I’m HOME!

I know!  I didn’t even tell you guys that I had left!

Last week, I wrote a whole post about how I was going to Portland to see my sister and my BFF and her zillions of children, and right as I was about to hit “publish” it suddenly occurred to me, “Hey.  Hold the phone.  Maybe I shouldn’t announce to the internet every I leave town.  What if one of my degenerate readers (no offense, dear readers, but that’s what I call you when you have your back turned- “degenerates” [juuust kidding]) breaks into my house and steals my six foot ladder or my stash of emergency Wild Cherry Luden’s?  It was a risk I wasn’t willing to take, so I didn’t tell you that I was going to be in Portland.

Anyhooch, I just got home from Portland last night.  (By the way, Portland is the BOMB-DIGGITY.  To put Portland’s bomb-diggityness into perspective, here’s a story: At some point during the week we decided we wanted Ethiopian food, and as soon as the decision was made, we had to decide which Ethiopian restaurant we wanted.  The high end one?  The hole-in-the-wall?  Or the family friendly one?  Awesome.  I often wish Buffalo had a wider variety of food.)

I spent a lot of time with my BFF’s children.  She’s got a four-year-old boy and three-month-old twin girls.  I’ve long known that babies are hardcore, but TWO babies is just redonk. Toss a 4-year-old into the mix, and things get real bonkers, real fast.  But it was incredible fun, and I miss them all already.

I can’t believe how long it’s been I’ve seen the Sabres play.  I’m READY.

11 Responses to “I’m HOME!”


  1. 1 Amy January 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Welcome back to Buffalo!

    TWO babies is just redonk. Toss a 4-year-old into the mix, and things get real bonkers, real fast.

    As a sports nut friend of mine said after his third kid was born, when there’s two adults and two kids, you can play man to man defense. When you add another kid, you’ve got to play zone and it throws off your game.

  2. 2 Phil January 13, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Katebits, really? Wider variety of food? Dear transplant, don’t yet forget that in Buffalo you have Greek, Italian, Thai, Cajun, Korean, Jamaican, sushi, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Indian, Vietnamese, Irish, and Buffalo!

    That being said, I am now intensely curious as to what Ethiopian food is like.

  3. 3 Caroline January 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Welcome home! Which Portland did you visit? Oregon or Maine?

  4. 4 Ashley January 13, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    redonk is right. we miss you already.

  5. 5 Katebits January 14, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Amy, :^:::::::::::::::::::

    Phil, I’m not knocking the food we do have, I’m just saying, I could use more! (Ethiopian food is a variety of saucy meats and vegetable/bean dishes. And you eat everything without silverware using this funky spongy bread to grab your bites. It’s quite tasty!)

    Caroline, I was in Portland, Oregon: Land of Goose. :D

    Hi Ash! Give everyone a smooch from me!

  6. 6 SueInVirginia January 14, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I know someone who lives there and hates it. She is from Texas and luurrves her Texas so you might see why she doesn’t like Portland. Ah well, to each his own.
    I would like to visit there sometime.

  7. 7 Kathleen January 14, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Welcome back, Katebits! There is an Ethiopian restaurant in Rochester which I’ve heard is good.
    My coworker has the same kitlet setup except the boy is sixish instead of four. Fun times.

  8. 8 george January 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Kate, we DO have a wide variety of food: fried, grilled and frozen. Plus, you can brag, on a relative basis, about our abundant sunshine! ;)

    Sue, I lived in TX for 10 years. They don’t like anyplace that’s not TX. That ad campaign of theirs, “It’s like a whole other country”, is not hyperbole.

    Go Sabres!

  9. 9 Mike January 14, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Portland is a fantastic city. My job sends me there every July and I love its charm and laid-back nature. A wide variety of things to do doesn’t hurt, either. This past year, my wife and 2-year-old daughter were able to join me for the first time and they loved it too.

  10. 10 Phil January 14, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Oh my, Ethiopian food sounds delicious!

    And I’ve heard very good things about Portland, and given my personality, I think I just might like to visit and maybe take in a Winterhawks game or something.

  11. 11 Mike in Idaho January 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Kate, I live a mere 6 hour drive from Portland and would like to know the name of the Ethiopian restaurant you went to since I have to go there in April. Your description of the food intrigues me. I presume I can mention your name for some sort of discount?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


