My Favorite Mistake

Last night at the game, I had a major revelation. I discovered something about my hockey-self, and I’d like to share it with you.

I LOVE it when a goalie mishandles the puck.  Love. It.

I even love it when Crunchy does it.  I have a memory from last season (perhaps the game they were in San Jose and Joe Thorton went psycho on Spacek) when the Sabres were up by a considerable number of goals, and Crunchy decided that now would be a good time to skate half way up the ice to play the puck, only he somehow managed to fall down on the way out and one of the opposing players just scooted up, snatched the puck, and plopped it into the open net.  I laughed my ass off at Crunchy that night.

I don’t like it when the goalie allows a slow moving puck to skitter in past him while he’s in the net. That’s not funny.  That’s kind of sad.  What I like is when the goalie skates far away from the net and then loses all control of the situation.  There is always a magnificent moment where the goalie realizes he’s in big trouble, panics, and then hilarity ensues.  Usually it involves the goalie comically sprawled out while a skater deftly zips around him to get access to an open net.

I ask you, is there anything funnier in hockey than a tweeked out goalie who is WAY out of position and wearing 10 tons of cumbersome equipment, frantically attempting to outmaneuver a forward?  No.  There is not.

(Yes, I know the Trapezoid Rule was installed to stifle the puck handling skillz of Marty Brodeur in an attempt to free hockey from the snoozy effects of the trapping system, but it has also stifled the NHL blooper reels.  Let the goalies roam free, I say!  It’s funny when they meander about! Free the goalies!)

13 Responses to “My Favorite Mistake”


  1. 1 Caroline November 13, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I agree with you Katebits. Most fans want to find out where said goalie lives so they can murder them in their sleep when that happens, but I always want to buy them a beer and thank them for the laughs. I also love it when goalies go batshit crazy. They’re already whacky to begin with, but when they just…snap, I love it. Especially when a calm and cool goalie like Ryan Miller loses it. Perfect.

  2. 2 JB November 13, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I like it when other goalies go nuts… Like for example… Robert Esche… I remember that game… I think the Sabres scored like 7 goals and he went MAD… as Caroline put it batshit crazy! I gotta find a video… LMAO!

    Ryan is SCARY when he gets mad. I wouldn’t want to piss him off. He gets that devil look in his eyes… like he is going to tear the heads off everyone and is hungry for more.

  3. 3 JBo November 13, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Yeah, I remember that San Jose game. I too laughed my ass off. But who other than VANEK of all people would have missed that wide open net last night? No one, that’s who. :) I still love him.

  4. 4 JBo November 13, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    That really WAS the cutest goal celebration…that little shimmy-shimmy-“heyyy” that he did. I love Hank. :)

  5. 5 JBo November 13, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Oops – sorry; meant to post that last comment on the other post, hehe.

  6. 6 Becky November 13, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I was thinking of that Vanek clang off the pole of an open net too! They didn’t show his mouth making “F” words afterward either this time.

  7. 7 Valerie (aka blitzen) November 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Here’s a link to a goal where the goalie comes out of the net to challenge Peter Schaefer so Schaefer flips the puck OVER the goalie and tips it into the empty net.

    Not sure how to make the link actually work from a comment. Sorry.

  8. 9 Matt November 13, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I ask you, is there anything funnier in hockey than a tweeked out goalie who is WAY out of position and wearing 10 tons of cumbersome equipment, frantically attempting to outmaneuver a forward? No. There is not.

    I like to think they look like little terriers trapped in a big burlap sack…

  9. 10 Katebits November 13, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Wow! Valerie, that clip is AWESOME! I just watched it like ten times!

    I like to think they look like little terriers trapped in a big burlap sack…

    :^:::::::::::::::::: Totally. It’s so delightfully unnatural.

  10. 11 Jael November 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    You are not alone in this. I laughed out LOUD at Ryan Miller when he got that own goal. Out loud.

    It also amuses me to no end that, now, if I type “Ryan Miller” into Google, the fourth suggestion down is “ryan miller scores on himself.” If I type it into YouTube, that’s the FIRST suggestion. I love Ryan Miller, but…. he’s not the best at puck-handling.

    If I laugh when our own goalie does stupid things… you can bet I laugh for a good five minutes straight when another one does.

    What I like is when the goalie skates far away from the net and then loses all control of the situation. There is always a magnificent moment where the goalie realizes he’s in big trouble, panics, and then hilarity ensues. Usually it involves the goalie comically sprawled out while a skater deftly zips around him to get access to an open net.

    Exactamente.

  11. 12 Amy November 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I remember that Hasek was particularly fond of the “I’m going to sprint out of my crease, dive and then try to sprint back gracefully” maneuver.

    I love Ryan Miller, but…. he’s not the best at puck-handling.

    Ironically enough, Miller was ranked high on puck handling when he was drafted.

  12. 13 TheTick November 14, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Best ‘Wandering Goalie’ moments.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


