6 Things

1.I am suffering from the most absurd hockey lust EVER right now.  Since getting my season tickets I’ve experienced a flush of hockey enthusiasm that is absolutely prePOSterous considering that it’s mid-July.  At the end of the regular season I really didn’t care if I ever saw the Sabres again, and I can’t claim it’s the Sabres I miss now, but MAN I want to go to the arena and see a game from my little perch.  I’m really, really looking forward to the schedule coming out this week. It’s going to be a long, hockey-less summer.

2. I realize that we’ve still got two months to go before the season starts, but at this point last July we already had Rivet, and Crunchy’s extension was on the very near horizon.  Free agency has been a real drag so far this year.  I’m ready for Darcy to work this trading magic that I’ve always heard so much about.  Despite my eager-beaverness about the new season, right now we have no reason to believe that next season will be any different than the last two, except for the fact that it appears increasingly likely that we’ll be icing an “all toddler” defense this fall.

3. It’s my understanding that with young defensemen you have to make allowances for a certain amount of mistake making.  If we had FOUR relatively new guys (Butler, Sekera, Weber, and Myers), does that mean we need to expect to see four times the number of acceptable “new guy” mistakes?  (Somewhere in Michigan Ryan Miller just broke out in a cold sweat at the thought.)

It’s seems to me that if they choose to go with such a young defense, the Sabres might be opting to shift their main organizational goal for the year from “making the playoffs” to “developing the kids”.  It’s not necessarily bad, just interesting to note.

4. John Vogl wrote a little post on Sabres Edge about the idea of the Sabres “rebuilding” and it seems to have sparked quite a bit of commentary (82 comments, and counting).  It’s a topic I find interesting myself.

It’s pretty obvious that the Sabres are rebuilding (at least the defense) this season.  Personally, I find the word “rebuilding” to be fairly comforting as it implies a time frame (A rebuild has to end sometime, no?  Eventually they’ll be “built” and ready to win….right?) and a tacit acknowledgment that the management knows that it screwed up somewhere along the way and that they are now attempting to fix the mistake.

I realize that “rebuild” is just a word, and probably a hollow one at that, but….I like it.  It makes me feel better.  It helps me to believe that the Sabres are growing instead of treading water.  A rebuild makes the idea of having so many inexperienced blueliners much more palatable.   A rebuild is very appealing when compared to the Sabres official plan which seems to amount to, “Let’s hope Timmy and Crunchy stay healthy!”

In order to really sell the idea of a rebuild to me, the Sabres would have make at least one big change to the offense.  One of Darcy’s carefully drafted, groomed, and signed-to-long-term-contract guys would have to go.  I doubt Darcy has the stomach to trade a Pommers or a Roy-Z, but if he did, I think I would be a lot more patient in regards to the growth of the team.

5. I’ve been a little perplexed by Staffy’s contract situation recently.  I couldn’t figure out why he didn’t file for arbitration until Schnookie pointed out that because Stafford didn’t file, he’s still eligible to receive an offer sheet.

That little zombie bastard is totally shopping for an offer sheet right now, isn’t he?!

Staffy:  Mooooorrre braaaains.

6. Have I mentioned I want hockey to start right now?

8 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 Meg July 13, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I find the word “rebuilding” to be fairly comforting as it implies a time frame (A rebuild has to end sometime, no? Eventually they’ll be “built” and ready to win….right?)

    Kings: D’oh . . . we knew there was something we forgot! A time frame . . . genius!

    Thrashers: Do we need to build before we can rebuild?

  2. 2 John M. July 13, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Stafford isn’t eligible for arbitration. Don’t ask me, I don’t understand it either, I just know that arbitration was not an option for him.

    And take heart, if we end up with the four guys you list on Defense, that means that Darcy will have traded BOTH Tallinder and Lydman. I’m expecting Malkin in return. Make it happen Darcy.

  3. 3 mcguffers July 13, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I’m still hoping that Burke will realize he’s playing with 14 defensemen and give us Komisarek for Roy and a set of practice jerseys with the old goat head logo.

  4. 4 Katebits July 13, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Meg, :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: I was thinking of the Penguins or the Caps version of “rebuild”, but thanks for the reminder of how bad it can get. :D

    John M, Oooooh. Okay, that makes more sense. I do NOT understand the rules of free agency, but I was scratching my head trying to figure out Staffy’s motivation to NOT file for arbitration. Now I know- he can’t!

    Mcguffers, keep the dream alive! WOOOOO!

  5. 5 Phil July 13, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Don’t forget, Katebits, that during the end of the ’07/’08 season, Weber and Sekera absolutely beasted during their second call-up. Those boys know what’s up (at least, Weber seems to – Sekera looks like a lost puppy sometimes). Then you’ve got Butler who seems to not know the meaning of “rookie mistake” (perhaps he looked up “playing ahead of his years” instead). Add to the mix the possibility that Myers, who is a defensive juggernaut that will literally DRAG a player out of the crease (I’ve seen him do it), could play the season and I think Crunchy might be OK.

  6. 6 KozyShank July 13, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    :: wipes off eye crust ::

    Someone poke me with a sharp stick if Darcy does something of note, otherwise I’m going back to sleep in my cave in the gorge…Good Day

  7. 7 Katebits July 14, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Phil, the idea of all those guys panning out is SUPER exciting, but…I feel like I’ve been waiting for players to pan out for two years now. I’m losing faith, but if I think of it like, “Well, these kids are all going to suck, but it’s good for them to be out there so that they can develop,” I find the whole thing easier to imagine. I’m wary of assuming (except for maybe Butts) that any of those guys will be reliable NHL defensemen next season. Although, I had totally forgotten how hilariously steady Weber ans Sekera were at the end of 07-08. That was a hoot and super fun.

    KozyShank, sleep on brother.

  8. 8 Phil July 14, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Well, I’m just trying to be positive as another silent FA trudges onward.

    Now, if Peters gets resigned, then I’ll go full blown apeshitballs crazy


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


