Drunk Schedulers

Um, are the Sabres ever going to play again?  I feel like I haven’t seen them in a month.

When I realized there was no Sabres game tonight I went to the Sabres website to investigate.  When ARE they playing?  Here is what I found:

scheduleThis is an effed up looking schedule.

What’s with all the back-to-backs, NHL schedulers?  This schedule is dumb.  Boo.

19 Responses to “Drunk Schedulers”


  1. 1 JB November 6, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Kate did you look at Januarys yet? The amount of away games is ick…

  2. 2 Sarah November 6, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    I’m just grateful for no games on Sundays. I couldn’t imagine splitting my time between watching the Bills downward spiral into mediocrity and the Sabres winning and/or losing in fine fashion. Side note, I found my jar of Pecas Pickles last week in my attic. Think I could sell it on Ebay?

  3. 3 Katebits November 6, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    JB, I forgot about January! Why is our schedule so lame! (And I should admit here that I hate Saturday games because I almost always work on Saturday night. I strongly prefer a heavy weeknight rotation. I know I’m probably in the minority on that one.) 3 out of 4 of those back-to-backs involve a night of travel too. It’s not fair!

    Sarah, I love that you have Peca Pickles in your attic! You should never sell them! Cherish them always! :D

  4. 4 Caroline November 6, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Yeah, that’s a pretty bad schedule. All those breaks and then those back-to-backs. At least it’s consistent, they’ll all be pretty used to 3 days off, hockey, day off, and back-to-back games. Lather, rinse, repeat.

  5. 5 Cat November 6, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    The Stars have had three back-to-backs so far this season, with one this weekend too. I LOATHE back-to-backs. They make me nervous.

  6. 6 John M. November 7, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Sorry…I knew it was Tsujimoto who originally posted it. If commenting was graded I’d get an F for not citing sources correctly. For shame. :(

  7. 7 John M. November 7, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Doubly so apparently, since I commented on the wrong post as well!

  8. 8 alix November 7, 2008 at 2:26 am

    3 out of 4 of those back-to-backs involve a night of travel too. It’s not fair!

    Welcome to the Western conference :) But for reals, I am sorry Sabres. That’s brutal. I think the schedulers smoke a lot of weed and then point a monkey at a dart board to figure out the schedules.

  9. 9 Glenn November 7, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Hey Kate, didja notice that their schedule kind of resembles ours for November? Lots of weeks with nothing early in the week and then a whole lotta work on the weekends? Hmmmm….just more proof that the Sabres are showing solidarity with their official Orchestra!

  10. 10 Amy November 7, 2008 at 10:11 am

    While I think the NHL needs to put the scheduling crack pipe down, I do like that there are a lot of Friday/Saturday games. Those two nights are usually the nights where there’s nothing on TV, so a game is a nice distraction.

    At least there’s no Sabres game on 11/17, which is when the Bills play on Monday Night Football. Could you imagine the amount of station flipping that would happen if the Sabres and Bills were up against each other that night? Remotes across WNY would be breaking under the strain.

    Did anyone else realize that by the time November is over, we will have played Boston 4 times? Who did the fans upset to deserve that?

  11. 11 Chaz November 7, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I can’t complain. It’s like the Sabres KNEW I wouldn’t be able to watch games during the week (cause I have no cable) and scheduled them all on the weekends when I’ll be back in the land of the living! Thanks Sabres!

  12. 12 Guy Le Douche November 7, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Follow the money. A lot more dough to be made on weekend games (beer, higher variable prices, customers ample free time), than during the week. Schedule is grueling, but these guys are young men making a lot of money.

  13. 13 Kozyshank November 7, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    On an unrelated note, I suggest you start to warm up the Nathan Gerbe bandwagon. However, in his case it might be a clown car, either way there is plenty of room. This kid is tearing it up in Portland.

  14. 14 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Guy Le Douche (if that IS your real name), that is a very good point.

    Aw, Chaz, I’m glad the Sabres were looking out for you! How is your move going?

    Amy, I noticed all those Bruins games, and my feeling is that it’s good to get them all over with at once. Like ripping off a bandaid.

    Glenn, hm. Interesting theory.

    Alix, hee! I was WONDERING who would show up from the Western Conference to tell us to stop our bitching! :D The Scheduling Monkey is nutso.

    John M, all is forgiven. I should have emailed you before I posted the picture. My bad.

    Cat, I hear ya.

    Caroline, I think this “lather, rinse, repeat” thing has some merit. From what I can gather, our beloved Sabres are none too bright. Repetition probably IS good for them.

  15. 15 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Kozyshank, I’m ready for itty bitty Gerbe, but I’m afraid for Staffy!

  16. 16 Chaz November 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Thanks Katebits! At least they were thinking of someone. LOL!

    All of my stuff is in storage which means I got it all packed in time. I have one more Sunday-Thursday with no internet or TV before I’m back in the real world permanently. I can check the cool websites, like yours, from work, but can’t get into mail. So every couple of nights, I head over to the Wegman’s Cafe for the free wifi. =) If I wasn’t close enough to head to my parents on the weekends, I most likely would have jumped off a bridge by now. I can find something to do for a couple hours to occupy myself, but a whole day, oye.

  17. 17 Chaz November 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Kozyshank, I’m ready for itty bitty Gerbe, but I’m afraid for Staffy!

    Isn’t that backwards? I’m afraid Staffy’s going to eat itty bitty Gerbe!

  18. 18 JB November 7, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I think the NHL schedulers are not only drunk but are Sabre haters.


  1. 1 Friday Links! « First Time Caller, Long Time Listener Trackback on November 7, 2008 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


