Sorrow

It might have to be Lindy.

30 Responses to “Sorrow”


  1. 1 KozyShank December 4, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    There is an upside to this….for me atleast
    I clean when I get mad
    My kitchen is usually spotless after Sabres games

    I want to see bacon grease on the stove again Kate!!!!!

  2. 2 Katebits December 4, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hee! You better make some bacon then, KozyShank!

  3. 3 Ang December 4, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    maybe we can get a two-fer…. Lindy and Dick can carpool outta town!

  4. 4 Phil December 4, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    OMG, KozyShank, me too!

    That second intermission had me scrubbing the grout!

    I don’t wanna see Lindy carpool outta town…he’d be an INCREDIBLY general manager!

  5. 5 Anne December 5, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I just can’t even think about how sad I’d be.

    It’d be like Mommy getting a new boyfriend after Daddy left.

    I don’t want to lose Lindy :(

    I also don’t want to lose more games.

    We in Buffalo are too sentimental. If it has to be Lindy… it has to be Lindy.

  6. 6 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 12:21 am

    That’s kind of where I am too, Anne. I am so so so sad, but….if it has to be Lindy, it has to be Lindy. We signed this core group of players for a LONG TIME. They HAVE to play better than this.

    It’s probably not even worth thinking about because it’s impossible to imagine Darcy firing Lindy.

  7. 7 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Darcy is NEVER going to fire Lindy. You can take how loyal he is to his players and times it by a million and you still won’t be in the neighborhood of how loyal Darcy is to Lindy. The only way Lindy leaves Buffalo before his contract is up is if he asks to be released. That’s it. (I know you probably know this, I’m just blowing hot air.) Honestly, I’m getting to the point where I feel a little bad for Lindy. How frustrating must it be to stand up and say the same thing over and over and over and over to the same group of players? Free Lindy!

  8. 8 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Maybe he’ll quit, Heather. I feel bad for him too. I LOVE Lindy. But I have given up all hope that he can turn this group of guys around. They need a MAJOR shake-up, and they need it soon. So, if it’s not Lindy, it has to be a big line-up change….and that is just SO hard to pull off. Lindy is the easiest and most dramatic change they could make. But you’re right. Darcy would never do it. I’d say fire Darcy, but then we’d be left with Larry Quinn in charge and that is a seriously scary idea.

  9. 9 Erin December 5, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I regretfully have to agree. I don’t know what is poisioning this team right now but its obvious that they aren’t getting what they need. How can such a high scoring team be scoring so little? The talent that we do have is being stifled not utilized. I’m lying awake thinking about it.

  10. 10 Erin December 5, 2008 at 1:33 am

    I typed something longer but I think my blackberry ate it. I’m lying in bed with my husband and dogs and just feeling crushed. I don’t know what’s wrong with this team but I unfortunately have to agree that Lindy might not be able to get the job done.

  11. 11 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 1:55 am

    I hear ya, Erin. This blows. Hard. Last season I appreciated Darcy’s cautious nature because I felt so attached to the team as it is…but this year? I just want them to stop being so lifeless.

  12. 12 Schnookie December 5, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I really think Tortorella’s the way to go here… :P

  13. 13 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 2:15 am

    TOO SOON, SCHNOOKIE! We are MANY STEPS away from “acceptance”!!!! :P

  14. 14 Pookie December 5, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Torts will make you get to acceptance or you’ll be skating laps!

  15. 15 Schnookie December 5, 2008 at 10:31 am

    TOO SOON, SCHNOOKIE! We are MANY STEPS away from “acceptance”!!!!

    Hey, sometimes life thrusts your proverbial Scott Clemmensen on you and there’s nothing you can do but soldier on. And Pookie’s right — Torts’s unique brand of tough love will be just the thing to get you through the jarring transition. :P

  16. 16 Anne December 5, 2008 at 11:02 am

    I can’t imagine Darcy firing Lindy either, but he doesn’t have to, Tom Golisano is the one holding the trump card. If he and the other minority owners decide Lindy is out, then that’s all it takes.

    Hey! Ted Nolan is free!

    (too soon?)

  17. 17 S.Tooth December 5, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I don’t think this team is built to play Lindy’s system. It’s just that simple. Lindy’s system is built for guys like Curtis Brown, Mike Peca, Vaclav Varada and Dixon Ward. Watching this Sabres team lately is like watching a caged cheetah at the zoo. So either the system changes or the players do.
    By the way, I think that Lindy’s system would work in this post-post-lockout era. It’s just that the personnel is not at all meant to play that system. It’s meant to score off the rush and skate fast.
    I’ve heard that Lindy might want out anyway.

