watching the Olympics

1. Beach volleyball players are, across the board, hot. Men, women, whatever. They’re all hot.

2. There is a country called The Marshall Islands.

3. My general feelings about Dara Torres are “meh” and “whatevs”.

4. The mere sight of Bela Karolyi makes me happy because he reminds me of the Mary Lou Retton era. I was nine when Mary Lou Retton put a death grip on the hearts and minds of little girls everywhere by vaulting her way into all-around gold. I wanted to BE Mary Lou Retton. I loved her passionately, so much so that my favorite shirt was a purple number from the Mary Lou Retton Sears clothing line.

suzuki_camp

Viola Glamor Shots circa 1985

You can see Mary Lou’s autograph on the belly of the t-shirt in this picture from Suzuki Camp 1985. You can also see how super suave I was as a ten-year-old in this picture. A Katebits factoid: I do not wear glasses. I actually have freakishly good vision, but when I was ten I thought it would be cool to have glasses, so I squinted and acted blind until my parents were forced to hook me up with these babies to appease me. Age ten might have been the peak of my awesomeness. Heh.)

5. I do NOT like it when they take the Breakfast Club and turn it into a commercial for JCPenney. I don’t like it one bit.

10 Responses to “5 Things I’ve Learned Watching the Olympics”


  1. 1 Meg August 10, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I love how the announcers keep talking about the growing popularity of beach volleyball as if it’s vaguely surprising. Uh, guys, it’s a fun sport to watch that just happens to be played pretty much entirely by attractive people. The popularity was pretty much a no-brainer.

    That said, I think that the men should lose the shirts. It would only be fair.

  2. 2 Katebits August 10, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Meg, Robin and I had that same conversation this afternoon. I’ve got no problems with the bikinis (I like them in fact), but I think the men should have to be equally scantily clad.

  3. 3 Amy August 10, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Me three on the losing of the shirts for the men’s beach volleyball players. Its only fair.

    That JCPenney Breakfast Club commercial bothers me, especially when you consider that many of the people that they are targeting with that commercial probably haven’t seen the movie to begin with.

  4. 4 Schnookie August 10, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    It is a CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY that the men wear shirts to play Olympic beach volleyball. They don’t wear shirts when they play on the pro tour. Why does the Olympics insist on being such an old fuddy-duddy?

    And Katebits, I am SO IMPRESSED about your cleverness to get glasses. I have wanted glasses my entire life, and it never occurred to me to fake needing them. You are a genius.

  5. 5 glenn August 10, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Kate,
    Thank you soooo much for confirming my feelings about the JC Penny commercial. I was starting to think I was the only one who was offended at the awfulness of taking the definitive movie of a generation and using it to sell shit at a department store. Harumph!
    Talk to you soon!
    Glenn

  6. 6 SAM August 10, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    that commercial makes me want to cry and hurl. I LOVE the Club and that is just an abomination. *shudder*

    Moving on- I vote NO to shirts on men whilst playing beach volleyball.

    that picture is so supremely suave it’s not funny. I can tell you were a fashion ICON. :) and woohoo for purple ribbons on violas!

  7. 7 Katebits August 10, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Oooh, SAM! You’re in the know with the purple ribbons? *fist bump* :D

  8. 8 Destiny August 11, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Count me in on the “get the men’s beach volleyball players more naked” movement. I was just saying that to my boyfriend (’cause he was drooling over the chicks) this afternoon!

    I thought I had pretty good knowledge of geography but I think I might need an atlas (or Google Maps) after the Olympics to find some of these places!

  9. 9 danielleia August 11, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Along with swimming, beach volleyball is my favorite event!!!!! Unfortunately, I wasn’t home to watch it :( but usually the men don’t wear shirts leading up to the Olympics. Nice photogenic glamor shot.

  10. 10 SAM August 11, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    *fist bump back*

    I played viola for one year in elementary school then had to stop as our school cut funding. But it was cool and I can still play Long, Long Ago. Heh.

    My 11 year old nephew is a Buffalo Suiziki Strings student and he plays the viola so I know what’s what when it comes to the purple ribbons. WOOHOO! :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


