5 Things

1. Robin and I have been treated to a variety of fanTAStic games at the arena this year.   This is in sharp contrast to our first year in the stands when every game felt like a (heinously boring) march to the scaffold.  We’ve been spoiled by these winning ways, and yesterday during the second period we began joking around.

Kate: This game has gotten a little boring.
Robin: It totally has.  They haven’t scored in, like, five minutes.  (EDITORS NOTE: The score was 4-0, Sabres at the time of this conversation.)
Kate: This game no longer pleases me.
Robin: (laughing) Me either.
(pause)
Robin: (sinisterly)…….drop in the lions….

2. In reality, the game was not boring at ALL, it was just good relaxing fun.  WOOOO!

3. We sit almost exactly on the “shoot once” goal line.  When the puck is down on the other end of the rink, we can see most of the action, but because of our angle (and the fact that the players are all standing between us and the net) we never actually see the puck go into the net down there.  At first this was a bummer, but I’ve completely fallen in love with our “goal alert system”, which incidentally is not the goal light or the horn.  In the split second after a Sabres goal is scored, that entire half of the lower bowl leaps to its feet in unison, arms in the air.  It’s a really cool effect from my seat, and one that I don’t think conveys very well on television.  I think there is something charming about how news of the goal is telegraphed down the rink by the celebration of the fans.  The visual effect is awesome, and the emotional effect is warm fuzzies.

4. It’s amazing how much the drunken fans who are shouting “Go Habs Go” don’t bother you when your team is kicking their teams ass.

5. The first two periods were so hilariously lopsided that in order to make a game out of the game, Robin and I began focusing our energy on keeping the Habs shot total to less than 9.  That’s 3 shots per period.

11 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 Grrrreg December 4, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I’ve always loved to see an entire stadium jumping after a goal (I’ve mostly experienced it with soccer, but it works too). Actually, it’s even more impressive (but far less enjoyable) when you’re seeing your team play in another team’s stadium, and the home team scores. Seeing 20 000+ people jump and scream as an outsider is a weird feeling.

    About last night, well I’m glad you had a good time. The Habs are putrid. They’ve been buttkicked by both the Leafs and the Sabres this week. I’m really not looking forward to the centennial game against Boston tonight. The whole hockey world seems to be waiting for this inevitable disaster with a huge grin. It’s not really enjoyable. :/

  2. 2 mcguffers December 4, 2009 at 11:40 am

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: to the conversation between you and Robin! I started watching the Celtic game during the third period.

    It’s amazing how much the drunken fans who are shouting “Go Habs Go” don’t bother you when your team is kicking their teams ass.

    I heard Ole-ing after the second goal. For a minute I thought maybe the score had gotten inverted on the scoreboard.

  3. 3 Anne December 4, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    I can’t remember the last time I actually looked at the goal light to see if someone scored. The goal light is for amateurs. The drunken dude next to you screaming is a MUCH more effective goal judge. He also likes to help out calling penalties as well, I’ve found.

  4. 4 Brendan December 4, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    RE #3: that’s a side effect of them moving the goal judges to the press box. It used to be that you could rely on the red-light going off to accurately signal everyone that a goal had been scored. I think not having goal judges behind the net is one of the dumber things the NHL has done. When they figure out a way to automatically detect when the puck has crossed the goal line, I’ll be over it though.

  5. 5 Katebits December 4, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    mcguffers, I am completely entranced by the idea of inserting lions into a hockey game when things get a little slow. Can you imagine?

  6. 6 Matt December 4, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Thank you for offering that Pommers trade for me to reject. I think it was just the thing to light a fire under his arse. He was **flying** last night!!

  7. 7 Shelby December 4, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    I couldn’t believe how long it took the Habs to wake up last night. 14 shots or something to their 3 in the first period last night? Wow.

  8. 8 mcguffers December 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Katebits, I totally see Crunchy standing at center ice yelling, “Did I not entertain you?” as RJ gives the thumbs down signaling the Zamboni doors to open and lions to come running out. :D Which I think might have also worked better for Ottawa if they had incorporated that in the centurion/playoff thinger.

  9. 9 Amy December 4, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I totally see Crunchy standing at center ice yelling, “Did I not entertain you?”

    While using his net as the equivalent of an olde tyme lion tamer’s chair.

  10. 10 Katebits December 4, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    mcguffers and Amy, :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: It’s bonkers, because Ryan referenced that EXACT quote on The Goose’s Roost the other day, but I don’t think Robin reads The Roost.

    Matt, I actually meant to email you about Pommers today. I swear my motivation with that trade proposal was just to provide a small shift in his on ice fortunes (I believe STRONGLY that my fantasy moves effect real life hockey). I thought I could rehabilitate real-life Pommerdoodle by inserting him into the Bits lineup. But I think you’re right! Your decision not to trade him must have been the shot in the arm he needed. He played with the confidence of a man who knows he is appreciated and needed. WOOO!

  11. 11 Janeen December 4, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    It’s amazing how much the drunken fans who are shouting “Go Habs Go” don’t bother you when your team is kicking their teams ass.

    Ohhh, I was so ELATED to not hear that frickin’ OLE song… it was silence to me ears. =)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


