Hockey is BACK!

I was at home, puttering around and doing some Saturday morning-type cleaning when I felt a disturbance in the force (of my boring hockeyless existence).  HOCKEY IS BACK!  THEY’RE SKATING AROUND RIGHT NOW, AREN’T THEY?!!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

UPDATE 10:30: I’m watching the new SabresTV right now.  It’s pretty darn snazzy.  I always had a difficult time getting the “live” stuff to work on the old Sabres TV, but this new thing popped right up.

There seems to be a new lady (tooootal cougar) on the Sabres broadcast team.  Kevin Sylvester, looking adorable and cuddly, calls the new cougar “Maria”.  She’s wearing a sparkly slug t-shirt.  I’ve always secretly liked those.  (Nina Garcia would say I have questionable taste levels.) Thumbs up new lady!

Kevin, Harry, and Rick look so good in their Sabres jackets.  Duuuuude….Sabres TV is super slick and foxy.

Cool!  Awkward stagy footage of Pommer signing his new contract!  It’s the Sabres boardroom!

(Yes, I appear to be live blogging Sabres TV right now.)

UPDATE 11:14am: Okay, I haven’t been watching Sabres TV this whole time, but I just took another peek.  Having been born as a Sabres fan during the flight of the co-captains, my early impressions of Darcy Regier were all based on him, depressed and glum, in those horrible press conferences.  I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again now.  Seeing him light hearted and happy is AMAZING.  He’s like a little ray of soft spoken sunshine.  He’s so funny and cute.  Aw, Darcy.

11:22am– Sabres TV is amazing!  We just saw a replay of Craig Rivet’s scrimmage goal.  (Incidentally, I’m pretty sure that Craig Rivet just looked at the camera and winked at me.)

11:54am: As I wandered past the computer with my laundry, I just heard Kevin Sylvester call the slug logo “wildly popular”.  Hm.  I’m beginning to question the journalistic integrity of SabresTV.

12:04 pm: The new third jersey is pretty sweet but I have two complaints.  1. The fugly piping along the sides. 2. The little hockey pantaloons don’t quite match the sweaters.  Other than that, I deem the new thrid jerseys……(drum roll please)……….SPIFFY!

23 Responses to “Hockey is BACK!”


  1. 1 Shari September 20, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Maria Genero? I love her! I think she used to be on channel 2, or still is, I dunno. Anyway, I like the new jersey and I’m not real big on the fugly piping eithe but it’s better than the slug. Speaking of which, anyone notice if they took the slug off the ice? I’d much rather see the current logo!

  2. 2 Amy September 20, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Speaking of which, anyone notice if they took the slug off the ice? I’d much rather see the current logo!

    The slug was most definitely gone from center ice. I wonder if they are going to put the new/old logo down instead?

  3. 4 Heather B. September 20, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    (Nina Garcia would say I have questionable taste levels.)

    As would I. We were right next to Maria and that shirt was godawful in person. You should be ashamed, Kate :P

    Like Amy said, no slug at center ice. We weren’t sure if that meant it won’t be there or if they just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. If they put the new/old logo down, I think the slug is officially on its way out. (Yay!)

  4. 5 JB September 20, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Ok I have to say I think that Maria is just waiting to get a piece of the action in the Sabres locker room… she was bugging me a bit… Cougar for sure… old lady checking out the younguns… he he he…

  5. 6 Rebecca September 20, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    What I want to know, Kate, is when do the new yearbook photos come out, and can we look forward to your hilarious commentary again?!

  6. 7 Valerie (aka) blitzen September 21, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Easy on the cougar-judgments. I have not seen the woman nor do I have ANY idea of her age but as someone who has reached the half-century mark, I can tell you that appreciating the “young-uns” is lovely (if at times heartbreaking)past time. She probably sighs alot when out of earshot of others.

