6 Things

1. Of all the things that went wrong in the Bruins series, Vanek getting Boychuked is the one that still haunts me.  Watching Vanek limp to the bench was like a dagger to the heart.  I’m not over it.  At all.

2. Cheesy popcorn and fizzy water is the best snack in the world.

3. This story is awfully cute.  (I found this link via Bruce Arthur’s twitter feed.  Incidentally, Bruce Arthur is my new Twitter crush.  He tweets a lot about basketball, and I still like him, that’s how cute his twitter feed is.)

4. We’re recording a CD at work this week, and while I really like a lot of things about recording, one thing I hate is how QUIET you have to be.  I always wind up all squirrelly and exhausted from the effort it takes to be still and quiet.  I wouldn’t say that I’m ordinarily a loud person, but I like to be able to fidget around without a sound engineer being all, “YOUR SHUFFLING FOOT IS RUINING THE CD!”  (The sound engineer did not actually say that.  He’s very polite.)

5. Lord knows I’m as happy to pile onto Darcy as the next violist, but you know what I think we need to take a little more time to appreciate?  Paille, MacArthur, and Paestcheasch are no longer Sabres.  In the last week I’ve heard a LOT of people accuse Darcy of falling in love with his players, and for the most part I think he deserves that criticism, but man, Darcy tossed those guys aside, no problem.  Doesn’t it seem insane that the Sabres started the season with MacArthur AND Paille?

6. I love watching the Sharks choke, but I find myself QUITE taken with Joe Pavelski.  I said this on Twitter a few nights ago, but, how unfair is it that the Sharks can have their entire first line of All-Stars choke and they’ve STILL got someone like Pavelski to score their goals?  It’s completely unfair.  If Vanek, Roy, and Connolly don’t score all we’ve got left is Jason Pominville, who granted is very cute, but he’s no Joe Pavelski.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that I think Joe Pavelski should be a Sabre next year.

3 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 PKB May 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Finally, a “things” post. Nice to see you’ve returned to some degree of normalcy. I’ve been sorta keeping an eye out for you in the way friends watch the former alcoholic/addict at parties what with this being your first post-playoff-apocalyptic experience.

  2. 2 Katebits May 3, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Hee! Paul, you know me well. Truthfully, I kind of forced myself to write this “things” post. I admit, I’m still kind of out of sorts, hockeyblog-wise.

  3. 3 Jonathan May 4, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I think Joe Thornton being a Sabre has better odds, then Joe Pavelski being a Sabre. They’d be crazy to let him go. I remember seeing the US team being announced and Joe Pavelski was on the team and was like Uh?

    I guess Brian Burke actually knows talented players.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


