Sabres vs. Canucks 10/17/08

Pregame

I finally got around to watching the Project Runway finale.  I’ve been pretty busy the last few days, and because I accidentally encountered a spoiler online (thanks a LOT, Anne) I wasn’t feeling a lot of urgency to sit down and watch Kenley finally get eliminated.  Like I frequently do when it comes to reality television, at the last minute I had a burst of weird affection for the “villain”.  Say what you want about Kenley, but she’s a damn good character, and truthfully I like her kicky style.  I love project Runway, you guys.  I love that it’s made a star out of a sweet weirdo like Tim Gunn.  I love that it has showcased the likes of Santino, and Kenley, and that dude with the neck tattoo.  I love Korto and her bodacious ass. I love that Leanne, a mousy, passive-aggressive hippie who doesn’t appear to have washed or brushed her hair in three months won the whole kit and caboodle.
Mood: Fabulous.  I’m fabulous, you’re fabulous, the Sabres are fabulous, everything is FABULOUS!
Favorite Sabre: I swear to GOD that Thomas Vanek is getting hotter.  I’m not saying he’s hotter because of his playing, I mean it quite literally when I say he’s better looking now.  I’m wondering if Tim Gunn got to him and gave him some pointers about editing out his crappy playing and improving his game by emphasising his beautiful silhouette.  I dunno.  Thomas is making it work.  That’s all I’m saying.
Least Favorite Sabre: Tim Connolly, you are out.  Auf Wiedersehn.
Project Runway dress representing my hope for this game: Korto’s blue dress from her final collection.

Pregame dress

Simple.  Awesome.  Not slag-faced whorey.

Prediction: I think this will be one of those games where the Sabres think they are going to get a simple, straight forward challenge, and instead they find out they are going to have to make a dress out of medical supplies or something else totally redonk.

After the 1st (3-0, Sabres)

Summary of 1st period events: Scoring at will!  Two power play goals!  Patrick Kaleta is reeeeally annoying for the other team!  Roy-Z, what are you doing down there underneath the Vancouver bench getting beat up?!  MIKE ROBITAILLE!!!!!!
Mood: AAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHA!!
Favorite Sabre: In Tim Gunn voice: “I’m just so proud of all of you designers players.  You’ve all come so far, and I believe in each and every one of you……”
Least Favorite Sabre: Still in Tim Gunn voice, “…..but Patrick Kaleta, you’re going to have to stop turtling sooner or later.  You’re making me nervous.  Just make it work.  Carry on.”
Project Runway dress representing this game so far: Joe’s drag queen sailor suit.

Joe

This game is a bawdy good time.

After the 2nd (4-1, Sabres)

Summary of 2nd period events: A lot of crazy swirling around.  The Canucks scored, but so did Vanek (because he’s making it work).
Mood: Frankly, I’m a little stunned at this point.  I don’t think the Sabres had four good games in a row all of last season.  Who are these guys?  I don’t know how to blog about a good hockey team. (NOT THAT I’M COMPLAINING.)
Favorite Sabre: Crunchy’s dorky little turtleneck/neck guard thing is making me giggle.  It makes his neck look like a toothpick.  Make it work, Crunchy.
Least Favorite Sabre: At least I still have Tim Connolly to hate.
Project Runway dress representing this game so far: Jerrell’s little dress from Bryant Park.

jerell_final_09

The second period was kind of wacky, but ultimately enjoyable.

At the end (5-2, Sabres)

Summary of 3rd period events: General badassery + Thomas Vanek and Ales Kotalik  + funniest goal celebration the world has ever seen = awesome
Mood: psyched
Favorite Sabre: Thomas Vanek is….a different man.  A better man.  A foxier man.
Least Favorite Sabre:  Yo-Yo, Goose, hurry up with your finger rehab.  I need you back on the ice.  I’m falling in love with Thomas Vanek and it’s freaking me out.
Project Runway dress representing this game: Leanne’s wedding dress

leanne_final_14

This game was beautiful AND it had relaxing pockets.

30 Responses to “Sabres vs. Canucks 10/17/08”


  1. 1 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    WHAT A FIRST PERIOD!!!!

    Spacek scores! Kaleta turtles again and draws another double-minor! Peters WINS a fight! Mair Scores! The General scores! Max backchecks with a fury and provides backup for Teppo!

    Who took my team and replaced them with AWESOME?!?!?!

  2. 2 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    **correction** Ales scores (not Mair)!!!

  3. 3 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Ok, the last 2:30 of that period looked pretty weak, but I’d have to say that’s the single best period we’ve seen so far. THIS is what the run-and-gun-era Sabres looked like (but with somewhat less effective defense)!

  4. 4 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I KNOW MATT! THIS IS INSANE! WOOOOOOO!!!

  5. 5 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    (and just when I was wondering if I was going to talk to myself all night…)

  6. 6 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Sorry! I was scrambling around trying to find a good picture.

    Shoot. I hope they don’t get sloppy now. Come one Sabres! Don’t get cocky!

  7. 7 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    I’m kinda nervous now.

