10-4-1 is a Pretty Decent Record

Perhaps my Sabres related mood is being excessively effected by my new season tickets….and it’s true, I wasn’t a fan during the halcyon “run and gun” years (when our captains were super heroes and goals grew on trees), but I can’t believe how many people I’ve heard bitching about the “boring Sabres game” today.

It’s not enough to win?  They have to win in a certain way?

They’re 10-4-1, you grumps!

Granted, they could start sucking at any moment, and they’ve largely been playing crappy teams, BUT STILL.  I think everyone who is complaining about the Sabres needs to consult their copy of “The Power of Now” and just enjoy the fact that the Sabres are leading the division, and Ryan Miller is being ULTRA SASSY.

Things are going well.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

14 Responses to “10-4-1 is a Pretty Decent Record”


  1. 1 Anne November 12, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    But they WERE at ONE POINT in their history UNDEFEATED in their first 10 games!! Anything less is UNACCEPTABLE.

  2. 2 Katebits November 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Hm. You’re right, Anne. Let’s just forfeit the rest of the season. The Sabres will NEVER be as good as the team that lost the ECF in 5 games AGAIN. IT’S HOPELESS. :P

  3. 3 Heather B. November 12, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Kate, I just heard a tiny snippet of Schopp and the Bulldog complaining about how boring the game was and I had the same reaction. We’re winning! More than we’re losing! Yay! I’d rather watching a boring team win than an exciting team lose and I could not care less if ESPN or Joe Schmoe in Idaho knows or would watch the Sabres.

  4. 4 Katebits November 12, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Word, Heather. *fist bump*

  5. 5 Grrrreg November 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I wish I could complain because the habs are winning in a boring way… :P

  6. 6 PKB November 12, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    I kind of wonder how much fans like many of the players on the Sabres. Who are the likable players on this team? They’re a collection of bruised bananas. We all love banana bread but I’ll always pass on a mushy banana.

  7. 7 Shelby Rose November 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    If the Sabres could win every game 20-1, then they would do it so NO game was ever boring!

    Then again, they should be able to score twenty goals every game! Unacceptable effort.

  8. 8 Katebits November 12, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    PKB, I think that’s a valid point, and I’m certainly not saying that I think everyone in town should be madly in love with the Sabres, I guess I was just a bit surprised reading the blogs and listening to the radio today. The tone struck me as odd, mostly because I really enjoyed the game last night (grievous injury aside), and they did, in fact, win.

    But, for the record, I think our thrid and forth lines are pretty likable, and I totally enjoy cheering for them. If the Sabres are going to win by leaning on a rag tag group of hard working grinders, fine by me! In fact, WOOOOO!

  9. 9 Phil November 12, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    For all the boring hockey they’re supposedly playing, I have a crap load of fun watching the mechanical precision of some of our players. Maybe I’m weird, but I get a little too excited watching our third and fourth lines dominate play.

  10. 10 Kitten November 13, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    PKB, we can certainly learn to love them if they keep playing this way.

  11. 11 Mark B November 13, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Kate, I’m with you. I’d take a whole season of winning 2-1 games if it meant a playoff seed. Darned complainers!

  12. 12 Mike in Idaho November 13, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I could not care less if ESPN or Joe Schmoe in Idaho knows or would watch the Sabres.

    My name isn’t Joe but that still hurts :D My wife is a big Sabres fan and she votes for them rain or shine, boring or exciting. She does like to yell “We want 10” though when applicable, she’s mean like that.

  13. 13 Heather B. November 13, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Mike in Idaho, no personal offense intended. :D

  14. 14 ToonTom November 16, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Miller consistently making 30 saves. Team averaging 33 shots per game. Great rookies like Myers and Kennedy contributing like veterans. Kaleta reminding one of Esa Tikkanen. Team is 12-4-1. How does someone get boring out of that?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


