Go Bulls!

Okay, I’m going to interrupt our regularly scheduled Sabres hand wringing to remind you that the the UB Bulls are playing in the MAC Championship tonight.  (That’s a football championship, just in case you’re not sure.  I, um, might have had to look that up.  Maybe.)   As the Sabres sink further and further into the smelly abyss, I’m realizing that more than being a Sabres fan, I’m a Buffalo fan.   It turns out the Bulls football team is the best thing we’ve got going on around here, and they’re our best opportunity to jump around with joy in the name of our fair city.  I’m in.

In other news, The Willful Caboose has recently joined the ranks of the WNYMedia sports blogs.  All that my new (super-foxy) title means is that TWC is now on the WNYMedia blog feed and I get to rub blogging elbows with the likes of BfloBlog, USRT, and The Goose’s Roost.  I know.  I’m so fancy!  Over the last few months I’ve gotten in the habit of checking in over on the WNYMedia main page as part of my blog rounds, and I really respect and admire the work that they do on behalf of WNY.  I’m honored to be even peripherally associated with these guys.

Tonight, Peter along with Jon Splett will be reporting live from the MAC championship in Detroit.   There will be a multi-live-blog extravaganza that you can participate in by visiting WNYMedia, BfloBlog, Goose’s Roost, or Buffalo Pundit during the game.  Using the “Cover it Live” software, the same live blog will be updated and presented on several blogs SIMULTANEOUSLY.  It’s a marvel of modern technology, folks.  I encourage everyone who is watching the UB game within reach of their computer to chickitty-check it out!

(And please let me know about how you feel about this new fangled clicky, scrolly liveblog technology.  There has been some talk of using it for a more Sabres oriented gamechat, and I’d like to know how you’d feel about it showing up on TWC someday.)

23 Responses to “Go Bulls!”


  1. 1 danielleia December 5, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I love cover it live. It’s good. Except when I used it on WordPress, I messed it up. haha!

  2. 2 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I’m going to say this as gently as possible: I hate Cover It Live. I think it’s ugly and confusing and I much prefer the pace/style of a message board like conversation.

    I also don’t really get the idea of posting the same chat on multiple blogs. I mean, I guess it’s cool that you can do that but I’m not sure why you would.

    (We’re still friends, right?)

  3. 3 Ryan December 5, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    She’s a witch! Burn her!

  4. 4 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Oh, she’s a witch, alright. But I could have told you that AGES ago. :P

    Noted, Heather. (Truth be told, I have pretty mixed feelings about Cover It Live myself.)

  5. 5 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Plus if everyone has the chat up during games, does that mean you couldn’t do your own in-game blogging? I would sure miss your pregame/first period/second period/postgame live blogs. I get the idea of the Buffalo blogosphere being a big, joined group and I love it but in this case I’d rather the chat stay one one blog so everyone else has the freedom to do their own thing if they so desire. But that’s just me.

    (NOW are we still friends?)

  6. 6 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    No. This is the end of our friendship. Please turn in your half of the BFF locket. :P

  7. 7 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I love Cover It Live! And I love all my favorite blogs featuring the exact same material! Really, I swear! :::clutching BFF necklace to bosom:::

  8. 8 Amy December 5, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    My only pet peeve with the Cover It Live software is that it automatically takes you to the newest posted comments irregardless of where you are in the reading. It’s not very friendly to someone with a slower reading speed or someone who joins a chat late.

    And though I do think the idea of a multi-blog chat is cool, I wouldn’t want to lose the TWC fun aspect of your Sabres game blogs.

    I’ll just show myself out now.

  9. 9 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    No seriously, thanks for your opinion Amy. This is why I asked! (Do you want Heather’s half of my BFF locket?)

    My problem with Cover It Live is that it moves and it’s noisy!

  10. 10 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Okay, as much as I hate to defend CiL, you can actually turn the auto-scroll off. I accidentally discovered that one day because I also hate the whole chat moving up on me. It stills sucks in so many other ways though.

  11. 11 Heather B. December 5, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    You can turn the sound off too. But it still sucks! :P

  12. 12 Jael December 5, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I’m more of a Buffalo fan than anything else, too. It’s just that hockey is my favorite sport. But, really, Buffalo.

  13. 13 Phil December 5, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Word, Jael

    The Bulls are on the verge of history and the denizens of WNY are along for the ride! Bulls on parade!!

  14. 14 Pookie December 5, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    “Hear, hear!” to what Heather said. Cover It Live has a time and a place but TWC is not it. (Whoa, that sounds like I’m putting TWC down. What I meant was, Cover It Live isn’t good enough for TWC. Even Blobby the Blobfish took one look at Cover It Live and was like, “Yeeee-esh! No thank you!”)

    Seriously, please, please, please do not put a Cover It Live group IM session (it is NOT a live blog, people! Nothing about Cover It Live is “blogging”. It’s chatting and we all know it!) on TWC, at least not at the expense of your game diaries! I’m all for happening open threads, which is of course, really all Cover It Live is; Buffalo, you’ve already got the best open threads around at BfloBlog, why throw that away for a piece of ugly IM technology?!?

    And yes, you can turn the auto-scroll off, but you’re still stuck reading an open thread in a teensy-tiny mobile-phone sized window with teensy-tiny text. Why do that when you could be using the far more functional blog comments — which were, don’t cha know, invented and designed for having a discussion? GAH!

    Sorry. I have about a half a hockey season’s worth of pent up anger about Cover It Live that I guess needed letting out.

  15. 15 Shari December 5, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Well, it’s a good thing Al scored because I was just about ready to kick him out of my life! I just hope he doesn’t become a blobby for me.
    Watching the Bulls as I type.

  16. 16 Schnookie December 5, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    What Pookie said. I just woke up from a nap, so all I’m able to say coherently is that Cover It Live sucks, and I just don’t see how it would enhance the content at TWC. In fact, I can only see it detracting. Don’t do it!!! You’re BETTER than that, Katebits!

  17. 17 Katebits December 5, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Wow. You guys need to learn how to form an opinion. :P

  18. 18 Phil December 5, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I hope everyone is watching the Bulls!!

  19. 19 Pookie December 5, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    You guys need to learn how to form an opinion.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: I get that a lot.

  20. 20 Katebits December 6, 2008 at 12:08 am

    I’m watching Phil! This is great!

  21. 21 Ang December 6, 2008 at 1:03 am

    i dont know what any of this means but dont mess with a thing!
    GO BULLS!!!!!!!

  22. 22 alix December 6, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Pssssh. We use Cover It Live when I blog in the Canucks FanZone. You can turn off the auto scroll and the clickity clacky sound. It’s easy as pie. Cover It Live is the future of blogging! Get with it. You losers! :DDDDDDDD

    I do love your picture live blogs as well, Katebits! Keep them!

  23. 23 Katebits December 6, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Hee! Thanks alix! I actually participated in the MAC Championship Cover It Live last night and I thought it was really fun. I’m still not particularly down with having one of those on my main page (that’s another minor issue I have with the whole thing- I have no desire for the comment section to spill out onto the front page of my blog! No offense guys), but it was a lot more fun than I expected it to be.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


