I’m Sorry, But I have to Talk About This.

You guys, apparently we’re halfway through the hockey season.  On one hand, this makes me happy because half a season is certainly enough to say, “Dude, the Sabres are pretty effing good at hockey,” but on the other hand if I think too much about how quickly this season had gone, I’m going to start fretting about being plunged back into the boring, hockey-less off season.

But, that’s not the thing I have to talk about.

I need to talk about…..the playoffs.

I KNOW!  It’s WAY too soon.  A million things could happen, the seasons is FAR from over, and it’s just way, way, way, way, way, too soon to be counting our chickens…..but I can’t help it.  I’ve been thinking about the playoffs, and the more I tell myself it’s too soon, the more I find myself in all atwitter, and I just OMG, THE SABRES MIGHT (MIGHT!  MIGHT!  I SAID MIGHT!) GET TO THE PLAYOFFS.

As you all know (because I say it every ten seconds), I am a new fan.  This would be my first crack at seeing my team in the playoffs, and the mere thought of sitting in the arena and watching the Sabres play a playoff game, well, it fills my heart with pride and joy.

I just had to say it: I’ve been thinking about the playoffs lately.

15 Responses to “I’m Sorry, But I have to Talk About This.”


  1. 1 katie January 4, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    i’ve been thinking about the playoffs too.

    my parents are planning 16th annual family trip to florida- in june!
    and im trying not to be like “well if the sabres keep being not bad at hockey……. we might have a problem with this”

    but i cant help it!

  2. 2 Caroline January 4, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I think we’ve all been thinking about it. The fans are chomping at the bit. There is NOTHING like going to a playoff game…nothing like it at all.

  3. 3 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 4, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Well, now you’ve done it. (And I think it’s a bit late to be dragging out the “I’m new at this” defense. You totally know better.) Bring on the late-season Ottawa juggernaut…

    On the plus side, now we’ll be able to wallow in playoff-less misery together. I’ll bring the marshmallows and the hooch. You bring the graham crackers and the bitterness.

  4. 4 george January 4, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Bitterness? You really have gone native! :)

  5. 5 Heather B. January 4, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Kate, I’m really excited for you to go to a playoff game. The stress, excitement, and fun are like nothing you can experience in the regular season. Awesomeness.

  6. 6 Katebits January 4, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    george, don’t listen to Sam. He’s just jealous . :P (He’s a Wild/Flyers fan.)

    Heather, when I was at the Thrashers game the other night and they were trying to get to overtime (I think ATL got a late PP or something?) I started to get kind of nervous and for some reason I thought, “Sweet merciful heavens. What if this were a playoff game?!

    I want it BAD.

    But I need to calm down. It’s too soon.

  7. 7 Jessica January 4, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Kate–

    I am of two minds here. First, I am incredulous that you dared to utter the P-word only halfway through the season! Buuuuttt, you are SO enthusiastic and excited about it that I don’t have the heart to take you to task for it. The playoffs truly RULE.

    I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the playoffs, but strangely enough, I may be even more excited to have YOU experience them for the first time as a fan than I am for ME to experience them again. Maybe it will kinda be like when I took Thing 1 and Thing 2 to their first playoff game, except that you and I can have drinks together. Playoffs + drinks REALLY rules.

  8. 8 Heather B. January 4, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Kate, I’ll just tell you, that Thrashers game was a drop in the bucket compared to the level of emotion in the postseason. A DROP IN THE BUCKET, my friend.

  9. 9 Katebits January 4, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Oh, I know, Heather. (Especially since the emotion of the Thrasher game was mostly, “I canNOT believe that the Sabres came back from 0-3 AGAIN”. It wasn’t really a tense situation. Hilarious is more like it.) EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!

    Jessica, I’m kind of hoping that I’m getting excited SO early that the Hockey Gods won’t even notice. And I was VERy careful not to make any assumptions. All I said was that the idea of the playoffs was exciting. :D Oh, and I’d probably be too drunk to see the ice at a playoff game. It might be my only defense against the nervousness.

  10. 10 Jessica January 5, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Oh the nervousness! I forgot about that! It is a CONSTANT state. All day long on game day, and then the next day talking about the game the day before and the upcoming one the next day.

    And the coaches’ post-game press conferences! I was just tonight discussing Ken Hitchcock (who may be fired from Columbus soon) and his “Tell Lindy to Eff off” storming from the podium press conference. I am about to cry with the missing of it.

    You were VERY careful. You are no dummy for sure. Plus, right now I bet the Hockey Gods are preoccupied with the hubris of the Western Conference and how they are just SO MUCH better than the East that all the Eastern teams should just give up now. Curses on the Western Conference. And the Carolina Hurricanes.

  11. 11 Grrrreg January 5, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Ooh, I can’t believe you’ve never watched the Sabres in the postseason! This is nuts! I stopped thinking of you as a “new” fan long ago. After surviving one playoffs run, you’ll totally be a seasoned veteran fan, Kate. :)

  12. 12 Mark B January 5, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I’ve thought about the playoffs a lot lately. But then my logical self usually slaps me a around a bit. But then my hopeful self fights back a little. It’s pretty ugly.

  13. 13 HarryHood January 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    There is nothing more exciting than playoff hockey when your team is involved. I pace the room and act like a maniac during a Sabres playoff game.

    Katebits, I’ll say it for you:

    “If Crunchy stays healthy, this team makes the playoffs.” For Sure.

  14. 14 Glenn January 6, 2010 at 2:49 am

    …now you have me thinking about all those foxy playoff beards!

  15. 15 elise January 6, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Play-offs are the absolute best!!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


