Dispatches from Portland, 2009

I’m back in Portland, and home from the mountain!  Mt. Hood in Oregon is purdy, you guys.  I snow shoed for the first time ever.  You’d think I’d have snow shoed before considering my lifelong residence in snowy, wintery locations, but no.  Snow shoeing is REALLY weird.  You can just walk right on top of huge snow banks and not fall in.  I know!  Weird.  When we went snow shoeing we brought Rowan, who is only three, so we didn’t get very far, BUT if you want to see the cutest thing in the world, strap some itty-bitty snow shoes on a three-year-old.

You know when snow shoes would be really helpful?  When you have to go scrape off your car when it’s been parked on the street after a big snowfall.  You know how it’s a big pain in the butt to get to the passenger side because of the mound of snow between the sidewalk and the street?  Snow shoes, baby. *finger guns and wink*

**********

Last year while I was in Portland, the Sabres were in the middle of their season crushing ten game losing streak.  It was sad, sad times.  One of my lowest memories from last season was of keeping an eye on my computer in Portland as the Devils came from behind to eventually win in the shootout.

Things are quite different this year.  First of all, I’ve got a year of rooting for a cruddy team under my belt.  Last year I was so convinced that every game was the beginning of the rest of the season.  Every single game I was waiting for them to bust out and be the contender that I wanted them to be.  Now I’m a lot more big picture-y.  (The big picture being that the Sabres are not very good, but I still love them.)  Second of all, last year at this time, they were in the middle of a TEN GAME LOSING STREAK. Ten losses.  IN A ROW.  That was legitimately horrible.

I guess my point is that we should all take a minute to be grateful that at least they’re not losing in groups of ten anymore.   For all my bitching about these guys, they’re a much better team this year than they were last year.  That’s not saying much, but it’s not nothing.

**********

I gather that the game was kind of a dud, but I canNOT wait to go home and watch the Rangers shootout on my DVR.  As you probably already know, I’m a fan of booing.  I assume all of Buffalo was properly tsk-tsked by the local media for being “crass” and booing Captain America.  Whatevs.  I applaud your booing!  Booing is fun, and Chris Drury may have been a good Sabre, but he’s a filthy Rangers now.

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!  :)

***********

Don’t get me wrong, I love Wegmans and the Co-op, but Buffalo REALLY needs a Trader Joe’s.  Everytime I visit a place with a Trader Joes I get incredibly jealous and I start to dream about what my Portland Winterhawks blog would look like if I moved.  Someone should put a Trader Joe’s in that strip mall on Elmwood and Summer where the Quality Foods/Latinas used to be.

24 Responses to “Dispatches from Portland, 2009”


  1. 1 Jonathan January 12, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Um not to depress you kate.

    But they are putting a SavE A Lot in that spot on Elmwood.

  2. 2 Katebits January 12, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Save A Lot does not sound as awesome as Trader Joe’s. Damnit. :P

  3. 3 kevin January 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    How dare you? HOW DARE YOU?

    Living in Southern California and now Boston both places with Trader Joes locations I still would stab a cute three year old wearing mini snow shoes in the face in order to get a wegmans around here. When I have to get “normal” food that isn’t at Trader Joes it is the most depressing experience of my life going to stop and shop… Unfriendly people, not a good selection, and just run down. Man I miss Wegmans.

  4. 4 Katebits January 12, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I’m not saying I want to get RID of Wegmans! I love Wegmans! I’m just saying I ALSO want a Trader Hoes! You don’t have to get all stabby about it Kevin. :P

  5. 5 Caroline January 12, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Snow shoeing is definitely interesting. I remember when I was in high school we would go snow showing in gym class. It usually just ended up with a bunch of kids running around pummeling each other with snowballs while tripping in their snow shoes.

  6. 6 Meg January 12, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I think Trader Joe’s would make an excellent complement to Wegmans! Ooh, and I really like the Trader Joe’s wineshop. Although there’s only one Trader Joe’s in Manhattan and whenever I’m there the line goes pretty much all the way around the store making it difficult to get to many food items. So that pretty much sucks. (As does the fact that there’s no Wegmans.) I have a feeling the Trader Joe’s food shopping experience would be far more enjoyable in Buffalo.

  7. 7 Matt January 12, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I hate you all. No weggies, no Trader Joe’s and certainly no Trader Jose’s quality salsa here. Instead I get the craptacular choice of StopNShop or A&P. It’s enough to make me seriously consider gouging out soft parts of my head with rusty flatware.

