3 Things

1. Thomas Vanek is now on pace to score 137 goals.  Heh….nice.

2. My post last night didn’t quite reflect how happy I felt after the Rangers game.  I would like to take a moment, twenty four hours later, to say WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  That was exactly the kind of game the Sabres ALWAYS lost last season, and seeing them win was great. Some people believe that you shouldn’t get too high after a win, or too low after a loss.  I think that’s bullhonky.  My personal fan-style is to lose all perspective 82 times a year.  That’s just how I roll.

3.  I’ve heard a lot of talk on the radio and in blogs about the Sabres being a “defensive minded” team this year.  If “defensive minded” means that the other team doesn’t get to waltz right up to Crunchy and shoot at him point blank, then I am ALL for the Sabres being defensive minded.  Granted, I missed out on the whole “run and gun” phase of the Buffalo Sabres, but golly, whatever phase they were in last year needed some tweaking. Perhaps there’s a style of system between run-and-gun and trapping, and that can be what we play.  We can call it, run-trap-and-gun hockey.  Doesn’t that sound like a scary system?   I’d totally stick to that system if given the opportunity.

4 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Jaime October 17, 2008 at 8:47 am

    run-trap-and-gun hockey

    I feel like the team would be skating around in either neon orange or camo and hunting th other teams down!

  2. 2 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I know Jaime! The other team would be terrified! :P

  3. 3 TheTick October 17, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Do we have enough French-Canadiens to be our trappers?

    /historical humor

  4. 4 toontom October 17, 2008 at 11:02 am

    I think the message Lindy is giving these guys is “offense comes from good defense.” In other words, take care of your own zone and you’ll create good opportunities in theirs. This season will prove why Lindy is simply the best coach in hockey.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