  7. 8 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I love cougars! I use the term affectionately, ALWAYS. I actually think the term “cougar” is pretty fun. MILF has it’s charms, but ultimately it’s way too crass, and it’s a judgment based on the way the woman looks. I like “cougar” because all it really means is an older woman who pursues and dates younger men, which I think is AWESOME as far as concepts go. Heh.

    After a little reflection yesterday, I almost took down the references to Maria and her cougarness in this post. I give quite a bit of thought how women are represented and portrayed in the sports media. One of the things I dislike about most sports coverage on television is how the women are mostly there to look good for the male viewers. Now, I really have no issue with the hotties on the sidelines, but I wish there was a bit more effort to pander to the FEMALE viewers as well. :P In my fiery, angry youth I used to get all up-in-arms about inequality and the unfair way our society sexualizes women based on their appearance, but lately I’ve become interested in how exactly women can be marketed to that appeals to their basest instincts. What is the equivalent of the “hot, twenty-something, female sideline reporter” in football- for women? Obviously someone did a lot of market research and figured out that men like a hottie on the sidelines. How can sports be better marketed to women using this same type of research? I know this sounds ridiculous, but I’m actually pretty serious. I think there is a vast disconnect between how women want to consume sports and how sports are presented to us by the industry. I honestly think women are an untapped market when it comes to sports, and I think there is a TON of money to be made in this area. (Not that I am trying to make this money myself.) On the one hand I’m baffled that no major sports providers seem to prioritize providing programming aimed specifically to women, and on the other hand, I have no idea how it could be effectively done.

    I recognize that to immediately label a slightly older, good looking woman (I’m not sure how old Maria is, but I’m going to guess she’s in her forties) as a “cougar” is probably pretty wrong. But maybe, in the deep recesses of my twisted little mind, the way to pander to ME is to somehow empower my inner cougar by putting a good looking older woman into the mix. I dunno. This whole issue is really confusing and fascinating to me.

    I’m really hoping Maria turns out to be cool (and by cool I mean, “smart, funny, and intelligent about hockey)- and then she can become our Cougar Empress-Goddess. :P

  8. 9 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Oh, one more thing. I know this tangent has NOTHING to do with anything anyone has said in this comment thread. :D I know you guys don’t come here to read my manifestos about gender equality and sexuality as it pertains to sports- which is why I try to keep this stuff out of my posts- but lately I’ve been thinking about this stuff A LOT. (I think I’m suddenly interested in all this because I am suddenly watching football, and I’m getting a glimpse of the real (non-hockey) sports media for the first time in my life. I guess I just had to get this off my chest.

  9. 10 Erin September 21, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I think this is fascinating. ‘This’ being women as sports fans, and how they (me) (we) and our dollars ar ignored by ….. well most everyone. I have two main thoughts here.

    1. I was never a sports fan before I became a hockey fan. One of my first realizations as a fan was that I was more and more into the games as I became more and more familiar with the personalities of the players. I was just dumb founded that there were these sexy dudes doing awesome things all around me all this time and I had never become a fan before. I was surprised that no one had ever printed a ‘Big Bopper’ style magazine to help draw in female fans. I know that a magazine like that would have it’s down side and I’m not sure I would even want it, and I’m not trying to say that you have to make something ‘girly’ for women to like it, I’m just surprised that it hadn’t been done.

    2. Which leads to my second point. Women kind of let the marketing skip over them. I think they (me) (we) kind of like being into a ‘boy thing’. I think that female fans of more popular sports like football enjoy being in the boys club. It’s a weird badge of honor to be a chick who really hangs in there with the boys by being a hardcore fan, not just a tag-a-long bring the boys their nacho’s and beer kind of woman fan.

    I have alot more thoughts and feelings about this subject, I thought I would just chime in with this. Very interesting subject.

  10. 11 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Erin, those are both seriously good points. I want to respond to both of them in depth (and I will), but I am off to a friend’s house to watch the Bills game! :D I’ll get back to you on this! (And thank you for chiming in so thoughtfully. I think about this stuff a lot and I’m never sure how to broach the subject here on TWC.)

