Poop!

I just realized that I have to WORK during game 7!  That blows!

I wonder if the BPO would reschedule something if it conflicted with a Sabres game 7 in the Stanley Cup Finals.  Maaaybe.  I…kind of doubt it.  OH MY GOD.  WHAT IF THEY DIDN’T?  (Coworkers?  Thoughts?)

Someday the Sabres will be in the playoffs again!….and I might have to WORK!  This is going to keep me up tonight.

I can’t IMAGINE how torturous it would be to be on stage in those circumstances.  Of course, I also can’t imagine the Sabres being in a SCF game 7.  Heh.

Maybe I’ll mentally file this little anxiety under, “happy problems/we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.”

11 Responses to “Poop!”


  1. 1 Caroline June 9, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    I hate when trivial things such as work intefers with seriously important things like the Stanley Cup Finals. It’s just not right.

  2. 2 Heather B. June 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Surely the BPO would take into account that NO ONE would come see you guys play if the Sabres were playing in the SCF. That would be so sad for you!

  3. 3 SueInVA June 10, 2009 at 7:54 am

    I’m sure someone (perhaps a percussionist) could sneak a radio and earplugs out on stage so as to keep up with the score. Or between songs the conductor could ask an audience member. You know someone will be listening! Especially in a Sabres Stanley cup final!

    (Please, please, please hockey god- make it so!)

  4. 4 Frisbee June 10, 2009 at 9:23 am

    When Max used to have concerts during the Red Sox and Pats playoff runs, he used to leave his phone behind his music on his stand and I would text him updates during the game. I always liked doing this. And I always really, really hoped his phone was on silent.

  5. 5 Katebits June 10, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Oh, we already have a whole system devised to share scores during concerts! It’s fun, but it’s no substitute for actually watching the games.

    I first got into the Sabres during the playoffs in 2007. At that point we were actually giving score updates from the stage during intermission. I’ve always thought that would be a good idea year round. It was cute! Even when the Bills are at their suckiest, it’s still kind of fun to get a random score update on a Sunday afternoon.

  6. 6 elise June 10, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Kate!

    We played a concert IN BOSTON during the first game of the 2004 World Series. Painful! We could even hear the happy game jets flying overhead. Thankfully, we had friends in the audience who had phones and could smile or frown at us to indicate the score of the game. Hmmm, I say get your contract changed!

  7. 7 elise June 10, 2009 at 11:11 am

    p.s. although it would be extremely suspicious, you could simply call in sick.

  8. 8 Sam June 10, 2009 at 11:29 am

    When the Twins were in the ALCS in 2002, we had three different concerts that conflicted with the games. It just so happened that I was deathly ill that week, and I couldn’t call in sick because absolutely no one at work would have believed me. So I had to miss the games AND play concerts while hacking up a lung.

    On the score-sharing-on-stage note, our music director (huge hockey fan) has someone stationed in the wings to give him scores as he comes offstage during key games, and he flashes the score to a few of us in the orchestra when he comes back out for subsequent bows. Hilariously, one of the commenters on our orchestra blog figured out what the hand signals meant last year and posted a comment asking whether we were, in fact, passing around the score of the Wild game…

  9. 9 Katebits June 10, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Yeah, unless I was hospitalized, I don’t think I could pull off calling in sick during a Sabres game.

  10. 10 karen June 10, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I know a LOT of doctors in WNY, many of whom have season tickets. I’m SURE we could get you a note…

  11. 11 Katebits June 10, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Karen, are any of those season ticket holding doctors who are willing-to-testify-to-my-fake-illness single, by any chance? :D


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


