Blogger’s Block

I want you to know that I’m aware that this blog as been in a bit of a rut lately.  I can’t think of anything funny to say.  Every evening I sit down in front of the computer, and I think about the Sabres, and then I think something along the lines of, “Hm. I wonder if peanut butter is safe to eat yet….”

I would say this is “writer’s block,” but I’ve always found that term a little douchey, and it seems like a real stretch to call what I do here “writing”.  I’m not so much a “writer” as I am “really good at fucking around online.”  I’ve settled on “Blogger’s block,” which is probably equally douchey, but at least it has the added comedic value of sounding like something that could be solved by a big bran muffin and a pot of coffee.  (I wish.)

Luckily, I realized I’m not alone!  Everyone gets blocked from time to time.  Even the Sabres. A brief poll of the locker room revealed that the Sabres are blocked in a variety of different ways.

______

Thomas Vanek will be sidelined for a month with Solid Food Eater’s Block.

Daniel Paille has had to spend the last few games up in the press box because of his debilitating case of Permission-to-Access-The Ice-On-Game-Day Block.

Goal Scorer’s Block has been plaguing Jason Pominville for weeks.

Butler, Gragnani, and Weber all have New Kids on the Block Block.

Clarke MacArther was blocked from watching his favorite television shows when Derek Roy accidentally activated the V-chip in his tv remote.  Neither of them know how to unblock the television.  Now all Clarke can watch are cartoons and Sesame Street.

Max Afinogenov has been gone for so long that he has begun to suffer from Existence Block. He does still exist, but just barely.

Patrick Lalime has a terrible case of Receiver Of Any Help Whatsoever From His Teammates Block. It’s believed that he caught it from Ryan Miller earlier in the season, but unlike Miller, Lalime has not been able to recover.

Henrik Tallinder and Jochen Hectch are both Good at Hockey Blocked, Spacek is Non-Gutteral Consonant Blocked, and Patrick Kaleta is a Blockhead with no hope of recovery.

______

So as you can see, everyone gets blocked sometimes, but some blocks are easier to remove than others.  All we can do is eat the bran muffins and hope for the best.

16 Responses to “Blogger’s Block”


  1. 1 Schnookie February 9, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    I feel like there’s a block of some kind missing here, but I can’t put my finger on it. Perhaps I’m block blocked…

  2. 2 Pookie February 9, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    He does still exist, but just barely.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Poor guy. In the right circles (i.e. spy circles), he could be the cock of the walk, but now he’s just hanging on to his very existence.

  3. 3 Jonathan February 9, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    I have comments from readers block or is that readers block. Either way.

    I doubt Clarke MacArthur has noticed since those are probably the shows he already watches.

  4. 4 Katebits February 9, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Oookies, :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Jonathan, that’s what I was thinking too. Clarke never watching anything except cartoons any way.

  5. 5 Katebits February 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Okay, now i feel compelled to include the line that I earlier felt compelled to take out because I didn’t think it was funny enough to justify the vulgarity. Here it is:

    “Congratulations, ladies! Tim Connolly has been 100% Cock Blocked since his return to the line-up.”

    I have no idea why that was tweeking my “too far” detectors, but it was. I guess I’m Use-of-the-Word-“Cock” Blocked today.

    THERE, are you happy now Ookies! :D

  6. 6 Schnookie February 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I’m much happier now. :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  7. 7 Pookie February 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Yes, I’m very happy. Thank you for lowering your yuck standard to amuse me!

  8. 8 Amy February 9, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Butler, Gragnani, and Weber all have New Kids on the Block Block.

    Yeah, but they’re Hangin Tough because they know they’ve got The Right Stuff. They just need to take things Step By Step.

  9. 9 Katebits February 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Amy, I wasn’t going to go there, but I was TOTALLY thinking it. :P

  10. 10 Schnookie February 9, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Amy, :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: You’re too good!

  11. 11 Patty (in Dallas) February 9, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::

    Calling somebody a blockhead is NEVER not funny!

  12. 12 Shelby Rose February 9, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Butler, Gragnani, and Weber all have New Kids on the Block Block.

    This one is my favorite, by far, haha.

  13. 13 Debby February 10, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Kate, That was HILARIOUS!!! I am get off my tusch blocked more than I’d like to admit…

  14. 14 Jennifer February 10, 2009 at 10:03 am

    You should get Bloggers Block more often! This is great!

  15. 15 Destiny February 12, 2009 at 4:32 am

    You started this post by saying you can’t think of anything funny, but this ended up being a very funny post. :)

    Still giggling at the “New Kids on the Block Block,” that’s comedic gold right there.

  16. 16 Mom On The Run February 15, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I’m really good at fucking around online too – but tonight I found myself researching blogger’s block – and voila! I found my self fucking around online here – great post!

    Visit me @ http://www.momontherun.net


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


