3 Things: Non-Hockey Edition

I’m still not ready to deal with yesterday’s game.  It’s not that I’m too traumatized to analyze the game, it’s more that don’t think that sounds like a very enjoyable use of my time.  Sometimes bitching is cathartic and fun, and sometimes it’s just toxic.  I have lots of thoughts about the game ranging from, “The Sabres were exposed as true-blue suckheads,” to “Eh, whatevs.  Shit happens.  Pass the Crystal Light,” (I’m really into Crystal Light lately for some reason), but I’m just NOT in the mood to get all serious about the Sabres today.

Final analysis: Sometimes the Sabres are good, last night they sucked (hard).

So, without further ado, here are three things having nothing to do with hockey:

1. One of my New Years resolutions was to wear bigger earrings.  Last night I wore a new pair to the game  that I think are really cute- but I learned a valuable “big earring” lesson.  I love big earrings, but I do NOT like it when they clatter around and make noise. Last night I felt like I was wearing two wind chimes on my head.  Uncool.

2. Since this is my first house, and I’ve always prioritized things like location, hardwood floors, and bright sunlight over things like “practical amenities” in my apartments, I’ve never had a dishwasher before.  I know.  It’s bonkers.  I had one apartment that had a dishwasher, but it barely worked, and so it was way more trouble than it was worth.

I sure do love the shiny new dishwasher that I bought when I moved into my house.  What I love more than anything is how the dishes are all warm and clean smelling when I open the door.  I’m also oddly fond of  the little bag of dishwashing tablets that I use instead of liquid detergent.  Dishwashers are rad.

3. A professional orchestra is a highly unionized organization, and because of this, we have a big clock on stage that rules the rehearsal.  We know (more or less) exactly when the rehearsal is going to end, and exactly when we’re going to get a break.   Depending on what piece we’re playing, sometimes there’s a harp that blocks the view of the clock from the viola section. When this happens, my friend Janz and I say we are being “clock blocked”.

6 Responses to “3 Things: Non-Hockey Edition”


  1. 1 Janz February 4, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    How I envy your warm dishes! We air dry the dishes in our dishwasher and because it is against an outside wall that lacks insulation the dishes come out like they had been stored in the fridge. I’ve thought about turning off the fridge for the winter and storing stuff in my dishwasher instead, but then I would have to handwash my dishes which is worse than having cold dishwasher-washed dishes.
    I actually complained about being “clock blocked” to a fellow juror during jury duty this week and got an odd look. I guess not everyone uses the expression.

  2. 2 Katebits February 4, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Am I supposed to be air drying my dishes? Is that a “good eco-samaritan” thing? I LIKE warm dishes!

  3. 3 Katebits February 5, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Damn it. I googled “air dry dishwasher” and now I’ll probably have to say goodbye to warm dishes. The stupid environment ruins EVERYTHING fun.

  4. 4 Pookie February 5, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Keep air-drying! Maybe it’ll prompt Goose to come to your house to stop you from doing it! (If it helps at all, I think we don’t air dry our dishes.)

  5. 5 george February 5, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Isn’t most of the power in WNY hydro-electric?

    I say go to town.

  6. 6 Kitten February 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Having a dishwasher is the bomb.

    Another caution about big earrings. in the winter they will get hooked in sweaters, hats and hoods.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


