10 Thoughts on Last Night’s Game

1. It’s too early to say for sure, but my new Sabres sweatshirt might be lucky, or at the very least it’s not possessed by bad demons (which is more than I can say for every single outfit I wore to the arena last season). Before this win, the Sabres had lost seven times in a row with me in attendance.  My losing streak has been broken, and now we can all move on with dignity and hope for the future.

2. I’m not really one for hardcore game analysis, but if I must: The Sabres rule.

3. Carey Price skates all over tarnation during the commercial breaks.  I kept looking down at his goal and wondering where he had wandered off to, and then I’d find him circling neurotically around in the corner, or talking to his teammates on the bench.  Crunchy just parks it in front of his goal during the stoppages.

4. Sigh.  I think it’s time to send Tim Connolly out to pasture.  I know of a wonderful farm where he can live.  It’s filled with tons of cool ex-NHLers and pretty puck bunnies, and Timmy can run and run, without any threat of injury.  He’ll be so happy.  It’s really for the best.  How does that old expression go?  “Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me 2 to 522 times, shame on me.”  Timmy is never ever going to be a functional NHL player.  Ever.

5. Have I mentioned that Dippin’ Dots are gone?

6. This has nothing to do with last night’s game in particular, but I really like how all the players seem very playoff oriented in interviews.  There is a lot of talk about “getting to the playoffs”.  Last year at this time, I think anything less than the Eastern Conference Finals would have been considered an unacceptable goal for the team.  There was almost no discussion of the idea that they might not make the playoffs.  The playoffs were assumed by almost everyone, including the fans.  Although it was never precisely articulated by of the players, I kind of got the feeling that their unofficial (and misguided) team goal was to prove to everyone in the NHL that they were still TOTALLY GOOD AT HOCKEY even without Briere and Drury. That was not a very helpful goal.  I think it bodes well that Lindy has trained everyone to say, “We have to make the playoffs” when asked.

7. The power play could use a little work.  Heh.

8. There were times in the game last night (particularly early on) when Thomas Vanek was all I could see on the ice.  He looked stronger and wilier than everyone else out there.  I’m not going to say anything more about this just in case this is a situation where any loud noises or sudden movements can scare him away.

9.  …speaking of loud noises.  All evening there was this periodic, very creepy, super low-pitched sound throughout the arena.  My guess is that it was some type of terrible feedback from the sound system.  Every fifteen minutes or so it would go on for about five seconds. It was one of those low rumbling noises that you can barely hear, but that you can feel with your body.  At first we figured that it was just the sound of HSBC Arena about to collapse in on itself, and then we decided they were trying to control our minds with sonic booms, and by the end of the game our discussion about it had been reduced to, “My brain feels like it’s going to explode”.  Either way, they have got to make that sound stop.

10.  Wow!  So, it looks like it’s going to be the Sabres and the Maple Leafs duking it out for the division title this year!  Who would have thought?

WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

8 Responses to “10 Thoughts on Last Night’s Game”


  1. 1 Becky October 11, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    – Maybe I can finally see a regular season win too! Did you get the blue sweatshirt with the little slug at the top? The one that was on sale?

    – When I told my son that Dippin’ Dots was gone he said “Who cares? They never had chocolate anyway.”

    – On Goose’s Roost they’re having a poll as to which of 3 less than consistent Sabres will still be with us next year. I crossed Connelly off of that list permanently last night. In fact, the second he’s healthy for a few games in a row they should trade him ASAP.

    I picked Max out of some misguided loyalty to my jersey, but I really believe it’s Kotalik who will be staying.

    Go Sabres!!!

  2. 2 Shari October 11, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Not only did you hear a freaky sound in the arena but it was also on our tv. I think it may have been half way through the first period when the screen was flipping and some strange bug noise was going on. First we had no sound or picture for which an apology flashed across the screen, and then we either had sound but no picture or the pic but no sound! Figures! We get a game in hi-def and that happens! But the Sabres won, Teppo is back, Timmy is still hurt (or going through re-hab) and Al is still hot.

  3. 3 Amy October 11, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Have I mentioned that Dippin’ Dots are gone?

    HSBC giveth (Diet Coke) and HSBC taketh away (the Dippin Dots). That makes me sad, since a trip down to the 100 level in search of the darn things was an essential part of going to a game.

    The power play could use a little work. Heh.

    Just a wee bit of work. Maybe a poor power play offsets the awesomeness that showed up in the shootout last night?

  4. 4 JBo October 11, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Ah, so I wasn’t the only one who kept hearing that noise. It was really bad, particularly towards the end of the shootout, because when we were chanting “Ole!” and screaming and cheering cos we totally stuck it to the Montreal fans, I almost fell over from a terrible terrible migrane. Mind you, I was screaming twice as loud than usual, which didn’t help, but I was positive that I kept hearing this strange noise but no one else around me did.

    Love the idea to send Tim down to the farm. He. Needs. To. GO.

    Ahh, Crunchy and his ever-not-moving. I love it so. So devoted, he is. The force is strong in that one.

  5. 5 danielleia October 12, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    #3: Carey must have a nervous bladder.

    #5: I prefer ice cream. I really need to get into Dippin’ Dots. I don’t like them and I feel as though I should because everyone raves about them. I just need help.

  6. 6 John M. October 12, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I think that was the dehumidifier or the ac or something which they had to turn on because it was warm outside. I sit right under one of those huge circular vents in the 300 level and every time that sound happened I felt a cool breeze. Maybe they installed some fancy new dehumidification system because I don’t remember ever hearing it before.

  7. 7 Katebits October 13, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Ah, that makes sense John, although the sound was so….physical. I can’t even imagine what it would feel like if the arena was empty. They HAVE to fix it even if it was just a sound from their dehumidifier.

  8. 8 Snidder October 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

    My friend gorges on Dippin Dots 40 times a year during the 2nd intermission. He was out of town for the first game…do I break the news to him or let him find out the grizzly truth in person?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


