I’m Bored

Remember yesterday when I was all, “I love watching the game at work with my coworkers!  I don’t mind when I can’t see the game!  Everything is sunshine and roses, and I LOVE the whole world,”?  Remember that?   Well, that was retarded.  I meant what I said about enjoying the games at work, but yesterday I failed to write about the downside of missing an entire weekend of hockey, which is that I FEEL LIKE THE SABRES HAVEN’T PLAYED IN A MONTH.  POSSIBLY TWO MONTHS. THEY MAY NEVER PLAY AGAIN.

I just checked the NHL schedule to see what my non-Sabres options are tonight.  Colorado/Detroit, and San Jose/LA.  Those….are not appealing options.

I’m bored, cranky and uninspired.  I can’t even think of anything funny to write about Paul Gaustad taking a shot from James Patrick to the chin in practice today.  There is something funny about that, right?  (I mean, considering Goose is okay and all.) I’m way off my game.  I need some hockey to watch.

—-

In comPLETEly unrelated news: I just talked to my mother, and she told me she accidentally left her knitting in a bar last night.  Heh.

8 Responses to “I’m Bored”


  1. 1 Chaz December 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    In comPLETEly unrelated news: I just talked to my mother, and she told me she accidentally left her knitting in a bar last night. Heh.

    This may be one of the best lines I’ve every read.

  2. 2 Pookie December 15, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    HA! That’s so great about your mother! It used to be a dream of Schnookie’s, Boomer’s and mine to open a knitting sports bar. There’s a TON of people who love sports and who love doing handiwork; there’s definitely an audience out there for it.

    I’m so sorry your cranky and bored! If it helps at all Schnookie and I saw a sign in NYC today that said, “DON’T HONK” and we thought of Goose.

  3. 3 rmichaels December 15, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    You could always post your homemade marshmallow recipe!
    (okay, after this, I’ll leave you alone about it, I promise…)

  4. 4 Katebits December 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Oooh, Pookie, that sports bar sounds so fun! And yes, it DOES help to imagine Goose standing, looking perplexed and a little hurt by the “DON’T HONK” sign.

    rmichaels, I’m on it. Expect a marshmallow recipe in the next few days.

    Chaz, it was a remarkably delightful thing to find out about my mom. :D

  5. 5 CrotchetyOriginalSam December 16, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Ask your mom which bar it was. I’m happy to go ask around about lost stitching, and I know many of her/my local barkeeps, so I could definitely grease the necessary skids for recovery…

    (Unless it was Buster’s on 28th, which I haven’t been to since she, you, and I were all there together. Knew I should have made that place a regular stop…)

  6. 6 Amy December 16, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I would definitely be a patron of the crafty sportsbar were it ever to exist.

  7. 7 Courtney December 16, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Can we go knit with Lois in a bar next week? If that’s not “Oh For Fun!” I’m not sure what is.

  8. 8 Katebits December 16, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Sam, I believe the stay sock was recovered from Whitey’s. Courtney, hell YES we can co knit in a bar next week!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


