No One Paid Me To Write This, Although, If You’re Reading This, NHL, I WILL Accept Bribes For Future Reviews of Your Products

I found myself downtown with a few minutes to kill this morning, so I decided to poke my head into the Sabres store to see it they are having a, “Sorry we only won two playoff games” sale.  FYI, there are a few nicely discounted items.  (In fact, if you want a Derek Roy “as is” adult medium 3rd jersey that has small mended tears on the back for $65 [I actually think the tears and how they are fixed is kind of sassy], get your butt down there, asap.)

Anyhooch, I finally had the chance to try on one of those women’s cut jerseys, which have come highly recommended to me by Jessica.  I don’t own any jerseys, because every time I put one on I feel like a shapeless blob.  (To be clear, I think YOU look super fabulous in your jersey.)  I’m not willing to spend $250 on a garment that makes me feel like an unhappy, shapeless blob, so, no jersey for me.

I was surprised by how much I like the women’s version.  It really is a different fit, and I did NOT feel like a shapeless blob.  While wearing it I felt like a normal Katebits-shaped blob, but one who happened to be extra Sabre-y.

The only downside is that cut kind of screams, “I’M WEARING A WOMEN’S JERSEY!” which I don’t exactly mind, but isn’t the point of a jersey that you’re wearing what the team wears?  On the other hand I also tried on an outrageously shapeless-blob-creating Goose jersey that had fight straps inside, and that just seemed silly.  Unless I’m also wearing little hockey pants and I intend to get real feisty with my section usher, I really don’t need fight straps on my jersey, do I?  Also, I wonder how/if the women’s cut would effect customization.  If I were ever to buy a jersey I would want “HONK” “Gaustad” sewn on there right away, and maybe that would be trickier on a women’s cut jersey.  I dunno.

I didn’t buy it, but it was the closest I’ve ever come to buying a jersey.  If you’re a woman who has never bought a jersey because they make you feel like a shapeless blob, I highly recommend you try one of those babies on.

And that’s my story.

8 Responses to “No One Paid Me To Write This, Although, If You’re Reading This, NHL, I WILL Accept Bribes For Future Reviews of Your Products”


  1. 1 Jillian May 7, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    I was always ehhh about buying one because of that reason, and the fact I would borrow my father’s XXL ones and was pretty much wearing a sabres gown at the arena. Not so fancy. haha buttt, I did get a Gaustad jersey, but just in the smallest size, and I really like the way it fits. Still kind of roomy, which I like, but not moo moo fitting. It’s great. :)

  2. 2 Pookie May 7, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    But will you blog with integrity?

  3. 3 Jaime May 7, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I have an old Warrener jersey and it made me feel huge even though it is a small. I have consideredgetting a women’s cut jersey but I can’t get myself a Gaustad jersey no matter how badly I want one. I would feel like everyone would think that I got it because he’s cute, but really that’s just a bonus. I actually like the way he plays!

  4. 4 mcguffers May 7, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I’m saving up for when Zach Parise’s a Sabre so I can buy his.

  5. 5 Katebits May 7, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Pookie, I will NEVER blog with integrity. You know that.

    I am a big enough person that I can wear men’s sizes, it’s the shape of the regular jerseys that leave me feeling all rectangular. The women’s cut is way better for me. BUT, it’s hella not authentic AND if I get in a fight I’ll probably lose because I’ll wind up with my women’s cut jersey over my head.

    Mcguffers, I bet Zach Parise’s regular jersey is the women’s cut.

  6. 6 kitten May 8, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    The tighter fit of the women’s cut makes it difficult for your opponent to pull it over your head. Once you’ve gotten your earrings off you are good to go. Get in close, keep your chin tucked and remember to swing “overhand”.

  7. 7 Crotchety Original Sam May 9, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Those “little hockey pants” are called breezers, btw. At least they are in Minnesota…

  8. 8 Jessica May 10, 2010 at 11:04 am

    First Zetti’s and now the women’s cut jersey. This Jessica sounds like she is really someone worth listening too. :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


