7 Things

1. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

2. You guys, the Sabres are, like, my favorite. (Have you ever seen “Elf”?  For some reason tonight I kept thinking of that line, “I like smiling.  Smiling is my favorite.”  That’s how this game felt.)  This Sabres game was just so pleasant. I went with Heather B, and the game was never stressful or even particularly exciting, so we chatted happily, and it was just a nice time. I, for one, appreciate a nice mellow game from time to time.  I’m still getting adjusted to this new season of going to the games and then watching the Sabres….play well.  It’s weird, and wonderful.  Like I said, I just kind of let this game wash over me and I didn’t dwell much on the details, but the Sabres looked pretty good to me.

3. Marty Biron jumping Kaleta was pretty darn funny.

4. They played the baseball game on the jumbotron during the 2nd intermission at the arena tonight.  I thought that was a nice touch.  We happened to be watching when the Phillies knocked in their first run, and I was pleased that a healthy cheer went up in the crowd.  I do NOT understand Buffalonians who cheer for the Yankees.  The Yankees do not represent Buffalo in any way, shape, or form.  The Yankees are the opposite of Buffalo.  Cheering for the Yankees is totally lame.

5. Thomas Vanek scores goals when I complain about him.  It’s happened three times at the arena already this season.  As soon as I start calling him names, he starts scoring goals.  I like it when this happens.

6. About five minutes before the end of the game, I said to Heather, “You know what it’s time to start thinking about…?” and then I nodded at the scoreboard to indicate Crunchy’s looming shutout.  At the time, the score was 2-0, and we immediately started joking that if the Sabres scored again, it would allow Miller to relax enough to let in a softie.  And then, just like that, Goose scored! (Actually, it wasn’t “just like that”.  That goal required the longest goal review EVER.)  But Crunchy did NOT let in a softie, and so instead of a “Ryan Miller Shutout” he got a real shutout.  I’ve never seen him do that before.   I like it when he does that.

7. Please welcome the amazing, hilarious, and FABULOUS Jessica to the Sabres blogosphere.  Jessica is…well…she’s the best.  You’ll see.  Go to her blog.  You won’t be sorry.  Running with Sabres is TOP NOTCH.

8. 11:58 pm UPDATE: Hey, I just found a BONUS THING!  Roy-Z went 14 for 14 in the faceoff circle.

Dang!

Seriously.  Dang.

7 Responses to “7 Things”


  1. 1 Amy November 5, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Goose’s little face off clinics at practice must be working. Roy-Z, MacArthur and Kennedy were all faboo last night on the draw.

    I love that the phrase “Ryan Miller shutout” has taken on a life of it’s own. If RJ or Harry drop it in during a broadcast, I’d probably fall off my chair.

    Also, I cannot root for the Yankees. There’s something about them that seems so aloof, so arrogant, so superior. It just makes me unable to muster up any enthusiasm for them.

  2. 2 jessdudek November 5, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Kate,

    Thanks so much for your wonderful plug of my blog! I am both grateful and flattered. And feeling absolutely no pressure! :)

    I can personally corroborate your stated ability to make Thomas Vanek score goals at will. I have textual evidence. I believe that you also have that voodoo power over Gaustad, as that has happened twice now too!

    And, you are absolutely RIGHT about the Yankees. Buffalo is an underdog town through and through. There is NOTHING underdog about the Yankees.

    Jessica

  3. 3 S. Tooth November 5, 2009 at 10:47 am

    It’s all a matter of perspective.
    When I was in my boyhood in the eighties and early nineties, the Yankees were the underdogs (for perhaps the only era of their existence) while the A’s won all the time and had loudmouths like Henderson, Canseco and (shudder) McGwire. To this day, I loathe the A’s and root for the Yankees.

  4. 4 petek November 5, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I grew up in Cheektowaga with a Yankees-rooting father. It almost seemed to be an antibiotic for him.

    All through football and hockey season, he expected failure. But in baseball season, he had some hope of success.

    I married a Red Sox fan, and am a baseball agnostic myself, but I can understand (if not support) his reasoning.

  5. 5 Meghan November 5, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    3 Things in response to your 7:

    1. Biron jumping Kaleta was the highlight of the game for me. Marty was pretty fiesty last night, wasn’t he? Although, I would have loved to see Kaleta’s fist land inside Biron’s mask. (No offense, Marty)

    2. The best part of Goose’s goal was RJ’s comment. After the obnoxiously long review (seriously, Toronto, how long does it take to realize the puck was in the back of the net, well corner of the net LONG before any whistle) RJ comes out with a—“Is it too late for me to say ‘HE SCCCCCOOOOOOOOORRRRREEEEESSSS!'”. Good ole’ RJ!

    3. I have quite the crush on Goose. His smile and boyish charm is so freakin’ cute. Besides, he still has all of teeth–or at least he wears all of his teeth.

    4. (Okay, so I lied, there are 4 things) I’m going to the Edmonton game and I totally would love to be there for a shut-out! Heck, who am I kidding, I’d even take a Ryan Miller shut-out.

    Bring on the Flyers!!!

  6. 6 Kathleen November 6, 2009 at 1:28 am

    http://twitter.com/drewstafford/status/5470774237

    Is Staffy babysitting the puppy Pommerdoodle? That sounds like just a terrible idea.

    Oh, and a Katebits SHOUTOUT tonight!!! I was driving around Parkside on my way home from work (lost, miserable, and with a very nervous eye on the gas needle) with a junior hockey game on so I wouldn’t keep fiddling with the radio. I’m not sure what the lead in was because I was busy wondering how the eff I ended up in the Medaille campus, but the commentator piped up with “if you don’t know what truculence is, it does NOT mean playing smart hockey.”

  7. 7 mcguffers November 6, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    3. Marty Biron jumping Kaleta was pretty darn funny.

    With all this talk of sticking up for goaltenders and not letting them get run, I like to see Marty defend himself. Especially because Kaleta was definitely being a little punk there.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


