KFS II Revamped: Flowchart Style

I’ve had a hard time getting motivated to write Kate’s Favorite Sabre II.  To be honest, I’m really proud of what I wrote last year, and although I really had no idea what I was talking about back then, I think my assessment of the situation was pretty accurate.  There are a few exceptions (Max is obviously NOT my favorite Sabre), but for the most part, I stand by what I wrote.  I don’t particularly feel the need to reorder the entire team, and I don’t think I can match last year’s rookie enthusiasm. So, that old KFS scheme is scratched.  Over the next few days I’ll write a few entires for the Sabres I think I got wrong last year, but after that, we’re moving on.

Now, it occurred to me this afternoon that perhaps there are some particularly misguided TWC readers who were planning to use KFS to help them choose their own Favorite Sabre.  I don’t want to leave these obviously confused souls in the lurch, so in order to help these people, I have taken KFS in a new direction.

That direction?  A foxy flowchart!

Start at the orange square at the top, and simply choose between the available options until you arrive at the name of your new Favorite Sabre.  It’s easy as pie!

Flow Chart spellchecked

Click on image for a closer view.

Good luck, and let us know who you wound up with!

UPDATE: I got home and realized that I used a version of this that did not have all the connecting lines.  You guys probably didn’t even notice, but I wanted to make sure the Max fans could arrive at their boy by following the chart.  Also, I’m sorry Teppo’s not on there.  I kind of forgot about him.  Oopsies.

24 Responses to “KFS II Revamped: Flowchart Style”


  1. 1 JBo September 2, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I cried to bits (Haha, get it? Katebits?! Stupid. Anyways…) with the “you enjoy boring fights = Andrew Peters” because it’s soooooo true. One little edit, though? After “points leaders”, and you have “dumbish” and “whorish” with “dumbish” leading to Roy-Z and whorish leading to Vanek, I think you should have those switched, cos girl, I could tell you soooo many whore stories involving our Roy-Z.

  2. 2 Meg September 2, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    My favorite Sabre isn’t on the chart. :*(

    Very funny though. :)

  3. 3 ms.conduct September 2, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    OMG that was funny… I’m not a Sabres fan (though there’s that one really hot picture of Crunchy that I absolutely believe has a body double because he looks like a totally un-hot drowned rat in every other photo) but apparently Toni Lydman is my favorite Sabre. I have no idea who he is. Gotta look him up….

    Oh yeah, I approve. TL FTW.

  4. 4 Schnookie September 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    This scientific approach is foolproof! I ended up with my correct favorite Sabre, so CLEARLY the system works. You’re a genius, Katebits!

  5. 5 Pookie September 2, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    :::::::::::: *gasp* ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    GENIUS!

    Not surprisingly, my love for brain-eating zombies led me directly to Drew Stafford, again! (Although seriously, remember last year during KFS when I kept insisting that you love Staffy with all your heart? How’d that turn out? *gives death glare in Staffy’s direction* Could he have had a suckier, less KFS-worthy season? [And still stayed with the big team, that is.] *shakes head sadly* He totally let me down.)

  6. 6 Heather B. September 2, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Kate, I think “quiet and stoic, like Jochen Hecht” leading to Jochen Hecht was what pushed me over the edge. I think you’ve topped yourself with this one.

    I’m pretty sure I’ve been drinking with Hank but it’s the weirdest thing, I don’t really remember any of it…

  7. 7 Kathee September 2, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    PERFECT! The flowchart works just like the one in the teen magazines! It didn’t lead me to my real favorite Sabre (Staffy) but a good runner-up (Goose)

  8. 8 JB September 2, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Fabulous flowchart! It was foxy as you said! Miller’s my favorite Sabre… check out my blog I have some WOWZA pics of him on there… yes he can look good in some light…

  9. 9 NoththeOriginalSam September 2, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    hilarious as usual Katebits. :)

  10. 10 Shari September 2, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Awwwwww…come on JBo! Tell us the whore stories!!

    Although Teppo has always been my favorite, I’ve had this thing for the very hot AH-lesh. It’s those dark eyes and that sly grin!
    Damn the Euros!

  11. 11 Patty (in Dallas) September 2, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Hilarious! I shocked myself by taking the Dumbish detour. Apparently I go for that kind of thing.

  12. 12 Katebits September 2, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    No Roy-Z whore stories please! I like my Sabres to maintain their air of mystery! I hate hearing real life stories of them being lame/slutty/actual people.

    Thanks guys! I’m so glad you liked it!

  13. 13 Destiny September 3, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Wow! I got Goose! Your chart totally works! I think you should get this published or something. Hehe!

    *HONK*

  14. 14 Amy September 3, 2008 at 8:20 am

    My favorite part of the chart is that mouth breathing is the difference between Adam Mair and Daniel Paille.

    I agree with everyone else that the chart does work. It led me right to Goose.

  15. 16 Chaz September 3, 2008 at 8:55 am

    HONK! Yeah!!! I got Goose. HONK!

  16. 17 Pookie September 3, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I feel like this should be handed out to fans who go to training camp practices this year. And mailed to anyone considering buying a Sabres sweater. It should be laminated and hung on the wall of the Sabres Team Store.

  17. 18 Katebits September 3, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Hee. Thanks, Pookie! I do love the look of flowcharts. Maybe I should laminate it! Maybe I should make a nicer, less bitchy version and see if they will hang it up in the gift shop. OR, I could make an intstructional flowchart for each Sabre and mail them to the Sabres to be hung in their lockers. :P

  18. 19 KozyShank September 3, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    No drinking with Henrik Tallinder?!? If Kristian Huselius is missing from the picture, is it safer?

  19. 20 Katebits September 3, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Hey KozyShank! Sorry you wound up in the spam filter. I’m not sure what happened there. It probably is safe to assume that Huselius is the bad influence, but still, I’d be wary. :)

  20. 21 grrrreg September 3, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Brilliant!
    My own accent is pretty bad, so I definitely feel a connection with Spacek now. I think I may actually follow him from now on, just for this reason.

  21. 22 TheTick September 3, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Needs more Teppo. He can be on the right with the rest of the accent crew.

    Very cool, as usual. :)

  22. 23 Steph September 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    absolutely hysterical. i love it!! – even though paetsch is nowhere to be found =]


  1. 1 Joshin’ my taters « Life is like a bowl of porkchops… Trackback on September 4, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


