Hey Wait.

Should we be panicking about Jason Pominville yet?

18 Responses to “Hey Wait.”


  1. 1 Heather B. August 13, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Labor Day. That’s when I might allow the first signs of panic to creep in.

  2. 2 m.j. August 13, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Now that I have lost my beloved Mike Ryan,I am now fully able to focus on full fledged Pommers related panic.so yes, for me, ITS TIME!

  3. 3 JB August 13, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Ummm Yeah for sure!!!

  4. 4 Amy August 13, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I’m with Heather, Labor Day is a good time to panic. Its about two weeks from the start of camp, which was the deadline the team was trying to work with.

    Here’s hoping that everyone is distracted by the Olympics and there will be a deal announced soon.

  5. 5 TheTick August 13, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    No reason to panic…he’s an RFA. Plenty of time.

    Just, no sudden movements. Wouldn’t want to startle him.

  6. 6 Jennifer August 14, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I’m holding off on the panic until Labor Day, too! After all, Darcy’s been a busy boy this summer. He knows Pommerdoodle wants to stay in Buffalo and Pommerdoodle knows Buffalo wants him to stay, so it’s just a matter of getting it on paper. There’s plenty of time for that.

    If I’m wrong, I WILL cry! :(

  7. 7 jonhoepfinger August 14, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I heard hes holding out for 2 boxes of beggin strips

  8. 8 Jennifer August 14, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    I heard hes holding out for 2 boxes of beggin strips

    I’m heading to the store RIGHT NOW!!! I’ll pick up 3, just in case he decides to play hard ball.

  9. 9 TheTick August 14, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    My dog knew it wasn’t bacon.

    Just sayin’ is all.

  10. 10 Shari August 14, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Yep, Labor Day. I think your right Amy, after the Olympics, oh and the Fair!

  11. 11 Katebits August 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Alright, I’ll wait until Labor Day.

  12. 12 John M. August 14, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    No need to panic even on Labor day. He’s an RFA next summer, and I think that Drew Stafford might be more likely to get an offersheet than Pominville. So uh, panic about Stafford?

  13. 13 TheTick August 14, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Why would Angry Eyebrows be more likely to get sheeted (can I make that a verb?) than Pominville?

  14. 14 Katebits August 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Great! Now I’m scared about Staffy AND Pommerdoodle! :P

  15. 15 Shari August 14, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Hmmm…me too.
    Heh, They showed Mama Phelps putting on lipgloss right before her baby won his 6th! Heather you must really like the commercals with Morgan Freeman saying Congrats Mike on your umpteenth gold medal!

  16. 16 John M. August 15, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I think Stafford is more likely to get an offer sheet because in order for the Sabres not to match a sheet for Pominville, the offer would have to be huge- max compensation huge (four first round picks). This has only happened once (to us, unfortunately) and I don’t think teams are going to be willing to pony up for Pominville unless he has a 100 point season. I could be wrong though.

    Stafford on the other hand is the kind of player that gets offersheets more often. Big winger, power forward potential than he hasn’t quite lived up to yet (see: Bernier, Penner). I definately could see a team that’s enamored with him (Edmonton?) shooting him a $3-$3.5 mil/multi year offersheet. If he has similar stats to his first two years that will be more than Darcy will want to pay, and you know he’s not going to want to give an relatively unproven guy like Stafford a long-term deal. The Sabres will take the compensation picks and bye-bye Stafford.


  1. 1 Sabres, Pominville Still Talking Contract | Honk if you love justice! Trackback on August 28, 2008 at 12:16 pm
  2. 2 Sabres, Pominville Still Talking Long-Term | Honk if you love justice! Trackback on September 9, 2008 at 6:18 am

Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages