10 Things I Like

1. Mulch.

I’ve been slaving away on several mud pits gardens, and against the advice of every plant-savvy person I know, I was dragging my heels on putting down mulch.  I finally got around to it yesterday, and my plants were immediately all, “Hey, thanks!”  Not only do the plants seem to like it, the mulch makes the garden beds look less sloppy.

2. When Crunchy is the guest analyst on NBC.

I felt pretty sorry for Ryan Miller that he had to attempt to interact professionally with Pierre and Milbury, but it was still good to see him.  He looked so handsome and relaxed.  Isn’t it amazing how he’s morphed from a straggly looking weirdo into a well-composed weirdo/borderline-star?  I liked how he casually had he hands resting on the desk.  Good old, Crunchy.

3. These hoops I made to hang above my couch.

hoopsNo, the picture’s not in focus. That’s just how I roll.

I saw this idea online somewhere and I stole it for myself. It’s just pretty fabric stretched over embroidery hoops and hung on the wall. I think it’s super cute and I’m quite proud of myself.

4. When Chris Pronger steals the game puck and then throws it in the garbage can.

I’m sorry, but that’s some hilariously villainous shit.

5. Netflix through my Wii

I never used my Wii until Netflix came along and made their service much much more awesome.

6. My BFF Courtney’s new little dude.  His name is Edison, but I’m going to have a hard time not calling him Eddy.  I’ve been given the green light on Eddy, as long as it’s spelled E-d-d-y and not E-d-d-i-e.

EdisonIsn’t he nice?

7. The NBA

Yep, still like it.

8. Bagel Thins

BagelThins

I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “Katebits, Bagel Thins are stupid,” but you’re WRONG WRONG WRONG.  Bagel Thins kick ass.  The trouble with regular bagels is that they are too bulky.  In order to get the bread/meat ratio right in a bagel sandwich you have to use so much meat that the whole thing becomes too big.  Then, when you bite into your too-big bagel sandwich, all the meat and cheese tries to slide out the other side.  With a Bagel Thin, the correct bread/ratio is easy to achieve, and everyone wins.  Plus, they’re only 110 calories, if you care about that sort of thing.  I do not care about the number of calories.  I just enjoy good sandwiches.

9. No violas in “The Music Man”

The BPO recently did a semi-staged production of “The Music Man,” which by all accounts was a lovely show.  I wasn’t there to see it though, because for some reason there are no violas in the Music Man score.  This amounted to two surprise days off, aka, the best thing in the history of time and space.

10. Popsicles

Is there anything better on a hot day than a popsicle?  Nope.

9 Responses to “10 Things I Like”


  1. 1 Amy June 1, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I love the embroidery hoop fabric art. I may be stealing that idea for my apartment. There’s only so many photos & posters you can hang.

    And Edison is a little cutie.

  2. 2 Kathleen June 2, 2010 at 9:10 am

    You know, usually I want to jam my foot through the gap between Pronger’s two front teeth, but for some reason I’m finding his antics in this series hilarious. Go figure.

    Every game in this series needs Crunchy as a guest analyst. However, I can understand why he would refuse…. He held up well. I lost it when Pierre gave him the finger-guns.

    Hi Edison!!

  3. 3 Caroline June 2, 2010 at 10:50 am

    It was sooo nice seeing Ryan on NBC the other night. I didn’t even think I missed him that much (really!) and then I remembered how wonderful he is and I realized that I really DID miss him.

    And bagel thins are awesome…I just discovered them the other day, and they are good for my smoked salmon sandwiches!

  4. 4 Bauer June 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    I commented on the Junkie about how Milbury wouldn’t let Miller talk. Miller should’ve pulled out his hobo shiv and shanked him.

  5. 5 Heather B. June 2, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    The one thing I do really appreciate about Chris Pronger is that he’s not one of those guys who acts like an a-hole and then insists that he’s getting a bum rap because he’s really not that bad. He knows that’s the role he’s been cast in, he embraces it, and I suspect he kind of enjoys it. I find him entertaining when he’s not burying his elbows in people’s heads.

  6. 6 Bauer June 2, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    I’ve grown to like Carcillo. Don’t kill me.

  7. 7 Sam June 2, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    1. yay mulch! It really is amazing stuff. :)
    2. <3 for Crunchy. He's so fun. In a very serious, un-fun sort of way.
    3. Super cute art! I love them- very festive.
    4. Chris Pronger is EVIL and disgusting. But you have to have a villain to make the good guys seem more good.
    5. I keep hearing about the Netflix on Wii. Should check that stuff out.
    6. Little Eddy is completely adorable! Congrats to Courtney.
    7. Still don't get the NBA but I'm glad you're having fun with it.
    8. Bagel Thins look awesome. I want to check them out.
    9. Woohoo for random days off!
    10. Popsicles rule. (and spellcheck doesn't recognize them)

    :) And so do you.

  8. 8 Rebeccae June 3, 2010 at 11:27 am

    OMG, that fabric/hoops idea is awesome! What you did looks great! Big style points for Katebits. :-)

  9. 9 elise June 4, 2010 at 10:00 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the hoops! And the dude who stole the puck and threw it away. He is inspirational. And, of course, Eddy.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


