Welcome Home, Me! WOOO!

I have to admit, I didn’t really miss the Sabres while I was away in Portland.  Last year when I went to Oregon in January I was anxious and out of sorts during the Sabres games.  It really really bugged me to miss the games last year, but this year…it was different.  To be honest, it was kind of a relief.  I needed a break from the Sabres.

So, today was my day to travel home.  I was scheduled to arrive in Buffalo at 10:00pm-ish, so I was going to arrive to a game in progress.  After my refreshing vacation I was looking forward to watching hockey again.  I thought about avoiding the score until I got home so I could watch the game on DVR delay, but I couldn’t help myself, and as soon as the plane was on the ground I whipped out my phone.

Here is my story:

I check the score on my phone while I’m still in the plane as we taxi to the gate…

3-0, Stars: I hate the Sabres.  They should all be traded, Lindy should be fired, and I should stand up and DEMAND that the plane return me to Portland where it’s not 50 below and I don’t have to watch this damn team.

I get off the plane and check the score again on the television in the airport bar.

3-1, Star:  Huh.  Goose scored.  Honk!  Thanks, buddy.

I go down to the baggage claim, get my bag and grab a shuttle to my car which is in long term parking.  Side note: Once this summer I put my car in long term parking when I went away, and it was SO fun to hop into my car on a warm August night and drive myself home without having to fuss around with coordinating a ride.  I tried to replicate that experience on this trip, and let me tell you, it SUCKS to have to pay $70 to dig your car out from a snow bank after a long day of traveling.  I am NEVER long term parking again.  Friends, be warned: you have to pick me up from now on.

In car, waiting for my hands to unfreeze…

3-2, Sabres: Yo-Yo scores.  Hooray!  Maybe they missed me!  Now it’s only a one goal hockey ga-

half a second later

4-2 Stars: Eff you, Sabres.  Seriously.  I can’t buh-LIEVE you just did that.  You did what you ALWAYS do, which is give me just enough to reel me back in.  Well, I’m not falling for it.

Five minutes later, driving in my car on the 33

4-3 Stars: WOOOOOOOOOO!  HONK HONK HONK HONK!  Goose got a pants-trick! (Sidenote: I’ve been thinking that we need some terminology for a two-goal game.  I’ve decided to try “pants-trick” for awhile and see how it feels.  But, just so you know, I do NOT endorse throwing pants onto the ice after a pants-trick.  That’s just silly.)

Half a second later still on the 33…..

4-4 TIE: WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!  I LOVE THE SABRES!  I LOVE HOCKEY!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  (I actually did get ridiculously happy.  The whole thing really reminded me of this game, with the rapid shift from totally depressed to totally thrilled.)

I drive the rest of the way home, and then stay in my car listening until the end of regulation.  Then, I wrestle my bag out of the car and into to the house.  Second Warning: Friends, you will be carrying my suitcase into the house from now on.

I watch overtime while eating my favorite travel snack EVER (cheese and caramel popcorn mix from “Nuts on Clark” in the O’Hare airport).  The OT was unfruitful but still pretty exciting.  I remembered to think to myself, “Self, even if the Sabres only end up with one point, this was still a fun game to experience.  Don’t get all pissy over this one.”  I also remembered to think to myself, “Self, the Sabres are CLEARLY going to win this one.”

Then, the fairly hilarious shootout!

5-4, Sabres: WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Ahhhh, it’s good to be home!

10 Responses to “Welcome Home, Me! WOOO!”


  1. 1 JBo January 16, 2009 at 12:53 am

    I have to say, my favorite moment was when Miller poke-checked that guy, resulting in the guy slipping and sliding into the net…bringing Miller with him. “The Miller Poke”, as I call it. :)

  2. 2 erby January 16, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Hahaha, this is exactly how I was feeling. After the pitiful 1st period, I put on my Gaustad tshirt for good luck and look what happens!

  3. 3 Destiny January 16, 2009 at 3:01 am

    Thinking of Paul Gaustad and “pants-trick” made me giggle.

  4. 4 elise January 16, 2009 at 11:19 am

    kate! when you visit me, Striper (the cat) will carry your bags for you. free of charge. glad you are safely home!

  5. 5 Susie January 16, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I missed you posting regularly, Kate…glad you’re back home!

  6. 6 Katebits January 16, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    JBo, I agree. That pokecheck was weirdly cranky and fabulous. Vintage Crunchy.

    Destiny, hee! Me too.

    erby, you need to wear your lucky t-shirt every night!

    Elise, I’m not bringing any bags when I come to visit you. I’m going to wear the same outfit everyday- maybe I’ll bring a toothbrush. Maybe. :P

    Thanks Susie!

  7. 7 Mike in Idaho January 16, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Hey Kate, in soccer they call it a brace when someone scores two goals in a game. I have no idea why.

  8. 8 Toontom January 16, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Mike: probably because it’s rare that one player, let alone an entire team, scores two goals in a game.

    Come to think of it — the Sabres were playing soccer for a bit there.

    Kate: In bowling they call it a two-bagger.

  9. 9 jamie January 4, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Dear Katebits,

    I honestly don’t remember if i’ve commented before but my husband and I read you all the time and you crack us up – thank you for blogging.

    i’m writing to let you know that the Katebits created craze of a pants trick is growing in popularity… at least in our house.
    My husband is always thrilled to see my pants being tossed over the couch whenever one of our beloved Sabres scores two goals in a game. so – thank you – from my husband!

    it’s a good thing we live in Florida…our Sabres are doing awesome (knocks heavily on wood) and I foresee many pantstricks in our future!

    and to quote my husband after the last Drew Stafford pants trick…”i’m sure those aren’t the only pair of pants that will be coming off tonight for Drew Stafford.”

    just thought you should know what you’ve started!

    jamie & chris

  10. 10 Katebits January 4, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    AWWWWWWW! Best comment EVER! Thanks for making my dream of the pants trick a reality Jamie and Chris! I’m so happy that the pants trick is catching on!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


