Quilt-O-Hockey-Mania

Earlier this week the Ookies pushed me too far with their non-stop talk of quilting action.  It was all, “quilting!” this and “beautiful fabric!” that.  Let this be a lesson to you Ookies.  I can only be cruelly taunted for so long before I snap, and drive to New Jersey.  I hopped into the Civic Doody, drove to Princeton, and demanded some beautiful fabric and a lesson in how to turn it into a quilt.  And so, the natural progression, from violist, to hockey fan, to hockey blogger, to quilter, to astronaut, to trophy wife, continues.

quiltfabric

My precious.

I am having a delightful weekend chilling at Stately IPB Manor, and learning how to quilt.  The Ookies are extremely kind and patient teachers.   Every stitch I sew is rewarded with an enthusiastic round of applause and a chorus of ooohs and ahhhhs.  It rocks.

Here is my quilt so far.  Only 24 more squares to go!

quiltsquare

My beloved.

When we sat down last night to watch the Sabres game I gave the Ookies a long list of warnings.  It’s been awhile since the Ookies watched the Sabres with any regularity, and I didn’t want them to be too disturbed by the current state of the team.  “Pominvile is never scoring again,” I warned.  “Staffy hasn’t eaten any brains in months, and Jochen Hecht is a shell of his former self.   Oh, and get this…Tim Connolly, terrifyingly, is now a major piece of the future…..eyeroll.”

The Sabres sure showed me!  That game was great!  Thank you, Sabres!

Today we are planning to watch four (4) hockey games while quilting our asses off.  It’s quiltoriffic.  It’s quiltastic.  It’s quiltalicious.  It’s really beautiful outside, but we don’t care!  Quilt-o-hockey-mania ’09, baby!  WOOOOOOOO!

Thank you for inviting me over, Ookies!

Update 4:25pm (because I know you’re dying to read more about my quilting):  it’s growing!

quiltupdate1

Spicy

8 Responses to “Quilt-O-Hockey-Mania”


  1. 1 Schnookie March 7, 2009 at 11:23 am

    No, no, thank YOU for driving down here! I knew our nefarious scheme to ensnare you in our evil quilting clutches would work! Mwa ha ha ha ha!

  2. 2 Caroline March 7, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    It’s always exciting when you pick up a new hobby! Have fun with the quilting, yours looks great! I love the colors you chose. :)

  3. 3 Courtney S.F. March 7, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    So, do you have to sew that by hand? That sounds even trickier than croshay.

  4. 4 Patty (in Dallas) March 7, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    What a wonderful collections of prints and colors! It’s going to make a beautiful quilt!

  5. 5 Katebits March 7, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Courtney, I do have to sew it by hand, but it’s really not that hard. It’s just busy work.

    Thanks Patty and Caroline!

  6. 6 Pookie March 7, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    WOOOOOOOO, quilting! Thank you for driving down and plunking down in front of the tv/cutting table! I cannot wait to see the finished quilt; it’s going to be stunning and it’s always going to remind me of that time when Poomerdoodle was the bomb.

  7. 7 Amy March 7, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Yay for completing your first square.

    I love the fabrics that you’re using for the quilt. So pretty.

  8. 8 Katebits March 7, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks Amy and Pookie! Do you think that Pommerdoodle is inspired by the quilt? Is there any chance of prolonging his temporary awesomeness by working on the quilt forever? I’m perfectly happy to drag this puppy out.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


