Hope Springs Eternal

Today is the day!

I know that I complain a lot about our merry band of underachievers, but at my core, I’m an optimistic person and fan.  If I’m going to put this much time and energy into cheering for a team, I need to believe deep down that they might be good- that they could be good.  The good news is that I do.  I do believe the Sabres might be good this year.

The Marimba Ponies to get us in the mood.  This is their THIRD annual appearance on The Willful Caboose!  Can you believe it?!

I’ve always felt that this team has the talent to be good.  They’ve got the basic pieces.  Decent goalie? Goal scorers? Reasonably not-disasterous defense?  Check, check, aaaaannd, check.  So, maybe this is the year where some intangible feisty-ness reasserts itself in the locker room and the Sabre take off.  It could happen!

I am working tonight, so I won’t be at the game.  Ordinarily this would be cause for much pitiful wailing and relentless whining, but tonight we’re playing with Gil Shaham (one of the greatest violinists in the world) AND we’re playing Beethoven’s Ninth.  That’s one of the few programs in the world that could rival a Sabres opening night in terms of sheer joy inducement.

So, you guys hold down the fort at HSBC Arena tonight, and I’ll get my “Ode to Joy” on at Kleinhans, and then we can meet back here tomorrow to talk it all out.

Let’s Go Buff-a-lo!

3 Responses to “Hope Springs Eternal”


  1. 1 Gambler October 3, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Aww! Beaker is one of my favorite Muppets. I love the part at the beginning when he puts his finger up to the ear that is clearly not there.

    Have fun playing tonight, Kate! But here’s hoping you come home to an even better game (if that’s possible) on your DVR.

  2. 2 Amy October 3, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    That Mariba Ponies video will always make me smile.

    Have fun with Ode to Joy. It’s such a great piece of music.

  3. 3 Pookie October 3, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Ooooh, break a leg tonight! Or a bow. Or a Beaker.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