  8. 8 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Eh, this is normal. SUPER-SUPER period followed by somewhat sloppy start to the next that ends in a respectable by not fantastic fashion. We’re in for a boring third….

  9. 9 Matt October 17, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    The Linesman drops Kaleta? WTF?

  10. 10 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Vanek is completely out of control.

  11. 11 alix October 17, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    This game is freakin crazy at the moment. Sigh. My team needs to be fired.

    And I hate Thomas Vanek. (but secretly kind of love him)

  12. 12 alix October 17, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Oh and I just hate Kaleta. No secret love for that one.

  13. 13 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I can’t say I blame you for hating Kaleta, alix. He’s kind of a little bitch.

    I’m sorry to say it, but your team is really bad a shooting! This game would be tied (or at least a lot closer) if they could hit the net!

  14. 14 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Oh and I just hate Kaleta. No secret love for that one.

    Maybe I missed something, but why does everybody hate Kaleta? I understand Marra wanted revenge for the late hit that cost him a lot of pain and a season, but who else owes him? Nobody I can think of…

  15. 15 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    There are certain things I miss out on by not having the WNY feeds. For example, I don’t get colonoscopy commercials…. or the hysterical Blue Light commercials **shoop** **shoop**

    Man, I miss living in NY state…

  16. 16 alix October 17, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I’m sorry to say it, but your team is really bad a shooting! This game would be tied (or at least a lot closer) if they could hit the net!

    Don’t I know ir! *Sigh* And I’m kind of bummed I didn’t get to see shaky Crunchy tonight :P

    Maybe I missed something, but why does everybody hate Kaleta?

    I think it might be the whole hitting late thing, and then being a little bitch and not even fighting after it. Just a guess.

  17. 17 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    There’s some shaky Cruncny for you, alix. BOOO!

    Matt, I want to love Kaleta, because I can see how his play is effective for the Sabres, but he is so….I dunno. I just don’t knwo about him.

  18. 18 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    I think it might be the whole hitting late thing, and then being a little bitch and not even fighting after it. Just a guess.

    I would certainly allow that the Marra hit was late last season, but not fighting? My memory says he’s been ready and willing to any takers… but maybe that has a lot to do with my memory saying Peters was not the enforcer he should have been.

  19. 19 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    His fighting is not in proportion to his taunting I don’t think. He needs to be able to back himself up if he’s going to be such a pest. (Listen to me! I’m supposed to be a peace loving hippie!)

  20. 20 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    His fighting is not in proportion to his taunting I don’t think.

    See, this is what the Hippy’s don’t understand! Kaleta isn’t out taunting people… he’s out laying the body in his opponents. Now, are they harder/heavier than normal? Certainly! But is it taunting? I think not.

  21. 21 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Except of course that penalty for diving.

  22. 22 JBo October 17, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    *grumbles and crumples a piece of paper*
    I HATE Steve Bernier. Grr.

  23. 23 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Oh, Staffy! You’re fired! (jk)

  24. 24 Matt October 17, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I HATE Steve Bernier. Grr.

    If I had lived in Buffalo at the time, I really might have been one of the few buying a Bernier jersey. He’s cool, trust me!

  25. 25 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

  26. 26 markberm October 17, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Kate, I’m pretty much in awe at our great play so far this season too. It’s like we forgot how much winning hockey can feel! And so far it’s better than two years ago, because that team got away with talent and minimal effort and so far this year our boys have been playing like they’re possessed. I think missing the playoffs really did bother them a little :)

    By the way, Heather fell asleep halfway through the game and missed some major Thomas V. Mojo. I feel bad for her! The guy is an absolute beast. Every time he touches the puck, something awesome happens.

    And on Kaleta – I know some of the things he does is questionable but I just love his vicious play. If you listen to Lindy’s post game PC, he doesn’t want him to retaliate when it’s not necessary.

  27. 27 Katebits October 17, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Mark, I don’t even know how to QUANTIFY how much I love Vanek right now. Tonight I resorted to squawking “GIVE THE PUCK TO VANEK” every time he was on the ice. You are absolutely right, every time he touches the puck something happens. I’ve never seen a player on fire like this.

  28. 28 Shari October 17, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    My husband has had a huuuge man crush on Kaleta. At training camp, he kept skating to where we were sitting and one to many times he shot the puck at the glass in front of us. Kaleta has man crush radar.
    Teppo I still love you but I’ve been falling for Ales. That’s just how it is.
    Staffy WTF??
    GO SABRES! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  29. 29 Anne October 18, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Kate I FAIL!!!

    but WOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    I’m sickeningly in love with Thomas Vanek ad I think its messing with my chi or something. My hair is shinier, the sky looks bluer… its just an all around happy, but unfamiliar, place.

  30. 30 Gambler October 18, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Hey, you know what’s even better than having Vanek on your team? Having him on your team AND having him on your fantasy team! WOO! I’m getting double the beast! (And it’s a good thing, too, because the rest of team Look at these Hobos? Well, they’re kind of… hobos.)

    Also, I would like to point out that I loved him all last season, too. Crazily and not a little irrationally, but still. I just knew he had this kind of mojo in him.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