  18. 18 danielleia December 5, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Nooooooo!!!!! That was the most depressing comment section. :(

  19. 19 Erin December 5, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I totally agree with S.Tooth. The system might be okay for some but it’s just suffocating all of the fun and good attributes of our team. Hey, remember Jason Pominville? Remember how he used to score goals and was one of the only heros we had last year? Do you think his talent leaked out over the summer? I don’t. He’s being asked to do things that he’s okay at, but not great at.

    I’m starting to feel bad for the players. Their talents are going to waste because they are being crammed into a ‘system’ that wasn’t intended for them.

  20. 20 Phil December 5, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I’d like to take a look at the first handful of games from this season. That was Lindy’s system to a T. Now they don’t play that way at all. I agree that Lindy needs to get results or get worried, but…

    I smell a rat…or a mutiny…in the locker room

  21. 21 markberm December 5, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I can’t fathom Lindy getting fired, but I really could envision him asking to void the rest of his contract after the year if this continues.

    For the longest time, I would say what many have said here: “How do we not score with all this talent?” Now I’m thinking we overstated our talent. Maybe we’re just average to below average. And maybe that casts a sour picture on Darcy too.

    God, I can’t believe I just typed that. But the proof is staring me right in the face the last two seasons. Geez, how sad is that?

  22. 22 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I know, Mark. This is so sad, but this has gone on for waaaay too long for us to pretend that they just need to “play to their potential”. I think Lindy is a really good coach, I just think this group of guys is not paying any attention to him anymore. Phil’s right too, there might be active dissent in the room.

    I still absolutely believe that more can be gotten out of this group of players. Can you imagine how bad guys like Miller, Pominville, and Gaustad would feel if Lindy got fired?- especially after getting the contracts they got this summer? What this team needs most is a little motivation from within. Maybe some old fashioned guilt would do the trick.

    I dunno. I hate them all. :P

  23. 23 Erin December 5, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    But the Sabres were one of the highest scoring teams last year. We had the scoring last year, we weren’t getting shut out like we are this year. Now that is being crushed.

    As far as the begining of the season goes, I will agree that I was impressed that the team seemed to be moving with machine like percision. There were people on the ice when and where they were needed, it was cool, I felt happy. But even then I could see that something was shaky and some of that fast pace was missing.

    I’m just a fan with little to no hockey playing knowledge but is there just no way to have both reliable defense and rocking and fun offense?

  24. 24 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Erin, I really think you are blocking out the memory of a large stretch of games from last year. My memory of last season is that we’d have long stretches, exactly like this one, where we peppered the goalie with 40 BAD SHOTS a night, and got little or nothing for it, followed by a few blowout games when they got goals in bunches. I’m willing to bet that some night soon they will explode and score 10 goals, and then they will follow THAT game up with an uninspired clunker.

  25. 25 Erin December 5, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Ok, I probably am blocking out the bad but I do remember that one 10 game winless streak that was painful. But there were ALOT of tie games that went to shoot-outs in there. So we were picking up points and they were close games.

    What I remember is alot of games where the Sabres scored 4 goals in the first period and then got beat in the last five minutes of the game. I’m not saying that’s better, but at least something was happening.

  26. 26 KozyShank December 5, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    We have all heard Lindy mention how the group is stubborn. Is it a majority in the group?
    A small faction of players?
    The whole lot of them?
    It’s easy to say get rid of the garbage….
    What if there is more garbage than good here?
    Is that on Lindy or Darcy or both?
    Someone call a press conference and demand some answers…
    PLEASE

  27. 27 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    That does it! KozyShank is right! I’m calling a press conference!

    SABRES, EXPLAIN YOURSELVES!

  28. 28 S.Tooth December 5, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    They clearly have talent. And I don’t think it’s a case of them just not trying. I think it’s a mental thing with the Sabres, and those are the hardest things to fix. There are no easy answers. But I think this team needs to blow up somehow in a major way.

  29. 29 JBo December 5, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I seriously have to disagree that it’s not Lindy. How can someone who has won so many awards and done so many amazing things for the team begin to slip and suffer like that? Lindy’s a great coach and I refuse to believe that THAT much has changed in less than a year.

    I blame Max Afinogenov. For everything.

  30. 30 Katebits December 6, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    JBo, I don’t think it’s a matter of Lindy being a “good coach” or a “bad coach”. For the record, I think he’s an extremely good coach. The issue is his effectiveness with this group of guys, many of whom we have locked up for the next five seasons. I think there no doubt that they are struggling under his system right now. Not just the technical system that he tries to employ on the ice, but also his leadership system. Haven’t you ever had a boyfriend/girlfriend with whom it just doesn’t work? I know it sounds stupid to compare this to that, but I think it’s apt. Sometimes, even though everyone involved is awesome, things just don’t work.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


