Two Small Confessions

1. I have never understood the expression, “Stupid is as stupid does.”

Seriously.  I….have no idea what that means.

I looked it up on the interwebs today, and even after reading the explanation, I’m still kind of fuzzy on the concept.  I think it has something to do with not judging a book by its cover.  Like, Forrest Gump may LOOK stupid, but if you actually pay attention to what he’s up to, he’s really not stupid at all.  I think that’s what it means.

That expression hurts my brain and I wish it was some comfort to say, “Stupid is as stupid does,” but unfortunately I might be the “exception that proves the rule” on that one.

(The only expression more baffling than “stupid is as stupid does” is “the exception that proves the rule”.  I don’t think my brain is built for folksy adages.)

2. I have no intention of ever blogging about hockey again.

Before I was consumed by hockey, I used to write a personal blog and I’ve been missing it a bit lately.   Every day I’d blather on about whatever was striking my fancy.  It was never very deep or very personal, but writing that blog made me happy.

Hockey is just not doing it for me lately (from a blogging perspective), so I’m lifting the “hockey” parameters, and I’m going to write about whatever I damn well please for the summer.  I still enjoy the challenge of trying to blog everyday, but I’m getting sick of trying to blog about HOCKEY everyday.  It’s June for goodness sake.  I haven’t seen the Sabres in a million years.

13 Responses to “Two Small Confessions”


  1. 1 Shauna June 4, 2009 at 12:48 am

    “The exception that proves the rule”…I am positive I have never heard that expression before! I suddenly feel a little insecure.

    And yes, it’s June, blog about whatever the hell you want! I’ll still stop by! Just please don’t stop blogging! I’m a mom of two little girls who are in bed early, so I’m house bound. This is my entertainment! Keep it up!

  2. 2 Shauna June 4, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Oh, and I think “stupid is as stupid does” means that one is only stupid if one does stupid things. That’s my interpetation anyway.

  3. 3 Katebits June 4, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Oh, and I think “stupid is as stupid does” means that one is only stupid if one does stupid things.

    That’s totally what I meant to say! :D Thanks, Shauna!

  4. 4 mcguffers June 4, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    “The exception that proves the rule” always gives me a headache. I’m with you on that one.

    My grandma always tried to use “Flies stick to honey better than vinegar.” I’d always respond with, “Why do I want flies stuck to me?” Her advice was much better as I got older with such gems as “Dress like a whore and you’ll get treated like a whore” and “You’ve got the tall gene, so stand up straight or you’ll be a hunchback.” (you have to picture a 6’1″ 60 year old woman using a pleasant but matter of fact voice)

  5. 5 Schnookie June 4, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I have always been confused by “the exception that proves the rule”, but I recently read an explanation for it that makes a teensy bit of sense. From what I could gather, it was suggesting that the fact that something is considered an exception in the first place proves that there’s a rule that it has to be an exception from. I dunno. It’s all suspect.

  6. 6 Pookie June 4, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I had a high school English teacher who said “the proof is in the pudding” almost every class. At the end of the year, my friend clipped a cartoon out of the New Yorker for him that showed a lawyer in a courtroom saying, “The proof is in the pudding, but the pudding is inadmissible”. The teacher had no clue why my friend gave it to him, because he had no idea he said that so often! Anyway, I find myself wanting to say “the pudding is inadmissible” often.

  7. 7 Patty (in Dallas) June 4, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I always took the rule/exception saying as meaning that since every rule has an exception, your exception to the rule just proves that it’s a real rule. Since it has an exception. Um… Does that help?

  8. 8 mcguffers June 4, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Um… Does that help?

    The pudding is inadmissible.

  9. 9 Pookie June 4, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I think we should all just start saying “The inadmissible pudding proves the rule”. That’ll just embrace the confusingness and make it more fun!

  10. 10 Katebits June 4, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::, to all of you!

  11. 11 Courtney S.F. June 5, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Oh for Hooray. I love the summer months on Oh For Hockey.


  1. 1 WNYmedia.net | Buffalo and Western New York's online news resource Trackback on July 7, 2009 at 12:42 pm
  2. 2 Blogroll Updates | WNYmedia.net Trackback on January 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


