Men’s Gymnastics/Happy Birthday TWC!

FYI, THERE IS A VERY IMPORTANT UPDATE AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS POST!

If someone had told me when I woke up yesterday morning that by the time I went to sleep I would care passionately about men’s gymnastics, I would have told that person, “You sir or madam, are cuckoo for coco puffs,” and yet, there I was last night, living and dying with our scrappy little men’s team. (They really are scrappy and they really are little, FYI. I’m not just saying that to make fun of them. In this particular case it’s actually true.)

Watching the male gymnasts highlighted two of my favorite Olympic phenomena.

1. I love how I can sit down to watch a sport that I literally know nothing about and two hours later feel totally engaged with the sport. About four hours ago I couldn’t have named a single male gymnast in the entire world. Now I know at least a few. Let’s see….there’s Raj, and um….that kid who looks like a Staal brother, and Zach Parise, and don’t forget the delicate looking guy who apparently spent the entire year screwing up so badly that he BARELY qualified to go to Beijing, but then when called upon to save the day he KICKED ASS on the pommel horse to ward off the Germans and clinch the bronze! I’m like a men’s gymnastics EXPERT now. Just as a comparison, it took me several WEEKS of watching hockey before I became an expert.

2. I love it when teams and individuals are super pumped to win a medal, even if it is a bronze. The American team was apparently slated to go down without a whimper after Paul Hamm broke his hand and had to withdraw. But wait! Rather than wither and die, they used moxie and team spirit to capture the bronze, and they were pleased as punch to do so. Usually there is at least one team on the podium who is sour and pissy because they didn’t win the gold. I love it when the bronze and the silver medalists are entirely psyched.

_________

So, there I was, writing a goofy little post about men’s gymnastics, when I decided to pop over to Top Shelf to see if Heather had anything to say about the men’s gymnastics…and what do I find? OH, JUST THE NICEST THING EVER! (Heather is the best, but you knew that already.)

I totally forgot, but Heather totally remembered- today is the one year anniversary of The Willful Caboose! I know! It’s crazy! TWC is one! That’s like eleven in blog years. (How weird is it that I started a hockey blog on August 12th?)

Writing this blog has been one of the most unexpectedly rewarding things I have ever done. Of the many, many enjoyable things about writing TWC, by far the best has been the opportunity to interact with other people who love hockey, the Sabres, and Buffalo. I have made some incredible friends in the last year and I am so grateful for the experience. I would like to extend a sincere thank you to everyone who has contributed to TWC’s first year.

cupcake-candle

Happy Birthday!

EXTREMELY IMPORTANT UPDATE!

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!! Look at this HILARIOUS photo that the fabulous Grrreg sent to me! I had to post it here because I think it’s so impossibly cute! Crunchy has a CAKE! The gymnasts are lined up and singing!

happy birthday TWC

Very, very hilariously awesome.

26 Responses to “Men’s Gymnastics/Happy Birthday TWC!”


  1. 1 Jennifer August 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday, TWC! It’s been a great year getting to know you and Katebits.

  2. 2 morgaine August 12, 2008 at 9:26 am

    official b-day/blog anniversary greetings, Katebits, and may there be many more!

  3. 3 Shawn August 12, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for all your interesting takes, reading this blog is always enjoyable. Congratulations on 1 year!

  4. 4 Pookie August 12, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Congratulations! *tosses TWC-colored confetti in the air!* I can’t believe it’s only been a year, to be honest! Here’s heartfelt wishes for many, many more!

    Now, more importantly, WOOOOO! The men’s gymnastics ROCKS!

    (Just kidding. A scrappy team of zany men’s gymnasts aren’t more important than TWC turning 1. Yet. If Zach-a-Like miraculously wins the All-Around, then we’ll have to reassess.)

  5. 5 Schnookie August 12, 2008 at 9:54 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, TWC!!! I can’t believe it’s been a year — it seems like just yesterday, but at the same time, it seems like TWC has been around forever. I guess you just tap a nerve, Katebits; TWC says the things that I’ve been thinking in my soul. Thank you so much for giving voice to the frivolous, the silly, the zany, the fun, and the shower-capped!

    And that gymnastics was AWESOME!

  6. 6 Mags August 12, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Yay, happy birthday TWC!!! I can’t believe it’s been a year, but I hope there are many more to come *eats cake*

  7. 8 Meg August 12, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Happy birthday, TWC!

  8. 9 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Aw, Mags and Meg. Old school. *fist bumps*

  9. 10 bbC August 12, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Happy birthday, TWC! Here’s hoping to many more!

  10. 11 Destiny August 12, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Yay, congrats on a year of entertaining the masses! Happy Birthday TWC! :)

  11. 12 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Thank you very much, bbC and Destiny! *hands them celebratory cupcake*

  12. 13 Shari August 12, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Happy Birthday! Thanks for all the fun posts and letting me chime in…. and thanks for dumping that looser Blobby! ; )

  13. 14 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Thanks for joining in Shari!

  14. 15 Schnookie August 12, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    By the way, when can we expect the “A Year Of TWC” retrospective coffee table book?

  15. 16 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    This whole anniversary thing took us by surprise here at TWC, but we’ve been on the phones all day with our publishers. The retrospective book should be on the shelves in 2-4 weeks.

  16. 17 Chaz August 12, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Yeah!!! Happy Birthday TWC!

  17. 18 morgaine August 12, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    ye gods, what a great picture in your update! (although i wondered for a moment why that dude with his back to the camera was so interested in the goalie cake)

  18. 19 Amy August 12, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Happy Birthday, TWC!

    Crunchy has some mad waiter skillz to be able to hold onto that cake with his blocker. I’m impressed.

  19. 20 Katebits August 12, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks, Chaz!

    morgaine, perhaps he’s just bowing in cake inspired reverence?

    I know, Amy! Who’d have thought Crunchy is such a suave cake waiter?

  20. 21 Heather B. August 12, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    (Heather is the best, but you knew that already.)

    I admit it, I wrote my whole post just so you’d say nice things about me :-D

    Happy birthday, TWC!

  21. 22 TheTick August 12, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Happy Blog-day! I blew right past mine, but then, I started mine back in the 07 playoffs…

  22. 23 SAM August 12, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Happpy Birthday to The Willful Caboose! You have provided me with many an hour of entertaining reading. Thanks! And here’s to many many more hours of reading and birthdays galore. Cheers!

  23. 24 Shari August 12, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Those boys sang Happy Birthday without even opening their mouths! Crunchy must be a ventrilaquist! Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever typed or written that word ever. I wonder if I spelled it right??

  24. 25 KevinP August 13, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Happy one-year, TWC. The blogosphere is richer with you in it.

  25. 26 JB August 13, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    YEAH!!!! Happy B’day! Keep up the fab blog!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