    On a slightly nicer note, I miss Mt. Hood. I was only there once… broke both wrists (on a single fall) on my first snowboard run ever. The bright spot was sitting in the lodge having chicas pour me Mt. Hood Ice Axe ales and sipping it through a straw. (Can’t pick up a pint with broken wrists.) Sure, it had downsides but all I remember was one suitable cozy day =)

  8. 8 Katebits January 12, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Ooh, and I really like the Trader Joe’s wineshop.

    Me too! Plus, I don’t totally hate Two Buck Chuck, which I believe is only available at Trader Joes. I just get a kick out of outrageously cheap wine. And Trader Joe’s is nothing without another complimentary grocery store. Man cannot live on Trader Joe’s alone, as Kevin is willing to stab a three-year-old in the face to prove. Heh.

    Matt, I can see how hanging around on Mt. Hood would make broken wrists a little more tolerable. (Although, OUCH.) I feel like everyone is attractive and nice on Mt. Hood.

  9. 9 Shelby Rose January 12, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    I have never been snow shoeing, but it sounds like loads of fun. If I happen to vacation anywhere near mountains during the winter time, I’ll be sure to give it a try.

  10. 10 Matt January 12, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I feel like everyone is attractive and nice on Mt. Hood.

    Yes! Yes! Yes! That is exactly the impression I have of it in my memory!

  11. 11 Chaz January 12, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Many times I told my co-workers in MN that the cities would rock if they put Wegmans up near the Trader Joes! I LOVE Trader Joes.

  12. 12 Ang January 12, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I can not even allow myself to think about the joy of having a trader joes here. life would be complete… their shave cream is the bomb. and two buck chuck rules. lets all chip in and open a franchise!

  13. 13 Andrew Kulyk January 12, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Trader Joes????? How about a Whole Foods and a IKEA Kate? That’s the Buffalo Rising trifecta!

  14. 14 JBo January 12, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Hell, let’s put in an Abercrombie there while we’re at it.

    Kate, I must ask: do you know the origin of calling Chris “Captain America”? Did you start it, cos I have this nagging feeling that I’ve heard it elsewhere, but I just don’t get it. He’s not blond. He doesn’t have an awesome shield. He never battled Batman. Hmm.

  15. 15 Katebits January 12, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Ha! Well, I guess I don’t really care about IKEA or Whole Foods. Trader Joes is uniquely fabulous, and I demand one. :D

  16. 16 Daniel January 12, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I heard it was an Aldi’s going where Latina’s used to be. Also not as cool as Trader Joe’s.

  17. 17 Rebecca January 13, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I join the crowd in demanding Trader Joe’s in Buffalo! My friends who live in cities with TJ’s are probably tired of taking me there to get my fix whenever I visit… and frankly, Wegman’s could use the competition.

  18. 18 Katebits January 13, 2009 at 1:44 am

    JBo, I definitely did not start the “Captain America” thing. I don’t even remember where I heard it first.

  19. 19 Katebits January 13, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Aldi’s? That….is so not as cool as TJs. Sad.

  20. 20 Mike in Idaho January 13, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I think the Captain America thing came from his Little League days, where he was part of a Little League World Series winning team. A friend of mine who is a Rangers fan loves to annoy me with a line he heard from some idiot Ranger announcer anytime the subject of Chris Drury comes up, “winner at every level.” I need new friends…
    Glad you enjoy the great Northwest, my mom lives on the Oregon coast so I was in Portland about 2 months ago, great town! I think Idaho technically counts as the northwest although we get way less rain.

  21. 21 Matt January 13, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    He’s not blond. He doesn’t have an awesome shield. He never battled Batman. Hmm.

    Little known fact: He DID spend 10 years fighting the nazis and having graphic artists depict the battles. He single-handedly won WWII.

  22. 22 elise January 13, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    kate, let’s start a petition to bring Trader Joes to Big Buff and Keene! i’ll start it. Dear Mr. Joes…

    p.s. did you read the latest Oberlin Alum mag? Mr. darcy is writing a NOVEL…about a serial killer in Scotland!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. 23 Courtney January 13, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Every city needs a Trader Joes (though truthfully, four or five Trader Joes would be even better). Soon, I hope.

  24. 24 JBo January 14, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Little known fact: He DID spend 10 years fighting the nazis and having graphic artists depict the battles. He single-handedly won WWII.

    Wow. I should really be giving Dru more credit than I do. XD


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