  11. 12 Erin September 21, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Email me if you want to! Enjoy the game.

  12. 13 Valerie (aka blitzen) September 21, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Don’t get me wrong about the term “cougar”. I may be a 50-year-old happily married woman but like Rose’s alter-ego in the cartoon “Rose is Rose” I have an inner (but never acted upon) wild-side and she’s all cougar. I like to think of it as healthy lust (thus the frequent sighing). It’s all good. Don’t judge cougars badly – you’ll get there some day too.

    As for marketing sports to women, I thought that after the lockout the NHL did some demographics and they noted that there were a lot more women out there with serious disposable income who were becoming fans in their own rights (as opposed to be hang-alongs with their boy-toys). Clearly they haven’t done much with the data. Except for pink jerseys. hmmmm.

    For the local major junior team here in Ottawa, the owner realized that Moms make a lot of the decisions regarding how family disposable income is spent and he makes sure that the game-day experience is something that Mom’s would approve. Even flowers in the bathrooms. Good game day experiences for families. Marketing to the monetary decision makers.

    I’m all for a good discussion on marketing major league sports to women.

    Sighing-out, Valerie the-cougar-in-her-own-mind

  13. 14 JB September 21, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I would have to agree in some cases. Women hockey men its all good… my hubby said he is proud because I can talk hockey with the best of them (whatever that means) ~ systems maybe ~ he he he ~ I do feel I can sit and chit chat with a guy with good knowledge and have a decent conversation but come away not looking like an ass or the guy not thinking I’m a airhead and just humoring me. I think sports have opened up to a lot of women now and have embraced the fact that more women are watching and enjoying it. We can sit back and actually be knowledgeable and not just watch from a far… know what I mean?

    So who is up for a Sabre’s in their skivies calendar? I so would buy that!!! Hey… I’m still a girl and I wanna some serious abs people!

  14. 15 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Valerie, I am 33. If I’m not a cougar already, then I’m certainly closer to my cougarhood than to my puckbunnyhood.

    I think Erin makes a really good point about women who enjoy being a part of the boys club. I definitely fall into this category. I’m not entirely sure I would want sports presented in a more “girly” way. I also wonder to what extent men are turned off by programming designed to cater to the female sports fan. It’s possible someone along the way decided it’s not worth trying to cater to the female fan at the expense of alienating the male fans.

    Here’s what I would like to see more of in sports coverage:

    1. More and better information about the players. More profiles and goofy glimpses into their lives.
    2. More intelligent women involved in the broadcasts. These women should be interacting with each other. I think that’s what I’m really craving. I want to see and hear women talking about sports together- not just one lone woman as a part of a broadcast team trying to blend in.

    I absorb a TON of sports media at this point, and it’s not like I’m hugely offended by what I see on television, but what I can say for SURE is that when I really want to sit down and read or watch something that I feel is representative of my fandom, I read blogs. I read Penalty Killing, and Top Shelf, and IPB, and SportSquee. I do not see ANYTHING in the MSM that represents this kind of female fandom. I mean, if there was some way to turn SportSquee into a television show, wouldn’t you seriously set your DVR to record that? I would.

  15. 16 Schnookie September 21, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Erin, you make SUCH a good point about female sports fans liking being in the “boys club” of sports fandom. This is a topic that is endlessly fascinating to me, and seriously, in the 15+ years I’ve been a sports fan, I’ve never really thought about that angle.

    I agree that making sports altogether girlier would be a total turnoff for me. But Kate, if there was a media presence of women talking with other women intelligently about the sport while also appreciating the aesthetics (so to speak) of the athletes, I would be ALL OVER that. You need to get on that, and get me a paying gig participating in it. :D

  16. 17 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Schnookie, as soon as someone puts me in charge of ESPN, you’ve got a job. You and Pookie get your own show.

