Greetings!

Welcome to the Willful Caboose! *throws confetti*

If you are visiting The Willful Caboose for the first time, please, come in, come in!  Have a seat.  Can I get you a coffee? tea?  A glass of red wine and a xanax, perhaps?

If you are visiting TWC as part of your morning blog rounds, CHECK THIS OUT! Heather B and I are featured in the NHL preview section of The Buffalo News!

I KNOW!

I’ll write much more about the experience of being interviewed and photographed for an article later today, but first I wanted to welcome any newcomers.  Hi guys!

A few notes that will help the uninitiated get around TWC a little easier:

1. I call Ryan Miller “Crunchy”.  Don’t think about it too much.  Just let it happen.
2. There is a little section in the right sidebar called “My Favorite Posts”.  That might be a good place to start if you’ve never read my blog before.
3. Um, that’s it.  Now that I think about it, a blog is pretty self explanatory.

46 Responses to “Greetings!”


  1. 1 elise October 9, 2008 at 10:51 am

    OH MY!!!!!!!!!!! KATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE FAMOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 toontom October 9, 2008 at 10:55 am

    You guys deserve it. Two of the best and funniest hockey blogs ever.

  3. 3 markberm October 9, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Hey, Kate – Congratulations on the article! And thanks for becoming such a good friend to my better half.

    I am so proud of both of you. :-)

  4. 4 Jonathan October 9, 2008 at 11:02 am

    So Heathers last name is Bermingham and she’s from Birmingham, thats kinda cute.

    Nice article in the paper. But Kate, don’t let the News in too much farther. They are dark side.

    Beware the power of the Dark Side.

  5. 5 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Aw, thanks Mark! *wipes tear*

    Thank you toontom and elise!

  6. 6 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Don’t worry, Jonathan! I’ve used them to serve my purposes! I will now return to my regularly scheduled “march towards toppling THE MAN”. TBN is going down. :P

  7. 7 Pookie October 9, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Congratulations, Kate! I can’t believe it was only a year ago that we were plotting to take over the blogosphere, and now you’re in the MSM for blogging!

  8. 8 Kathee October 9, 2008 at 11:19 am

    That article just made me love you guys even more than I already did!

    And yes, this is one of my first morning stops. How else would I get my hockey-related news?

  9. 9 Caroline October 9, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Congrats on your article…TWC sure has come a long way!

  10. 10 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Congrats on your article…TWC sure has come a long way!

    I know! I’m kind of….confused. :P

    Thank you Kathee! I was pretty nervous about how this article would turn out, so I’m glad it’s okay.

    Pookie, at the risk of sounding cheesy or something, I really wish you guys were in the article with us! I’m nothing without you!

  11. 11 mcguffers October 9, 2008 at 11:52 am

    I have a mental picture of a certain player seeing that article, coming over here, and reading a post about him being a brain eating zombie, then going, “How did she find out?!”

  12. 12 Meg October 9, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Congrats on the article, Kate! It’s so nice to see the Buffalo News excercising such good taste. :D

  13. 13 Clare October 9, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I read The Willful Caboose everyday and just wanted to say congratulations on the article it is well deserved.

  14. 14 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    mcguffers, I’m pretty sure that particular Sabres can’t read. :P

    Thanks Meg and Clare!

  15. 15 Jonathan October 9, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Stafford read? He went to North Dakota he can’t read.

  16. 16 Kozyshank October 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Congrats on the article!!! I don’t foresee you going all rockstar or anything so just stay golden, ponyb…err..kate

  17. 17 Chaz October 9, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    You guys deserve it. Two of the best and funniest hockey blogs ever.

    Double Ditto! I love both of these blogs!

  18. 18 JB October 9, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    YAY!!! Maybe um “Crunchy” will read your blog… smooches Ryan we love you! Oh and I will take a Red Wine with a xanax please…

  19. 19 morgaine October 9, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    more wooooooo-hoooos from me to you and Heather! (i would leave some on Top Shelf as well, but i can no longer access any blogspot.com blogs from work – damned filters!) my Other Half and i are contemplating hitting a Feb. or March game; it would be great for this native to meet you two new natives for a refreshing beverage or two!

    but seriously, folks – you two rock the planet mightily. you can add me to the chorus of those who read your blogs first when running around the Sabrenet.

  20. 20 mcguffers October 9, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    mcguffers, I’m pretty sure that particular Sabres can’t read. :P

    What??!! Someone needs to tell those particular guys that Books are the Foundation of Reading!! WTF Gaustad? Get on it.

  21. 21 SlugLuva October 9, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Holy Cow! You guys are effing celebrities!!!!!!!!! Congratulations! How does it feel to be famous?

    Can I have an autograph?

  22. 22 Anne October 9, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Can your regular readers reap the rewards of the swag you’re probably going to get?!?

    Sabres Edge mentioned a lot of other blogs too, including us which was cool so I did a “hey there everyone” post and then I saw yours. I’m like “aw cripes, I’m a copycat”, hahahah.

    You’re so famous and you look so cute in the photo! yay!

  23. 23 Mary October 9, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Congrats about the article… you’re so famous now! Definitely worth the recognition! :)

  24. 24 danielleia October 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Congratulations! If it’s not overkill yet… That’s so fun!!! I would say something more but I really don’t know what else to say but hooray for repping the Buffalo Bloggers.

  25. 25 TheTick October 9, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    This rocks! :) Enjoy your fame!

    Anne, you also got linked by Puck Daddy at Yahoo!

