Tickets!

The Bills are cool and all, but it’s time to get serious around here:

Sabre beer jersey

Hockey is where it’s at.

I had kind of a rough day today.  I won’t bother you with the lame details, but I was feeling run down and worn out this afternoon.

Then I checked the mail.

I got some Sabres tickets today!  I am currently scheduled to see 13 Sabres games this season, but the only ticket I was really desperate to have in my hands was this one:

Habs tickets

Hell yes.

Someday I hope to be a season ticket holder.  I have many ideas of what being a season ticket holder would mean, and how it would feel to be so rich with tickets, but I think the fantasy that I’m most attached to is the day when I get the tickets.  Obviously, the real meat of being a season ticket holder is going to all the games, but I think there must be something incredibly wonderful about having all those big, brightly colored tickets in a stack before the season even begins.  For me, there is pleasure in the tickets that is separate from the game experience. The tickets themselves are wonderful.

I love tickets!  I’ve always loved tickets, but my Sabres fandom is taking my ticket-love to a whole new level. I keep fanning them out across the desk, just to look at them and think about the upcoming season.

There’s so much fun to be had.

20 Responses to “Tickets!”


  1. 2 Katebits September 16, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I know, and I’m sorry Chaz! I thought long and hard about posting this for fear that it would sound obnoxious….but I couldn’t help it! The tickets just made me so happy!

  2. 3 Jennifer September 17, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I’m happy that you are happy, but I, too, am jealous. :( They look so pretty!

  3. 4 bbC September 17, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I received my tickets in the mail today too. You have no idea how excited I am! Okay, well you probably do. But still!!

  4. 5 Glenn September 17, 2008 at 12:30 am

    First day of school is always rough….I hear ya Kate!

  5. 6 Becky September 17, 2008 at 5:10 am

    I think maybe I should go check out my post office box (which is not a daily occurrence)!

  6. 7 Anne September 17, 2008 at 7:33 am

    You have to let me know where you’re sitting so I can try to work in your section sellin’ my wares. I hope you like popcorn, twizzlers and cotton candy!!

  7. 8 Katebits September 17, 2008 at 7:57 am

    I LOVE popcorn, twizzlers and cotton candy, Anne! I’m mostly in 309.

  8. 9 SlugLuva September 17, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I’m in section 310 for that game!!!!!!!!

    Lets have a beer!

  9. 10 Pookie September 17, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Congratulations on getting your tickets!

    I loved getting the packets of season tickets in the mail! I also loved ripping the ticket out of the booklet before every game — until February and then I’d get sad that the packet was getting flimsier and flimsier with every game. It was like watching the seasons change!

  10. 11 Chaz September 17, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I’m super stoked that you are going to the game. I only wish I lived close enough to make it to a weeknight game without missing part of the first. It’s always this time of year that I miss living in Minneapolis. sniff, sniff

  11. 12 Schnookie September 17, 2008 at 10:15 am

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! The ticket! It’s so beautiful! You’re so lucky!!!!

  12. 13 Shawn September 17, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is good.

  13. 14 JB September 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I am uber jealous!!! That is sooo sweet you got your tix! My hubby is seriously thinking of transferring to Buffalo… so we can be regular tix holders as well… well and for other reasons… but that would be a perk…

  14. 15 Pete September 17, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I think tickets are so wonderful because of their potential. Each one of them could be entrance into a game decided by a last-second shorthanded goal when it looked like all hope was lost. They never scream out, “Hey, I’m going to be a 5-0 stinker in the middle of a four-game losing streak.”

  15. 16 Heather B. September 17, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    WHERE THE HELL ARE MY TICKETS?!!?!?!?!?!?!??!?! I HATE THIS POST BECAUSE I HAVE NOT YET RECEIVED MY TICKETS!!!!!

  16. 17 Katebits September 17, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Pete, that it EXACTLY.

    Heather, I don’t know! This is an outrage! I bet they are just holding them back until Hank can hand deliver them.

  17. 18 Amanda September 17, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    I got my tickets yesterday too! I promptly put them in order by date and tucked them into a nice safe spot on my desk. I’m only going to five games this year (having a baby is really putting a crimp into my Sabres game attendance plans) but I hope they’re good ones!

  18. 19 Becky September 17, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Yes! My tickets were in my PO box – let the season begin!

  19. 20 grrrreg September 18, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Woooo! The home opener!
    I’m sure this is gonna be a great game.
    Please don’t be too harsh on Carey, though.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


