3 Things

1. I’m starting to think that when Pominville scored his shortie in ’06, some sort of evil juju was unleashed upon the Sabres.  Almost nothing but evil sorcery can account for this level of dominance of one team over another.  The Senators are clearly dabbling in the dark arts.  It’s weird that the Sens are using their evil magiks to thwart the Sabres when they could be using them to be less overall lame, but whatever.  The confusing motivations of the Sens does nothing to change the fact that we might need Harry Potter on the case if we ever hope to see the Sabres beat the Sens again.  Does anyone have Harry Potter’s email address?

2. I think Kevin’s got this one pretty well covered (seriously, go read that post), but I’ll join in and say that the Ruutu head shot was completely disgusting.  That didn’t even look like an attempt to board Kaleta.  It looked like Ruutu purposefully elbowed him in the head.   I think in the vast majority of bad hits there really is reasonable grounds to justify it away (it’s a fast game, the player moved at the last second before the hit, blah blah blah), but this one is just….gross.  Through and through.  Kaleta didn’t make a sudden move that left him more vulnerable, and Ruutu pretty obviously targeted his head.  Fuck you, Ruutu.

3. One of the best things about my job is that sometimes it prevents me from watching Sabres games.  I had every intention of watching the Sens game on a DVR delay, but I was mercifully spared.  You see, I get those dumb texts from the Sabres telling me the final score at the end of the games.  I’ve been meaning to shut this service off for months because it’s usually just annoying, but I’m lazy, so I never got around to it.  Last night as I was leaving my rehearsal, my phone chirped that I had a new text and without thinking, I looked down at my phone.   I didn’t even see the score because I looked away quickly when I realized the text was from the Sabres, BUT, I did see that the text was very, very short.  A short text from the Sabres can only mean one thing- they were shut out, and therefore they couldn’t list the names of the guys that scored.  The hideousness threat of a DVRed shutout against the Sens was too daunting, so I read the text.  The Hockey Gods were looking out for me and I didn’t have to stay up until 1am watching that mess of a game.  Thank you, Hockey Gods!

7 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 capsworth December 17, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Yeah, I unsubscribed from that text service. Had to. After the demands of work and married life meant I couldn’t count on being home at 7 to watch every game (and every VEINSVEINSVEINS commercial) live, I quickly took to late-night DVR solo sessions – and no text alerts from would-be spoilers. That meant unsubscribing from the Sabres and berating exuberant/despondent friends, who now know to maintain radio silence until we’re all living fully in the present.

    Even on weekends when we’ll have some social event to attend in the evening, we’ll come home long after midnight and I’ll start up the tape, with jerseys and Sabres flag hanging from the rafters of the living room and my wife heading off to bed – but not before wondering how I got so crazy.

    Last night was a DVR night, and it was brutal. Glad you were spared!

    Swearing vengeance on Ruutu…

  2. 2 Kathleen December 17, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    The “expert” response to the Ruutu hit is absolutely disgusting. First, they couldn’t get be assed to get their facts straight. Then, they decide it doesn’t really matter because it’s just Patrick Kaleta, and he’s annoying – because apparently the safety of some players is more important than others. It’s especially infuriating in light of the many writers (bloggy and pro) covering the Sabres who’ve been diligently objective when discussing Kaleta’s transgressions.

    Ruutu is just gross gross gross. Headhunter for sure.

    (And thanks for the shoutout in your last post! I’ve never been called brassy before though… I’m scared.)

  3. 3 Shauna December 18, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I’m sorry your rino got hit in the balls.

  4. 4 Shauna December 18, 2009 at 1:02 am

    make that ‘rhino’…my spelling is the shit.

  5. 5 Phil December 18, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Expecto Patronum produces a giant, angry, shiny white Buffalo?

  6. 6 S. Tooth December 18, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I would put the evil juju before Jason Pominville’s goal. The Sens dominated us before that as well. During the regular season, they were only 3-5 vs. the Sens, which is not quite as abysmal as lately, but not great either.

  7. 7 S. Tooth December 18, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Also: The Sabres have not beaten the Blue Jackets since 2003-2004. They also didn’t play them though for two years after that. But STILL.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


