Hot Damn

Last night’s 4×100 relay might have been the best thing EVER. I watched a lot of Olympics over the weekend (a LOT) and I’m not going to lie, I was losing steam last night. The little gymnasts were getting on my nervies (more on them later), and although I knew I wanted to see the relay race, I was very tempted to go to bed early.

Good thing I stayed up, because THAT WAS THE GREATEST. I’m still buzzed.

Fuck yeah

It was fairly exciting.

I’ve now watched this race in its entirety about five times, and I STILL can’t get over the last thirty meters. Even if I don’t see a single other interesting thing all Olympics long, this race will be enough for me to definitively declare, “THE 2008 SUMMER OLYMPICS WERE TOTALLY KICK ASS!”

I haven’t written much about this, but I don’t really cheer for the Americans in the Olympics any more than I cheer for anyone else. I randomly choose my favorites based on a variety of criteria such as “Who’s the cutest?” “Who’s the least annoying?” “Who is delightfully bitchy?” “Who’s an interesting interview?”. And for the record, there are few things in life I find more cringeworthy than the “U-S-A! U-S-A!” chant. Seriously. That chant makes me want to root for the other guy.

BUT

Last night I was trotting around the livingroom chanting U-S-A! U-S-A! and blaring Bruce Springsteen on the stereo. After that I baked an apple pie and revved my Harley Davidson in the driveway. Just for good measure, today I’m going to drive my Chevy to the levy and after that I’m going to join the Marines (if they will have me, which they probably will not).

That was some hardcore swimming.

14 Responses to “Hot Damn”


  1. 1 kms2 August 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    When Phelps celebrated I thought, “that is going to be the best photo ever”. Even my fiance who is always whining about how the Olympics are so ridiculous was on the edge of the couch during that race and shouted “U-S-A” when it was over.

    After all those girls kept falling and stepping out of bounds, I thought, “jeez, fuck up more!”

  2. 2 Destiny August 11, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I knew this blog was going to be about that race! Yeah, I was freaking out too, pumping my fists in the air and being all like, “YEAH AMERICA!” That’s what those Frenchies get for talking smack. They said they were going to “crush” the Americans, haha! Au contraire, Alain Bernard!

    If that photo of Phelps and his team celebrating at the end of the race doesn’t become the cover of Sports Illustrated or something, I will have problems! Swimmers are hot. :)

  3. 3 Tessa August 11, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    That race was unbelievable! I’m so glad I stayed up to watch that.

    That was definitely the most excited I’ve been about swimming, ever. :)

    And as for the French, this made me giggle… http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/2987/trashtalkfrancely9.jpg

  4. 4 TheTick August 11, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I don’t think the French team came out of that stunned fog until they were draping that silver medal around their neck.

    Is anyone else caught up in the difference between the US coverage and CBC’s? It’s pretty funny, on NBC it’s all like ‘USA is favored in this event’, or *insert person* is favored, where Canada is in full-on “we’re just happy to be here, hoping to make top 15” mode.

  5. 5 Mary August 11, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I’m not a huge Olympics person, but I think my family woke up the neighborhood with all our cheering. Woo swimming!

  6. 6 danielleia August 11, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    My thinking is the same as yours on the chanting. I use the USA chant as a tag for my Olympic posts when we win an event in reference to Steven Colbert because it’s a j-o-k-e. On the other hand, the Olympics are all about showing pride for your Country. I root for whoever sticks out to me. Or the hot guys ;)

    Team Phelps’ celebration was stunningly beautiful. I love how even the announcers laughed at it in slow motion.

  7. 7 Amy August 11, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Phelps and crew were so awesome celebrating. I love seeing the pure joy and excitement that these guys have. Its not something you see often enough in sports.

    today I’m going to drive my Chevy to the levy

    Good luck with that. I’ve heard the levy was dry and the good old boys
    were drinking whiskey and rye.

  8. 8 Chaz August 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Phelps abs should be against the law.

  9. 9 elise August 11, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    why have i bothered doing ANYTHING but watch the Olympics???!! must hop-to ASAP. kate, you are my inspiration.

  10. 10 Katebits August 11, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Elise, you need to pull it together! You will NOT be sorry if you watch the swimming. I’m going to call you tomorrow, BTW.

    Thanks for chiming in on this one, guys. I am SO stoked about the swimming now. It’s redonk.

  11. 11 TheTick August 11, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I was going to title a post about that event ‘The Lezak Haderach’ but I thought it would be too obscure (and not quite close enough to kwisatz haderach). So now I just share with you fine folks.

  12. 12 Grrrreg August 12, 2008 at 7:07 am

    As a French, I must say I have a different view of yesterday’s race.
    It was indeed pretty amazing, and the finish was jaw-dropping. But in a bad way… :(

    I’m pretty stunned, yeah. On a side note, Brenard’s comments were not at all reported in the french media before the race, so it was a bit of a bad surprise to read about it afterwards. But honestly, yes it was arrogant and all, but trash talking is part of sports. And I’m not sure Americans are exactly in the best position to denounce arrogance in sports… ;-)

    Anyway, congrats to Phelps and the US team, that was an unbelievable race.

  13. 13 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Hee. I’m so sorry, Grrreg! I thought of you right away on Sunday night and I was wondering when you were going to chime in on this post!

    I believe it was in 2000 when an American relay racer said of the competition “we will smash them like guitars” only to be taunted by the Australians when they air guitared from the gold medal platform. I don’t care where you’re from, saying crap like that is just asking for trouble!

  14. 14 JB August 13, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I thought it was amazing and I was waiting for Phelps sleek suit to slip… opps… I was just so happy that the Frenchies got smashed!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


