Vintage Crunchy

Crunchy has been all kinds of entertaining lately.  When Lindy called him out, Crunchy got mad/sad.  (Which was reasonable in my opinion.  Lindy calling Crunchy out in that situation seemed like the equivalent of a guy picking a fight with a random inmate on his first day in prison.  Largely symbolic, very risky, and borderline desperate.)  On Saturday Crunchy was pretty mediocre, and last night he was pretty spectacular.  Then, today he tells the media that one of the refs from last night told him to, “go eff yourself“.   I’m…..not sure you’re allowed to say stuff about the refs, Crunchy.  But, heh.

I’m not always enamored of Crunchy’s goaltending, but I absolutely adore his particular brand of crazy.

I haven’t spent a ton of time watching SabresTV this year.  It takes ten years to load, and frankly I’m not willing to invest ten years to hear these guys say the same things over and over again.  “We’ve got to be better. Blah blah blah stick to the system blah blah get to the net blah defensive responsibility blah blah blah.”  Last night was the first time in a loooong time that I felt motivated to go to SabresTV and see what the Sabres were saying in the locker room.

I happened upon this deLIGHTful Crunchy clip.

Watch carefully at the 20 second mark when Crunchy attempts to murder someone with his death glare.  A reporter says, “It wasn’t easy late,” and Crunchy physically recoils in disgust, steps away from the offender, snips, “No, it’s WASN’T easy late,” and then shoots a conspiratorial glance at one of the other reporters.  I don’t know what this guy did to incur Crunchy’s wrath, but I assume he burst into flames on the spot.  Too bad that part is off camera.

Love it.

(PS- If anyone knows how to post an NHL video on a WordPress blog, I’ll be your BFF if you share.)

24 Responses to “Vintage Crunchy”


  1. 1 Caroline December 9, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Ryan was great last night. And I totally caught him being really sassy to that reporter who talked about the game being tough late. I don’t know why it pissed off him so much, but it was amusing nonetheless.

    I always make sure to tune into a Ryan Miller interview on Sabres TV because I can always be sure to be greeted with his dry sense of humor or sarcasm, or just him getting pretty sassy with media when he’s pissed. I love me some crazy goalies.

  2. 2 Amy December 9, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    When/if Crunchy ever has kids, that death glare is going to come in handy. His kids are going to be the best behaved rugrats on the face of the planet, lest they get Daddy’s death glare shined upon them.

  3. 3 JBo December 9, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Wow. That clip is amazing. If only I could save the videos from SabresTV.

  4. 4 Heather B. December 9, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    I love Ryan talking about the ref. I love that most jocks would say it with an, “Eff that guy, can you believe it?” tone of voice whereas Ryan seems genuinely perplexed, almost a little wounded like he’s just not sure what he did to deserve that. Poor guy.

  5. 5 Katebits December 9, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Ha! Heather, I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you are SO right. Crunchy’s all, “Gee whiz, ref. I’m just trying to be the best professional goaltender I can be.”

  6. 6 Caroline December 9, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Ryan seems genuinely perplexed, almost a little wounded like he’s just not sure what he did to deserve that. Poor guy.
    Haha that’s so true. Poor Ryan is a little sensitive and the ref must have hurt his feelings.

  7. 7 Laura December 9, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Um….to post a video there is a button in the lower right of the video that says share. When you click it there is an embed option. That should work…I think….

  8. 8 Katebits December 9, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Yeah, but when I do that the code just disappears when I actually publish the post. I’m wondering if this is one of those cranky WordPress issues.

  9. 9 JB December 9, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I heart the death glare.

  10. 10 Chaz December 9, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Ummm..Crunchy was awesome…as was the half nekked Yo-YO in the background. =D

  11. 11 KozyShank December 9, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I wonder what that it would look like if there were a thought bubble when the death glare occurs…

  12. 12 Shari December 9, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Miller handled that interview oh so well and
    I LOVE watching half naked Sabres walk around the locker room!

  13. 13 Chaz December 10, 2008 at 12:05 am

    I totally agree. I watched the first time and noticed the naked men then watched it again for Crunchy!

  14. 14 Jonathan December 10, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Actually that little head nod that Miller did, was a signal for Mike Gilbert to “get rid” of the reporter.

    No one gets to ask Miller stupid questions and gets away with it.

  15. 15 Rebecca December 10, 2008 at 9:24 am

    And still no marshmallow recipe. I am sad.

  16. 16 Glenn December 10, 2008 at 9:24 am

    That death glare is one of the things that keeps me a Sabres fan…

  17. 17 Grrrreg December 10, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Wow, I wouldn’t like to be that journalist.

    I don’t think its possible to embed nhl videos with wordpress. I’ve tried too, it never worked.

  18. 18 Janz December 10, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Kate, the problem with embedding nhl videos is the iframe tag in their embed code. If your blog is self hosted and running wordpress it works, but the tag is not allowed on wordpress.com. Take the plunge, go self hosted!

  19. 19 Katebits December 10, 2008 at 11:14 am

    No way, Janz. The thing I learned from Oh For Fun is that someday I’m going to want to walk away from this. My policy: No paying for blogs!

  20. 20 Jennifer December 10, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Ummm..Crunchy was awesome…as was the half nekked Yo-YO in the background. =D

    I thought that was Yo-Yo! Oooooo, nice!

  21. 21 kar December 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    hahaha. i’m so glad you posted this clip. i never watch sabrestv anymore either but i watched the death glare 4 times and laughed equally as hard each time i watched it.

  22. 22 Kitten December 10, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I have to go back and look at the clip. I was so entranced with Mr. Miller’s expressive eyebrows I missed the other guys. I’m really a one goalie type of girl.

  23. 23 Kitten December 10, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    He not only put in the death glare, but the sideways head twitch. He does that in goal after someone scores on him.

    Can you tell i have a crush? Truly pathetic.

  24. 24 Heather B. December 10, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Those NHL videos eat your blog anyway, Kate. They always leak over off the sides and sometimes insist on jumping to the top of the page. Don’t give in to the pressure! I never embed them anymore. You lazy bums can just click on the dang link :P


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


