Huzzah!

My day was full of shenanigans (or as we say in the shenanigan business, “shenans”), so I didn’t see one single second of that game, but HOT DAMN, SABRES.  HOT. DAMN.

– Tyler Myers is so tall and so fabulous that I think I might want to marry him.  For a long time I just wanted to mother him, so this is a confusing/interesting new development.

– After a lifetime of being a cat person, suddenly I am very seriously considering getting a dog.  I am NOT KIDDING when I tell you I spent on hour online today looking at available labradoodle puppies in the WNY region.  I think I might actually want one of those guys.  If I get a labradoodle, I’ll have to name him “Jason”.

– I’ve recently been spending a lot of time with a four-year-old superhero-obsessed friend and last night he announced that he had some “new moves”, so he loaded up the CD player with his favorite song, and then he proceeded to do series of “power moves” (which looked a lot like spastic karate/dancing) while waving giant fluttery scarves.  It was….incredibly awesome.  Also, inspiring.

13 Responses to “Huzzah!”


  1. 1 SueInVirginia January 9, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I was always a cat person. I have a seal point siamese who has quite the personality. Six years ago an opportunity arrived to adopt a 1 year old retriever mix. I took it. Like that lady in the HSBC commercial — “It took me three months to love him”. He’s a big goof, afraid of the cat but he’s “my boy”. So, what I’m saying is go for it. Dogs are awesome!

  2. 2 Glenn January 9, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I’m a total dog person, so I totally support the dog development. Oh, and btw, did you see Ryan’s interview after the game? VINTAGE Crunchy-ness!!!!!

  3. 3 Shelby January 9, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I’m a lover of both dogs and cats. I’ve had them in the household my whole life but after moving, we now only have two cats. It’s weird not having to take an animal out when they have to go to the bathroom, or having to physically feed them their food.

  4. 4 Pookie January 9, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Jason is a fabulous name for a dog (although I say, stick to cats — they’re so much easier to deal with when you travel to MN or beyond; I’m practical like Crunchy that way, heh).

    Also, those power moves sound awesome. I bet that’s Goose’s warm-up before games.

  5. 5 sallypants January 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Cats are better! I’m gonna get another one and name him Michael del Gato!

    I know a kid just like the one you mentioned but he’s 7 or 8 now. He has the raddest moves!

  6. 6 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 9, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Re: 4-year-old superheroes – you need to go to iTunes right now and download the song Fly, by Eddie From Ohio. This will immediately become this kid’s new theme song. Lyrics here:

    http://efohio.com/index.php?page=songs&display=23&category=This_Is_Me

  7. 7 Heather B. January 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Kate, talk to Mark. We only got Marlowe because *I* wanted her but now Mark would choose her over me in a heartbeat.

  8. 8 Amy January 9, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I love puppy window-shopping on the internet! A local rescue has a Basset Hound/Golden Retriever mix that is just adorable.

  9. 9 Courtney S.F. January 9, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    1. I wholeheartedly second Sam’s song suggestion. It is awesome! Everything by Eddie from Ohio is awesome, but that one is one of my faves. I’m sure it is on one of the many mix CD’s I’ve made y’all over the years.

    2. Given my general feelings about dogs, I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but you should totally get a labradoodle. My brother Wade has one named Hutch (because they got him in Hutchinson, MN) and he is the only dog I have ever loved. I love him. He is so nice and his hair is soft and hypoallergenic and curly, just like ours.

  10. 10 Schnookie January 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Wait, you’re getting a dog? I don’t think I can ever visit you then. :P

  11. 11 Mark B January 9, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Kate, I have converted from a cat lover to a dog lover since we got Marlowe. Dogs are amazing. I couldn’t live without her now.

    But it depends on what you want. If you want less work and maintenance, a cat would work. On the other hand, if you would like a companion that loves you more than its own life, but takes a lot of patience and care, the dog is for you.

    I may be biased, but I think the second choice is worth it. I hope you get Jason and bring her over to play with my little girl!

  12. 12 Cecilia January 10, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    – Tyler Myers is so tall and so fabulous that I think I might want to marry him. For a long time I just wanted to mother him, so this is a confusing/interesting new development.

    This is me exactly. My completely platonic hockey crush on Big Easy is very quickly turning creepily non-platonic. What are these feelings??? I feel like a hormonal teenager all over again.


  1. 1 3 Things « The Willful Caboose Trackback on January 10, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


