Useful Anxiety

The Hamilton Coyotes are bringing up all sorts of complicated issues for me.

A lot of the times I’m able to approach it like, “Well, it’s all out of my control and I might as well just hope for the best.  Maybe a team in Hamilton would make the market stronger, and the Sabres more competitive.”, but then I read something like this (or even worse, I read the comments), and I get really scared.

The fact that I’m fretful about Buffalo and the Sabres is a reminder that for many years I felt alienated and disconnected from my life here.  I’m fully engaged now, regardless of the Sabres.  For that, I am eternally grateful.

For a long time after I became a Sabres fan, I rarely worried about anything.  The Sabres were a vessel for my useless anxiety.  I burned all my stupid fretfulness on the Sabres, and found a more relaxed approach to everything else.  It was the sheer power of rookie enthusiasm.  To some degree, I think this magic has worn off.  I’m not a blissed out new fan anymore, I’m a regular fan.  In place of the new fan, is a regular Buffalonian.

After a good run of feeling impenetrable, lately I’m vulnerable to the same stresses and anxieties as everyone else.

I’m kind of like a junkie now though.   I miss the overall feeling of civic pride that the Sabres used to provide.  I want it back.  If thinking about the Sabres isn’t filling my heart with Buffalo-centric pride and joy, I want to think about something that does.

Lately I’ve been spending less time thinking about the Sabres, and a lot more time thinking about Buffalo in general.  I know I need to do more to pitch in around here, and I know that any energy I spent on volunteering would help to ease the useless anxiety I feel because of a “threat” like the Hamilton Coyotes.

Does anyone have any good suggestions?  Any Buffalo causes that are near and dear to your heart?

11 Responses to “Useful Anxiety”


  1. 1 Zach June 12, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Here is the thing about the National Post and any Canadian newspaper in general. They are going to be beating the drum for another team in Canada no matter what. Most everything that you are going to read about this situation is going to have that pro Canada mentality because of where it is coming from.

    What are we to do about it, nothing. The easiest way to keep the Sabres in Buffalo and keep Buffalo on the NHL’s radar is to keep supporting the team. If we keep buying merchandise and buying tickets then its going to be very hard to justify to anyone that the Sabres are going to fold or be moved.

  2. 2 Katebits June 12, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Zach, I think you missed my point. (This isn’t really your fault. I don’t think I’m very clear with this post. I really struggled to figure out what I was trying to say.)

    I was purposefully trying to stay away from the actual Hamilton arguement. All I was trying to do with this post is to paint a more personal picture of how I’ve been approaching the Hamilton issue lately. I find the arguments for and against Hamilton in regards to the Sabres to be hollow, unsatisfying, and overall unconvincing (on both sides of the conversation).

    Basillie’s Hamilton team is going to happen (or not happen) because of some decision made in Arizona based on a legal technicality. Whether we “support” the Sabres has absolutely nothing to do with it. What’s good (or not good) for the Sabres has absolutely nothing to do with it.

    The point of this post isn’t “Here’s what I can do/read/believe/argue/purchase that will make me feel better about the Sabres’ long term viability in Buffalo.” My point is that reading about this topic fills me a vague anxiety. I believe that that anxiety could be used to propel me to do something good for the community, which would in turn ease my anxiety levels in general.

    Ultimately I’m realizing that if I want to be happy and proud of Buffalo, I should get off my ass and do something to help make Buffalo a happy and proud place to live. I should definitely NOT sit around waiting for the NHL to fill me with civic pride. That method actually worked for me for awhile, but the honeymoon is over. It’s a little sad, but it’s interesting to note that I personally have come full circle. I’ve eliminated the Sabres as a middleman in regards to my feelings about the community, and in return I have a lot more opportunity to feel good.

  3. 3 Sally June 12, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Well, this probably isn’t exactly what you were looking for, but I’m moving to Buffalo in July and I’d love to get a Katebits Tour! Showing off my favorite places in my hometown always forces me to remember what’s good and makes me feel a little better about it. I’ll keep my ears open for any interesting volunteer opportunities. Do you have any ideas yet?

  4. 4 Pookie June 12, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I don’t know Buffalo, of course, but I did find a nice looking website:

    http://www.volunteerbuffalo.com

    There was some cool looking stuff on there. Literacy Volunteers is a national thing, but it’s always sounded really awesome to me. There’s something on there about fixing up an arboretum which sounds like a very Goose-y thing to do.

    Serve.gov is another portal for all kinds of volunteer activities.

    You mentioned enjoying playing a concert at the old folk’s home. I bet if you called up the nearest one and offered to come in and play once a month or something, I bet they’d be delighted.

  5. 5 Katebits June 12, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Oooh. Thanks for doing some research for me, Pookie! I TOTALLY need someone to make it VERY easy for me. My initial thought was, “I should learn how to write grants.” Heh. No matter that writing grants is VERY HARD. :D I should probably start smaller.

  6. 6 Schnookie June 12, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    My initial thought was, “I should learn how to write grants.”

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Well, there’s something to be said for just jumping right in… :D

    (I bet if you get involved with the arboretum, Goose will marry you. I can’t imagine that he wouldn’t.)

  7. 7 Katebits June 12, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    I bet if you get involved with the arboretum, Goose will marry you. I can’t imagine that he wouldn’t.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::: And THERE’S the motivating shove that I need! I hope I didn’t sound too pollyanna-ish in this post, because truthfully, my motivations are EXTREMELY selfish. I want to feel pleased and proud of myself and my town. If I have to clean up an arboretum or marry Goose to do it, well, I’m willing to pay that price.

  8. 8 Pookie June 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    If I have to clean up an arboretum or marry Goose to do it, well, I’m willing to pay that price.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  9. 9 Schnookie June 12, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    If I have to clean up an arboretum or marry Goose to do it, well, I’m willing to pay that price.

    You’re a role model to us all, being willing to make that kind of sacrifice. If I lived in Buffalo, I’d be following your lead and signing up to make the community better RIGHT NOW. (Of course, I don’t live in Buffalo, and I’m lazy, so I think my community is just fine without me volunteering. :P)

  10. 10 mcguffers June 12, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    If I have to clean up an arboretum or marry Goose to do it, well, I’m willing to pay that price.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::: Always a giver!

  11. 11 Amanda June 16, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I’m a little late to the party here – having a 6mo makes it way harder to keep up on my favorite blogs, but I’ll put in a vote for my favorite charity. I’m a cancer survivor who was treated at Roswell Park, and they always need volunteers, both in the hospital itself and in the development (fundraising) dep’t if you feel uncomfortable in the hospital itself. Send me an e-mail if you’re interested in helping. I’m a 10-year volunteer for the Ride For Roswell, and it’s been a tremendous experience.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


