Sabres @ Islanders 10/13/08

Pregame

Mood: So excited!  WOOOOO!  Obviously I had a great time at the game on Friday, but I am currently sitting on my couch in a bathrobe.  Until I can wear a bathrobe to the arena, hockey on television will always have a special place in my heart.  I can’t wait to hear RJ!  I can’t wait to boo Tim Connolly’s bad back from the comfort of my couch!  I can’t wait to see MIKE ROBITAILLE!
Favorite Sabre: It’s time I give my relationship with Thomas Vanek a chance.  Last season it was all, slag-faced-whore-this, and lazy-asshole-that.  Clean slate, baby!
Least Favorite Sabre: I really can’t imagine Tim Connolly ever getting back into my good graces….poor gimpy dude.
Item representing my hope for this game/season: mysterious old key

Old Key

This could be the key that opens the door to a magical secret garden of hot diggetty tra la la fist bump WOOOOOO…..or it could be the key to the horrible cold dank cellar where we will reside, cold and afraid,  all season.

Prediction: I am debilitatingly (is that a word?) superstitious, but I’m throwing caution to the wind today.  The Sabres are going to win this one! Let’s go Buff-a-lo! UPDATE: Whaaaa?  Lalime already?  Okay.  Recent history has taught me to be very afraid of backup goaltenders, but I’ll try to be brave.

After the 1st (1-0, Sabres)

Summary of 1st period action:

-Worst. Anthem. Ever.
-Poor Crunchy has to sit all alone in the hallway!
-At the end of a power play that was SO BAD that I totally forgot it even was a Sabres power play, Yo-Yo hilarious banks one off MacDonald from behind the net. (1-0)
– I think I could hear Heather’s screams of outrage from 5 miles away after Comrie crosschecks and then punches Hank from behind.  Sadly, Comrie’s shenanigans leave the Sabres with a four minute power play in which to look like idiots.

Mood: Good thing the Islanders suck!  WOOOOO!!
Favorite Sabre: I miss Goose.
Least Favorite Sabre: Oh, Roy-Z. sigh.
Item representing my hopes for this game/season: mysterious safe deposit box

Safe Deposit Box

This bodes well.  (Granted, that box might contain a severed head or something.)

After the 2nd (5-0, Sabres)

Summary of 2nd period action: AAAAAAAAHAHAHA!  The Islanders BLOW.  The Islanders spend the first half of the period giving the puck to the Sabres for easy goals, then, they try to fight and wind up allowing Craig Rivet and Adam Mair to beat everyone up.  Everyone gets a goal!
Mood: Deeeeelighted.
Favorite Sabre: Before the Islanders self destructed, Patrick Lalime had to make a few foxy saves- which he did with aplomb.
Least Favorite Sabre:  Aw, I love ’em all.  (Except Roy-Z.  Heh.)
Item representing my hopes for this game/season: mysterious map

image_230_1

Maybe if we follow this mysterious treasure map it will lead us to an NHL schedule where we get to play the Islanders 82 times a year!

At the end (7-1, Sabres)

Well, that was a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

11 Responses to “Sabres @ Islanders 10/13/08”


  1. 1 markberm October 13, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I hate to be a buzz killer, but I don’t think Mike is going to be on the road games nor Rob.

    But we’re still gonna kick butt!

  2. 2 Katebits October 13, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    I am very sad about no Mike. Boo.

  3. 3 Pookie October 13, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    No, the Islanders don’t suck! The Sabres rock! (I say this because I’m trying to feel good about the Devils beating the Islanders on Friday.) Until the Islanders aren’t playing one of our teams, let’s pretend they’re the greatest team ever, shall we? :D

  4. 4 Katebits October 13, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    This is the best game ever! The Sabres are HOCKEY GENIUSES!

  5. 5 Mags October 13, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    With all due respect Kate, that box ain’t so big. You’re probably going to find a shrunken head in there.

    That said, this game is AWESOME!

  6. 6 Chaz October 13, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    OMG, I gave my nephew that map. He’s 5 and wants to be a pirate. I’m sure he’ll loan it to the Sabres, cause he’s down like that.

  7. 7 Shari October 13, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    What a great game! Kotalik must really wanna stay here. I think I saw him really working out there today. Nice little piece Maria did on the “feeling” side of Al. I think I’m in love. : }

  8. 8 Jill October 14, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Poor Millsie all by himself with the Ice Girls… I am sure he was bumming… LOL! And how about Comrie waving the “white flag”? I gave him an award on my site…

  9. 10 Patty (in Dallas) October 14, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I’m so glad your recaps are back! Very funny. This game racked me up a lot of fantasy points!

  10. 11 evanj11 October 21, 2008 at 12:59 am

    “mysterious old key” hahaha, that’s good.

    Sabres have been looking good so far. But like the Wild they tend to be sluggish in the beginning. We’ll get to see Vanek go up against Backstrom though(both NHL stars of the week).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


