Just You Wait.

Thomas Vanek is an interesting bird these days.   I thought he played visibly well on Thursday, which is the highest possible ranking on Katebits’ Vanek assessment Scale.  (The Vanek assessment Scale is rather simple.  There are two possible ratings: He’s either totally invisible, and so he is ranked “Lame” or he grabs my attention and he is ranked, “Supreme Being.”)

In the first year after he signed his contract, he sucked eggs and so did the team, and we were all, “Vanek is a slag-faced whore.”  In his second year after the contract, he played like a god while the rest of the team sucked eggs, and we were all, “For thine is the Kingdom and the Vanek and the Glory, forever and ever, Amen.”  THIS year, he’s been kind of…medium, but as a whole the team has been very strong.  His lack of goal scoring, for the most part, has been absorbed by the overall sassiness of the team.

As a result, I think we’re watching an interesting stage of his development.  The team seems to have FINALLY bought into Lindy’s system, and right now Vanek is just another cog in the wheel.  Vanek is not under intense pressure to perform, which I think is good because his grim, “This is all my fault,” routine has always irritated me.  In spite of his slow start, he looks relaxed, and he’s been productive enough.

I noticed that he got some penalty killing time on Thursday, which is Lindy’s way of saying, “I love you like a son.”  It’s very very very important that Lindy loves Vanek like a son, because apparently there is almost nothing Lindy could do to get fired, and the Sabres can’t afford to pay another slag-faced whore of Vanek’s caliber.  Those two have to work well together.  As long as Lindy and Vanek trust one another, things are going well.

I got to thinking-  imagine what will happen when his streakiness shifts to “hot” (and we KNOW it will happen eventually).  If Vanek can turn on his dominate scoring game in the middle of this highly controlled, well-organized system, just IMAGINE the damage he could inflict.

It makes me happy to think about.

3 Responses to “Just You Wait.”


  1. 1 Kathleen December 5, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    “This is all my fault,” routine has always irritated me. In spite of his slow start, he looks relaxed, and he’s been productive enough.

    Ye-es, but I do remember distinctly from the post-Caroline presser Lindy talking about Vanek’s lack of confidence, and I don’t think that was the first time he’s mentioned it this season. So I don’t think that aspect of his mental game is all better, but I agree that the team’s general productivity must take a lot of the pressure off. And I also have no doubt that he’ll get hot soon enough. All we have to do is wait for TV’s inevitable streak… and his forthcoming volume of poetry.

  2. 2 Mark B December 5, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    And I think his new line could mean big things. Griersy is keeping him on task and loose – yeah, I know it seems conflicting, but it’s not! And Tim Kennedy is salivating to have a sniper to go with his not inconsiderable play making skills. Thomas will be breaking out real soon!


  1. 1 Declaration of Confusing War « The Willful Caboose Trackback on October 21, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


