8 Things

1. WOOOOOOOO!  As grossed out as I was by the Sabres against the Devils, I was pleased with them against the Caps.

2. You know what is blowing my mind lately?  They actually do seem different this season. I think we still have to wait and see if “different” actually turns out to mean “better” by the end of the year, but I’m starting to believe that this team has actually bought into Lindy’s system.  It’s totally weird.

3. One of the big questions still unanswered is whether or not our top six can thrive in this system.  If they can’t, can the team get by without a big time scoring line?  It’s difficult to imagine the Sabres getting very far without a scary scoring threat, but we’ve been saying that for two months now, and they’re (more or less) doing alright for themselves.  I’ve still got my fingers crossed that Vanek will come roaring back.  I’m less hopeful about the rest of them.  We’ll see.

4. I think I might be falling for the L.A. Kings.  It started with a minor crush on Kopitar at the beginning of the season when he was scoring left and right, but even now I keep finding myself watching their games late at night.

5. That was definitely a dive by Ovechkin AND a penalty by Roy.  I think it’s time for all of us to stop pretending like it’s impossible to have both a dive and a penalty.  I’m pretty sure I’ve been guilty of squawking about this in the past, but I was wrong.  Roy-Z tripped him, and then Ovechkin pinwheeled himself comically into the air.  I think you can make an argument that the penalty negates the dive, but I think diving calls are funny (especially against Ovechkin), so I’m firmly against that line of reasoning.

6. This morning, right as I was leaving for work I realized, “Whoops.  I guess I’m the one who has to shovel the snow in front of my house.”   I literally didn’t think of it until I found myself ankle deep in snow and nearly late for work.  Homeownership is hard.

7. A few weeks ago Robi showed us how the Sabres have been using a little sneak play where they all go charging through the neutral zone, and then the guy with the puck drops it back to the guy behind him.  Apparently this freezes the opposition and allows the Sabre who picks up the drop pass (usually Tim Connolly) to skate effortlessly over the blueline.  Ever since Robi used his big television to explain this play it’s all I can see when I watch the games.  It seems so dippy and obvious, but it works most of the time.  I can’t believe that the other teams haven’t picked up on this yet.  Are they stupid?

8. Dude, Crunchy is so awesome.

UPDATE BONUS THING: Henrik Tallinder (fueled by love for Heather B) IS BACK, BABY.  Seriously, he really does seem to be back.  His coast-to-coast goal was suh-weet.

14 Responses to “8 Things”


  1. 1 Heather B December 10, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I think a play definitely can be a penalty and a dive. There was a point where the NHL was all up in arms about all the diving though, and I think if getting rid of diving is the goal, the dive should negate the penalty and only the diver should sit in the box. Diving doesn’t make me see red the way it does some however so I’m not super passionate either way on this one.

    No mention of Hank? Sad. :(

    (:P)

  2. 2 Katebits December 10, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    There you go! It’s fixed Heather! (That really was an oversight. I meant to mention Hank.)

    The dive should negate the penalty? Hm.

  3. 3 Pookie December 10, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    No, the dive should NOT negate the penalty. If I t-bone your car at a stop sign and then you pretend to have suffered whiplash and falsely report it to the insurance company, am I suddenly no longer guilty of reckless driving?

  4. 4 Schnookie December 10, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Oooh, you tell ’em, Pookie! When there’s a legitimate infraction AND a dive, the just call is to penalize both players. I don’t understand why this causes so much consternation!

  5. 5 Katebits December 10, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks, Pookie! I knew there was something I didn’t like about that, but I couldn’t figure out why. Heh.

  6. 6 Matt December 10, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Am I the only one that saw the dive and screamed at the TV “Ovie you dive like Greg Louganis…. BADLY!”?

  7. 7 Pookie December 10, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    No problem! I’m always glad to help spread the word of “call two-and-two, ref!” A while ago the League was keeping a list of frequent divers. I wonder if they’re still doing that.

  8. 8 frisbee December 10, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Greg Louganis was great at diving. And I thought the Ovie dive was spectacularly theatrical – like someone told him that the way to really sell a dive is to add flair with all appendages at once. Totally penalty-worthy, but also worth a delighted laugh on my couch.

    And hot-damn, your boys looked good last night…although I will never accept the pronunciation of Tallinder’s name.

  9. 9 Heather B December 10, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    The two and two doesn’t bother me at all. Like I said, I will happily watch someone on my team dive as long as he does it well and he isn’t stupid about it. But I know some people feel like diving is a blight and their argument is often that a 2 minute penalty for diving doesn’t really do anything to discourage diving because it’s never, ever called by itself so it’s never a detriment to the diver’s team. The diver’s team is never short-handed, just evened up. I think that’s an interesting point, that’s all.

  10. 10 Grrrreg December 10, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    I’m also big on the Kings right now. They’re one of my western conference darlings.

  11. 11 Anne December 10, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Fall for the Kings! Fall for them! Drew Dowdy repaid your love by scoring two points last night! Love!

  12. 12 george December 10, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    You’d have been head over heels for the Kings back in the day when they were truly exotic in the purple and gold with Taylor, Simmer and Dionne.

  13. 13 Pookie December 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Heather, I think we’re talking about two different things. I think diving is a blight on the game and I definitely think when a player dives and the other player involved didn’t do something penalty-worthy, only the dive should be called. This happens, and it should be called. But if the other player does do something penalty-worthy, it should also be called.


  1. 1 Our Thoughts About… « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on December 13, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