  17. 18 Schnookie September 21, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Schnookie, as soon as someone puts me in charge of ESPN, you’ve got a job. You and Pookie get your own show.

    WOOOOOO HOOOOOO!!! I can’t wait!

  18. 19 Pookie September 21, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    You and Pookie get your own show.

    The Hotness Primer: Now With More TV! Sweet!

    I know I’d be turned off by a more girlier broadcast as well, because I think the powers that be would translate “girlier” as “pinker and more sparkly” when what I’d want is “let’s show a shot of Mike Tomlin for every shot we show of cheerleaders”. And yeah, more off-field profiles! I’m a Devils fan but one hour spent watching the fabulous off-ice profiles stuff on Flyers TV and I was like, “I [heart] the Flyers!” OK, not really. But still! I want to see Flyers Cribs but for every team! We’ve all been saying this for at least two or three years, though, and progress seems very slow. I think we need to put Margee in charge of determining what content gets made into off-ice profiles. We’d get more Vinny and Jason Spezza and less Gionta giving tours of hardware stores.

  19. 20 Schnookie September 21, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    We’d get more Vinny and Jason Spezza and less Gionta giving tours of hardware stores.

    It doesn’t even have to be hot guys. I mean, if I hadn’t spent his entire career hearing about that stupid store, I would have been so charmed by Gio’s hardware store profile (the first time I saw it. Not the 10 billionth). I want just more of that stuff in general, the humanizing stuff. The content on the Flyers website blew my mind last playoffs, when we were scouring the webs for our Tranny Brides. They had a video that was a few minutes long without any narration, editing, or mic’d conversations of just a team meal. It was guys in suits milling around a buffet table in a hotel ballroom. And it was FASCINATING, and I ended up liking the Flyers — the Flyers!!! — that much more. And how much effort does it take for a team to put that on their website? None? Just slightly more than none? Seriously, it’s not hard, NHL.

  20. 21 Erin September 21, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Gotta say, I hadn’t thought about it before, but you’re right, I want to see, hear, be around more women talking sports with each other. That’s probably what attracted me to all the girl run hockey blogs that I read. I really crave having that conversation in my life and I am interested in what women have to say about hockey.

    On a more general note, I think that women talking to women in the MSM about almost any subject is sorely lacking. Women definetly have a different way of communicating, and communicate with each other differently than they do with men, and women and girls especially need to be encouraged to share their perspective because it helps other women.

    I went to an all girls high school and I think that experience helped me to learn how to communicate with women better, and taught me that what I had to say was important, even if it was different than what men said or thought.

  21. 22 Katebits September 21, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    And how much effort does it take for a team to put that on their website? None? Just slightly more than none? Seriously, it’s not hard, NHL.

    That’s what kind of gets me. It’s not that hard! Try shit out, sports media!

    I would love Sabres Cribs. I can baaarely STAND Derek Roy and I LOVE his Cribs! We got such a hilarious feel for the “real” Roy-Z from that little clip.

    Erin, i really think women yammering about sports is the key for me. I’d be reeeeally interested to see/hear what that would be like.

  22. 23 JB September 21, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    1. More and better information about the players. More profiles and goofy glimpses into their lives.
    2. More intelligent women involved in the broadcasts. These women should be interacting with each other. I think that’s what I’m really craving. I want to see and hear women talking about sports together- not just one lone woman as a part of a broadcast team trying to blend in.

    Kate you totally hit the nail on the head with this one… I always say to hubby that we should see more of them… more of themselves. Fans would love that… fans being women. I would so sit and watch Cribs… or even a 15 minute expose of one of them running through some personal but not personal dailies. Know what I mean? Some interesting tidbits… about them… we all know they can play hockey… and they cuss like truck drivers.

    My friends that are girls think I am completely whacked because I am hockey obsessed and hyped to the max about hockey. They look at me like I’m nuts and humor me when I talk to them about hockey. Then I just stop and they get a look of relief… so I turn to blogs and well men to get out my hockey talk… LOL!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