  26. 26 Ang October 9, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    LOVED IT!!! So excited for you guys—-though till now i have only rolled Caboose style! WIll check out Top Shelf!
    Enjoy!

  27. 27 Rebecca October 9, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Awesome! How cool! That was a good article.

    Now I don’t have to stare at the viola section at BPO concerts anymore, wondering which one is you. (did that sound creepy? :-D)

  28. 28 Anne October 9, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Anne, you also got linked by Puck Daddy at Yahoo!

    SHUT UP! THAT’S AWESOME.

  29. 29 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    I had no choice but to go out into the world and run some errands and now I’m way behind in my thank yous!

    Kozyshank (I don’t know why, but you always end up in the spam filter. I keep fishing your comments, so hopefully the wordpress filter will learn), Chaz, JB, morgaine, Slugluva, Anne, Mary, Danielleia, Tick, Ang, and Rebecca THANK YOU!

    Seriously you guys, this has been a really fun day. I really appreciate all of your congratualations, but even more importantly, I thank you for reading and commenting here at TWC!

  30. 30 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 9, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Well, clearly, you’ve just sold out big-time to the News. I eagerly await the inevitable series of posts dedicated to praising the creative genius that is Bucky Gleason. Then we can all start whining endlessly in the comments about how much better TWC was back before Kate got all famous…

    (On another note, are you wearing makeup in that photo? I don’t know that I’ve ever seen that before…)

  31. 31 Amy October 9, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Congratulations on the article, Kate!

    Curious minds want to know though, what is your system for keeping track of scores during BPO concerts. I understand if its a “I’d tell you, but then I’d have to kill you” kind of thing.

  32. 32 Katebits October 9, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Sam at least twice a year you say to me, “Are you wearing MAKEUP?! I’ve never seen you wearing MAKEUP before.” :P But yes, I have sold out TOTALLY. Bucky is a really wonderful writer now.

    Amy, since I have already pushed my luck with my employers by revealing that we have an onstage score tracking system AND making a joke about pill popping in the local paper today, I think I shouldn’t reveal exactly how our system works. (Ask me again tomorrow. I’m hoping the “red wine and xanax” joke will have blown over by then. :P)

  33. 33 danielleia October 9, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    You musicians and your drugs…

  34. 34 pjf-usrt October 9, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, Kate. great article…..enjoy the moment:)

  35. 35 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 9, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Sam at least twice a year you say to me, “Are you wearing MAKEUP?! I’ve never seen you wearing MAKEUP before.” :P

    Y’know, now that you mention it, it does seem like something I’ve said before…

  36. 36 karen October 9, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I saw you at Sabres’ Edge!! It was totally cool! I was on the train (where I can read but can’t figure out how to comment from my phone) and I squealed and was all, “That’s Kate and Heather!” and the people I sit near all wished they had picked a different car. Too bad for them…KATE! And HEATHER! In the NEWS! :)

  37. 37 Valerie (aka blitzen) October 9, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    waydago! Katebits! You’re an inspiration to bloggers everywhere. My hero!

  38. 39 Shari October 9, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    So I’m on my lunch break and I get to the last page, and there’s Heather and Kate! I was like…..”GASP!!! I KNOW them!”
    Heather insisting she only likes Hank for his skills and personality and Kate showin a little cleavage! It is a very nice picture by the way.
    Congratulations you two! You’ve done a great job!!

  39. 40 JBo October 9, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Aww congrats Kate! *blows noise maker* That’s so awesome. You’ll be a regular B-Lo celebrity like the Sabres and the Goo Goo Dolls. *adjusts party hat* I read your blog everyday (I seriously mean EVERYDAY – it’s even saved to my phone’s browser) and if there isn’t anything new, I just go browsing. You and Heather write amazing stuff (yours is so much better but shh I didn’t say that). *blows noise maker again and sips some red wine* Mmm, is this the Sabres Red Wine? Cheers.

  40. 41 Heather B. October 9, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Heather insisting she only likes Hank for his skills and personality…

    I’m not sure what you’re implying here, Shari…

    :-D

  41. 42 Anne October 9, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    I’m not sure what you’re implying here, Shari…

    I seem to recall a Top Shelf post from recent days gone by in which a certain Swede’s glinty movie star smile was prominently featured in a “girl’s only” section…

  42. 43 Heather B. October 9, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Ohhhhhhh…. Right. Right-right-right. Okay then! :P

  43. 44 Grrrreg October 10, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Wooo! Congrats about your breakthrough in the MSM! This is really funny, and I hope this is gonna get you a lot of new readers, you truly deserve it.

    Aaaaaaaand now, it’s time or sabres and habs hockey! I’m so excited about the season opening for both of our teams. I hope you have a great time tonight.

    You know, reading this blog is really cool, but now, I’ve got to tell you I’m somewhat torn… Of course, I really just want the habs to win, but knowing you’ll be in the arena, I hope this is gonna be a spectacular game.

    This is really something great about hockey blogs. Now, I feel the same way about the devils. Until last season, I just wanted Montreal to mercilessly crush them. But now that I regularly read the Ookies, well, it’s a bit different!

    So, let’s just say I wish you a completely-non-devastating-and-surprisingly-enjoyable loss tonight! :)

  44. 45 Katebits October 10, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Thank you everyone!

    Grrreg, I also wish YOU a completely non devastating and surprisingly enjoyable loss tonight! :D

  45. 46 ReigningFrog October 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Kate, this is SO AWESOME!!! Congrats!

    Great pic of you, too! And Robin’s porch looks amazing.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


