Hungover, watching hockey. Happy New Year!

1:27 OMG, that was the most hilariously awful anthem I have ever heard.  This is going to be a great day.

1:29 Alright, I’m going to be honest.  I’m starting 2009 with a pretty ferocious hangover.  I’m all disheveled, I feel like poo, and I have a pizza on the way.  There is no way that any of these factors are going to add up to a good post, but that anthem was SO FUNNY to me that I was inspired to spark up the computer.  This (the paragraph you are reading right this second) might wind up being the entirety of my Winter Classic coverage this year.   That was an inspiringly bad anthem.

Happy New Year!

19 Responses to “Hungover, watching hockey. Happy New Year!”


  1. 1 Scott Leffler January 1, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. Both anthems were horrible. It almost seemed like a parody. It was that bad.

  2. 2 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Yeah, while I was watching I had that feeling like, “wait….did I accidentally start watching Saturday Night Live? Is that…Will Farrell singing the anthem?” :D

  3. 3 Valerie January 1, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Both anthems? Did I miss one? I was surprised with all the cheering during the anthem I heard. I thought folks would have ben singing. I love singing the national anthem. It’s one of my favorite game-day experiences and I hate it when the official singer does a crappy job of it.

  4. 4 Shari January 1, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Thank goodness, I thought maybe I was being a little to harsh on those guys! It was a little over the top.

    SO YOUR HUNGOVER, HUH KATE?
    PIZZA IS GREAT FOR A HANOVER!
    Hope you feel better! : )

  5. 5 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Yeah, they sang them both Valerie. They were both AWFUL.

  6. 6 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    The pizza totally helped, Shari! Happy New Year!

  7. 7 Grrrreg January 1, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Happy new year Kate! I wish you an awesome year of sabres hockey, full of goals, wins, shutouts and fisticuffs.
    As for today, let’s go hawks!

  8. 8 mcguffers January 1, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    The Toews family home videos are making me feel more warmth towards hockey than the Sabres have.

  9. 9 elise January 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    i missed the anthems. but have been singing anthems about the cat i borrowed/stole/lured from next door. he is fun to sing/shout about.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, Kate and TWC! you are amazing!

    p.s. when are you visiting?

    p.p.s. mourning the Pats. go Bruins!!!!

  10. 10 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Happy New Year, Grrrreg! I wish the same for you. I have a good feeling about 2009.

    This game is great!

  11. 11 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    The Toews family home videos are making me feel more warmth towards hockey than the Sabres have.

    mcguffers, I totally agree! Those Toews are adorable. Maybe I should become a hardcore Blackhawks fan. I’m pretty much over my Soupy animosity.

    Happy New Year, Elise! Are you in New Hampshire in January? I’m going to Portland next week, but I’ll still have some time off! Maybe I should zip through!

  12. 12 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Huh. Chris Chelios is the only player in the NHL who can hold a tune. Interesting.

  13. 13 Gambler January 1, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Man, and for the longest time I thought there was no bad way to sing the Canadian anthem. Turns out there is, if you sing it with the pace of a funeral dirge. And in the continuing theme of comically bad musical performances: Brian Campbell singing “Take me out to the ball game.” Ouch, Soupy, my ears!

    Happy New Year, TWC!

  14. 14 mcguffers January 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    huh. Chris Chelios is the only player in the NHL who can hold a tune. Interesting.

    No joke, although I kind of expected Kane and Toews to sound like a boys choir.

    And yeah, I don’t think I dislike Soupy anymore. He got blamed for us sucking last year because his contract negotiations caused a distraction. Now I realize just about anything could distract this team. Ovie, Crosby, Ice Dancers, beer vendors, shiny quarters, lint fuzz, etc.

  15. 15 M.J. January 1, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Happy New Year Katebits!!!!

    (and try Burger King fries. They are the hangover food to end all hangover foods)

  16. 16 Katebits January 1, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Now I realize just about anything could distract this team. Ovie, Crosby, Ice Dancers, beer vendors, shiny quarters, lint fuzz, etc.

    AAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA! Exactly! I mean, I don’t really want to marry Soupy or anything, but he’s clearly not the source of all the Sabres woes. It’s hard to blame the suckitude on him since he’s been gone for almost a year. :P (And there’s ANOTHER thing I can add to the list of Reasons I Hate the Sabres: Reason #638567, THEY’RE MAKING ME MISS BRIAN CAMPBELL!)

    Happy New Year, Gambler and MJ! (Does Burger King deliver?)

  17. 17 Valerie January 1, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Man, and for the longest time I thought there was no bad way to sing the Canadian anthem

    I have heard atrocious renditions of the Canadian anthem. Versions that are treasonous in their lousiness. I think that there should be strict standards for anthem singers at sports events. They are supposed to be citizen-acceptable uplifting hymns. Not artistic interpretations. I get crazy with what some folks do to anthems. I would rather that the fans sing without the benefit of a lead singer (like we did last night when Canada won their game against the USA at the WJHC final preliminary round game).

  18. 18 MikeP January 1, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Gambler’s clearly never heard kd lang sing the anthem at the Saddledome. Man.

  19. 19 danielleia January 2, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Happy New Year! I agree on how funny the anthems were… almost as bad as “Take me out to the hockey game.”


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


