Crunchy Never Fails To Amuse

One thing I like about being a fan of hockey players is getting small slivers of information to chew on.  Sometimes just a little information is better than a lot.

A case in point is this quote from Ryan Miller from the Sabres Edge regarding his participation in the closing ceremonies:

I tried to have fun with the whole Olympic experience and that’s why I went and did it. I kind of planned on doing it from the start if I had the chance. If we played in the game, I wanted to do it. No matter the outcome, I was going to be there.

I had to do drug testing and I had about five minutes to shower and get into that outfit which took a little bit of work because everything was explained on a pamphlet and you tried to do everything right so you didn’t look out of place. It was a fun experience to be part of an Olympic moment not just with my event. It was something bigger where people were celebrating the whole Olympics.

How much do you love the mental image of Crunchy trying to get dressed while consulting a pamphlet?  Personally, I love it quite a bit.

(But there is no way I’m buying that Crunchy went into his wardrobe change unprepared.  I bet he read and re-read the pamphlet for weeks leading up to the big day.  Hell, I bet he had certain parts highlighted and underlined.)

7 Responses to “Crunchy Never Fails To Amuse”


  1. 1 Katebits March 7, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I bet Crunchy committed to the colsing ceremonies as soon as he realized that there would be a jaunty little newsie hat involved. He doesn’t need a pamphlet to operate one of those, no siree!

  2. 2 Phil March 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    From one fan of jaunty newsie hats to another, I had to appreciate the caps Team USA was wearing. I also noticed that the sleeves on their sweaters may or may not have intentionally matched the sleeves on their jerseys. Curiouser and curiouser.

  3. 3 Amy March 7, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    If you need a pamphlet to explain your outfit, just how complicated of a creation have you designed?

    And the mental image of Crunchy consulting a pamphlet is even better when you consider that he had to speed clean & spiffy up in order to make it to the ceremonies on time.

  4. 4 Caroline March 7, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I bet he read and re-read the pamphlet for weeks leading up to the big day. Hell, I bet he had certain parts highlighted and underlined

    Oh, you know he did.

  5. 5 Schnookie March 7, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I bet he did dress rehearsals. (Dress rehearsals of getting dressed? See what I did there? Ha ha!) He practiced and practiced and practiced, with a stopwatch, to perfect the art of putting on that outfit right. (And dude, that is SO fascinating that his outfit came with instructions.) (Also, I agree that a little bit of information is often so much better than a lot. This way we get to make shit up. Heh.)

  6. 6 Kitten March 8, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Oh, you know he studied. If someone had stopped him and asked “who are you wearing?” he would have had the outfit broken down to it’s fiber count.

  7. 7 manda903 March 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    This whole “trying to get into the outfit” thing reminds me of the picture of Jason Pominville trying to put on that balaclava at the practice before the Winter Classic. I wish we could attach pics to comments, but I am well aware of why you can’t. ;-) If you haven’t seen the pic look it up. Seriously.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


