Playoffs!

DUDE!  THE PLAYOFFS START TODAY!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

I have to say, missing the playoffs is a lot easier to swallow this year than it was last year.  Last year I had to devise an entire three part system for making the emotional transition from regular season to post season.  This year I’m all, “WOOOOOOOOO!! Hard fought hockey without the Sabres?!  WHY CAN’T THE ENTIRE SEASON BE LIKE THIS?!  WOOOOOO!”

I have absolutely NO idea where my heart will take me during the playoffs, but I will say this:  I’m feeling adventurous and off kilter.  I don’t seem to have the taste for my previously passionate hatreds.  I’ve even caught myself feeling a bit wistful for my old nemesis (and ex-S,PW) Chris Drury.  Yes, it’s true- the Sabres have left me feeling so degraded and dirty that I am desperately seeking hockey solace in a Ranger. This is definitely cause for alarm, but right now I’m throwing caution to the wind and living it up.  I’ll bottom out soon, but until then I’m going to watch the playoffs with reckless abandon. I’ll do my best to stick to the less emotionally charged Western Conference, but I can make no guarantees.

If I wind up rooting for the Rangers, even a TINY bit, I’m sending my therapy bills directly to Lindy Ruff.

19 Responses to “Playoffs!”


  1. 1 mcguffers April 15, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Another good thing about missing the playoffs is the discount on NHL.com for Sabres gear! Kind of a “Sorry your team sucks, but it’s still chilly enough for a sweatshirt!”

  2. 2 Frisbee April 15, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Please don’t cheer for the Rangers. It hurts my soul to think we could ever be on opposite sides of anything. Do it for the sake of our love. I can give you several Caps to love illicitly, though I know I can’t actually convince you to do it.

  3. 3 Jonathan April 15, 2009 at 8:57 am

    One reason not to cheer for the Rangers, they are boring. I’d cheer for the Flyers before the Rangers.

  4. 4 Frisbee April 15, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Also, Sean Avery is a butthead.

  5. 5 mcguffers April 15, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Also, Sean Avery is a butthead.

    Word.

  6. 6 Norm April 15, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Rangers? AAAARRRRGGGGHHH!! Nearly as bad as the Flyers!

    I’ve adopted the St. Louis Blues to root for, because I can’t not watch playoff hockey again. Underdogs, young and exciting team, and no rivalry with the Sabres. Works for me.

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/04/15/nhl-playoff-preview-round-1-part-1/

  7. 7 Shelby Rose April 15, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Also, Sean Avery is a butthead.

    I agree on this.
    I’m cheering for the Penguins, but also the Canucks in the west. I love me some Swedish twins.

  8. 8 Katebits April 15, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Look you guys, I’m as disturbed by this as you.

    In all seriousness, I will not be rooting for the Rangers, but I have found myself in a bit of a relapse in regards to Drury. He and I have a long and sordid history, you know? But you’re right, Avery is totally inexcusable.

    Frisbee, I have a really really difficult time with the Caps, but I can honestly say that I’ve softened on them a bit because of you. I really want you to be happy and so I’m finding it increasingly difficult to actively cheer against your favorite boys. I think that’s the best I can do though. Does it make you feel any better to know that from this point forward I’m 100% PRO BRUINS?

    Norm, I;m with you on the Blues. I have a concert tonight so I’ll miss the earlier games, but I’m looking forward to zipping home to watch the Blues.

  9. 9 Katebits April 15, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I love me some Swedish twins.

    Swedish twins are the best.

  10. 10 Frisbee April 15, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    If getting behind my tied-for second favorite team (with the Sabres of course, because you make me love them. And hate them when they are mean to you) is the best you can do, I love you for that. And many other things.

  11. 11 TheTick April 15, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Once the Sabres are out, I usually latch onto the teams with my favorite non-Sabres players (Iginla, the aforementioned Sedins, etc). Beyond that, I just want to see some good games.

  12. 12 Jen April 15, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I’m gonna be the voice of dissent here and say: secretly cheer for the Rangers! We need all the help we can get!

    …Yeah, I know, that’s way too much to ask of, well, anyone who isn’t CRAZY. :-) At least, try not to rejoice too hard at our inevitable downfall.

  13. 13 Sally April 15, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Yay Rangers! I promise they will be as heartbreakingly disappointing as the Sabres, so this is probably a good and familiar move for you. There is no reason to feel shame!

    Lets go Rangers!

  14. 14 PKB April 15, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    HAHA how can anyone cheer for the Rangers? Sean Avery is like the Antichrist.

    Root for Calgary because every fan in the building will be wearing their red jerseys. It’s amazing to see on television. And no one plays defense like Dion Phaneuf. He’s crazy.

  15. 15 pjf-usrt April 15, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Stanley Cup Playoffs??? Blah!!

    The ECHL’s Kelly Cup Playoffs is where it’s at!:)

    Goooooooooooooooooo Jackals!!!!

  16. 16 Phil April 15, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Flames, Blues, and Blue Jackets in the West. Caps in the East. Those are my teams and I’m stickin’ to it

  17. 17 Susie April 15, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    I’m cheering for the Flyers.
    but, secretly, I want them to lose so my boyfriend will spend more time with me. hockey doesn’t hold much interest for me without the Sabres.

  18. 18 Sally April 16, 2009 at 10:37 am

    pjf-usrt, JACKALS RULE!

  19. 19 Mike in Idaho April 16, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Go Steelheads (although they’re down 3-0 in their series so it’s not looking good)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


