Blog Stats

I discovered something wonderful in my blog stats today.

Here is a screen shot of a portion of the list of all time search engine terms used to find The Willful Caboose. Meaning, people have typed these things into Google, and then followed a link back to this blog from the resulting search list.  This small list is part of a much, much longer list that is written in descending order of the number of times each search term was used.

picture-3

best list ever

To my great delight, the search term “monkey hugging bird” brings slightly more visitors to TWC than “Tim Connolly,” but slightly fewer visitors than “Derek Roy”.  That seems about right.

Is it crazy that I am incredibly proud right now?

17 Responses to “Blog Stats”


  1. 1 Caroline November 17, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t jealous that people are finding your blog when they search for “monkey hugging bird” on Google. Be proud, be very proud. Makes me wonder, which Sabre best fits the title as a “monkey hugging bird”? Hmm…

  2. 2 Glenn November 18, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Hells no, Kate….be PROUD, damnit!

  3. 3 karen November 18, 2008 at 2:31 am

    So, of course I typed “monkey hugging bird” into Google right away…you came up third! I clicked over to your site using the link in case it would help raise your standing.

  4. 4 Jael November 18, 2008 at 2:58 am

    That is so awesome.

    The best I’ve got is “patrick kaleta cousin.” Now, while that is awesome because Kaleta is totally my fav… It’s boring.

  5. 5 Grrrreg November 18, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Well Kate, I’m not surprised at all. This blog is clearly my favourite resource when it comes to monkeys hugging birds (or other pets). This is where I always come when I want to know the latest developments on this topic, and I’m never disappointed.

    By the way, I think the “Bird Hugging Monkeys” will be a fantastic name for your next fantasy team. :P

  6. 6 Amy November 18, 2008 at 9:22 am

    which Sabre best fits the title as a “monkey hugging bird”?

    It’s probably Spacek.

  7. 7 Jaime November 18, 2008 at 9:43 am

    It’s probably Spacek

    That’s hilarious pigeons!

  8. 8 Schnookie November 18, 2008 at 10:07 am

    This is fantastic! You know, I was just thinking yesterday about the monkey-hugging-bird picture… I guess I wasn’t the only one!

  9. 9 Katebits November 18, 2008 at 10:16 am

    By the way, I think the “Bird Hugging Monkeys” will be a fantastic name for your next fantasy team.

    Ha! You are probably right. “Fancybits” sure isn’t inspiring my troops is it, Greg. :P

    Thanks for your help, Karen! Every little click counts! :D

  10. 10 toontom November 18, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Kate, if you type in “blobby hockey” you come up number one.

  11. 11 mcguffers November 18, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Oddly enough, I think that’s the same order the NHL All Star Votes have been coming in (well, if Tim Connolly were on the ballot of course.) Now if the Monkey Hugging Bird was a Canadien, he’d be topping the list hands down.

  12. 12 mcguffers November 18, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    sheesh, I just realized I put “Tim Connolly were.” Maybe the Monkey can teach me grammar.

  13. 13 morgaine November 18, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    mcguffers, “were” is correct in that context! it’s the subjunctive; a condition contrary to fact. (exactly how contrary it would be to have Timmeh on the ballot i will decline to discuss)

    this has been brought to you by “grammar R me.”

  14. 14 Mags November 18, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Kate, I think pride is the only right response to that list. It’s awesome! And I do browse to that “monkey hugging bird” picture every once in a while, when I need a pick me up. It’s so sweet :D. Thanks Kate, for putting that out there.

  15. 15 Katebits November 18, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    The monkey and his bird really are kind of magical, aren’t they Mags? :D

  16. 16 Patty (in Dallas) November 19, 2008 at 12:36 am

    I’m jealous of your search terms! Mine are mostly related to killing.

  17. 17 Anne November 19, 2008 at 2:19 am

    I’m jealous of your search terms! Mine are mostly related to killing.

    Ha, I literally lol’d at that. I never thought of that. I wonder how many zoo related searches Alix gets?

    I reformatted our blog so now our analytics code is screwed up and according to that we haven’t had a visitor in like 2 weeks. Whoops.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


