Casa di Sabres Bloggers

A few hours into the Buffalosportsbloggercon 2010 I got the idea to do a post where I compare each blogger/blog to a specific Sabre.  I thought it would be a cute post, so I started to quietly size everyone up and match them to a player.

Perhaps it was just the warm glow of beer and the company of fun people that made me think that was good idea, because in the harsh light of a somewhat hung over morning, it occurred to me that there is NO WAY I can pull that off.  I mean, how can I possible be all, “So-and-so is Tim Connolly.  His talent is dazzling, but he’s kind of yucky, and he’s certainly riddled with venereal disease.”?  And let’s face it, if I’m honest with myself, TWC is going to wind up being Derek Roy; all flash, no substance, and inevitably lying on the sidewalk on Chippewa Street in my flip-flops, laughing hysterically at my own jokes.  The whole post was just a bad idea.

So, I will not be doing that post.  Instead I will just say this: Thank you Buffalo bloggers for being so fun, enthusiastic, and all-around foxy.  One of the most unexpected and delightful aspects of blogging has been meeting all of you.  I’m so proud to be a part of something as kickass as the Sabres blogosphere.  As for you guys, there is not a Tim Connolly among you.  No, the Sabres blogosphere is all Gooses and Crunchys, across the board.

And while I barely paid any attention to the game last night, I feel comfortable saying that it is NOT our fault that the Sabres lost.  The Sabres lost because they are terrible at hockey, especially Ryan Miller.  That guy really sucks.

(True [sad] story: In an effort to impress Kevin with my awesome hockey prognosticating skillz I made a bold prediction after the first period.  According to my sources [aka, the voices inside my head], the Sabres would go into lock-down mode, and the game would end 2-1.  Oops.  That might be considered Hockey God taunting.)

10 Responses to “Casa di Sabres Bloggers”


  1. 1 Caroline February 2, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Sounds like everyone had a lot of fun… I will definitely have to attend next time there is a get together. Would love to meet all of the awesome Sabres bloggers out there!

  2. 2 Katebits February 2, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    For sure, you have to come next time Caroline! This one was really thrown together last minute. The next time will be better organized so people have a bit more notice.

  3. 3 Heather B February 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Kate, when I finally arrived it was already 2-1 and I complained loudly and mightily that I had probably missed all the goals. And then Sidney Crosby scored a hat trick. So the Hockey Gods were showing me what’s what too.

    I’m a little intrigued by the idea of matching bloggers with players, but I suppose you’re right. No one wants to be the Derek Roy in the crowd.

  4. 4 Phil February 2, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I still blame myself for last night’s collapse. Tim Kennedy scores a beauty of a goal, and I foolishly start puffing my chest out and proclaiming “Ho ho, Crosby and Malkin are both -2! Ho ho!”

    Hockey Gods showed me what’s up last night :|

    The next get together will definitely be planned in advance.

  5. 5 Meghan February 2, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I might need to start a Sabres blog, just to be invited to the Buffalosportsbloggercon….

  6. 6 Joe from NYC February 2, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I wanna come to a blogger gathering?!

  7. 7 Katebits February 2, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Joe, I like the question mark. Sort of like, “Do I want to go to a blogger gathering?…” Your trepidation is justified. Heh.

  8. 8 danielleia February 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    “…all flash, no substance, and inevitably lying on the sidewalk on Chippewa Street in my flip-flops, laughing hysterically at my own jokes.”

    Oh my god, I’m Derek Roy too.

  9. 9 Joe from NYC February 2, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    U missed my !!! at the end of the sentence…I hope you all had fun..even though crosby owned us.

  10. 10 Mike February 2, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Had you gone through with your plan, I fear I would have been the Nathan Paetsch of the group. And while I’m not exactly sure what that would entail, I know it wouldn’t be good.

    Thanks again for helping to set that up. I had a great time!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


